We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapskate Owners”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Gold Country Inn

Gold Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gold Country Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Salem, Oregon, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheapskate Owners”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

I wouldn't stay at this place again. It was clean and comfortable enough, and not a bad price. But the owners are obviously cutting corners wherever they can.

The "hot" water is not hot - they have the temperature turned way down at the water heater. The lights are so dim in the bath/mirror area that guys can't see to shave and forget women doing makeup.

There are absolutely NO lights on the exterior of the building. I left early in the morning in October and when I opened my room door to go out, it was TOTALLY black outside. This is a very, very unsafe situation - not only contributes to theft from your vehicle, but invites personal attacks as well.

I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papabrewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
9
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

Thank you, innkeepers -- for the cotton bedspreads, rather than the usual shiny nylon/scratchy underside bedspreads, and for the lovely Monet-inspired wallpaper borders. Great to have a little fridge and a microwave in the room. My husband and I "lived" at this motel for a few days and we were impressed by the cleanliness of our room. Our room was quiet enough but next time we'll ask for our room to be at the back of the motel (away from the road) on the north side so we won't hear the trucks making deliveries to Rod's Diner early in the morning. Didn't have time to try Rod's Diner (next door) but we will, next time! Our room was a great value for $65. Gold Country Inn deserves your business!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2009

Turned up to ask for a bed for the night on route from Yosemite to Tahoe and was greeted by a very friendly front desk person who did us a great deal and was very helpful. Even told us that as UK AA members we were entitled to the AAA discount without us asking for it. Helped us with suggestions for Dinner and Breakfast. Rodz grille is right next door for traditional American diner style food which was quick and reasonable and huge portions. Sink in the bathroom was a bit damaged but generally the room was well maintained and clean and bigger than expected. Bed was comfortable and for what we needed it was fine. The cafe recommended for breakfast (Main Street cafe??) opposite the Best Western up the road was good. Overall, convenient and good value.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Peninsula
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2008

I recently needed a clean economical place to stay in Angels Camp and this place fit my needs perfectly. It's not frills, but was clean and well maintained on the inside and outside. I had a room with one king bed on the second floor. Room was spacious and had a separate toilet/shower/tub from the sink area. It had a microwave and an larger size mini fridge. The person at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

It was the low season so the place was not as fully occupied as during the summer, Since we didn't have many neighbors the noise level was ok but the windows and walls were probably on the thinner side.

But for the cost I have no complaints.

  • Liked — Clean, good condition
  • Disliked — Could be a little noisy
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedwoodShores305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2008

This was an excellent place to stay in a really nice location. The rooms are clean and very modern with pleasant decor and plenty of furniture. The king-size bed was comfortable and the room also came with a flat screen tv, refrigerator, microwave and in-room coffee. The lawn furniture outside our room was perfect for watching the sun go down and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank slitelysassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
10.2 km away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.0 km away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
18.2 km away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
17.8 km away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Country Inn

Property: Gold Country Inn
Address: 720 S. Main Street, Angels Camp, CA 95222
Region: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Angels Camp minutes from Big Tree State Park, Moaning Cavern Park, Ironstone Vineyards, and just a short drive to Yosemite National Park. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers pet friendly rooms with free wireless internet and parking for your boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Angels Camp
Angels Camp Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing