We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Satisfied Once Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Satisfied Once Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is our second stay at the Marriott Residence Inn Maingate. We were there on Feb 21-22, 2012

Upon deciding to take another Disney vacation with 4 persons total, including 2 kids, there was no question we would return to the Residence Inn. Having a bedroom (we stayed in the one bedroom suite), attached to a kitchen (which we didnt use but was very well stocked) and a living area, was exactly what is needed when some want to sleep in, and others wake up early. There is tons of room, and all of the furniture is very comfortable.

Parking is very convenient to the rooms, and the short walk to Disneyland/California Adventure Park, is easy (you can play games like "run to the next fire hydrant with the kids, even though they area tired)...it only takes about 15 minutes. The fact they do not charge for parking is an added bonus.

Another added bonus is the included breakfast. There is plenty to eat, and plenty of variety for the kids. It does get a bit crowded, but for the cost you really can't complain.

Upon returning from our trip, a co-worker asked about our lodging, did some research, and then proceeded to book a room as well for the summer. They are traveling with 4 children, and a one bedroom suite will work fine as the couch in the living area is a sofa bed.

There is no question we will stay here again on our next visit to the parks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParkCitytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear ParkCitytravelers,


It is great to read that our hotel has done such a great job at accommodating you that you continue to return. My team strives to make sure they exceed your expectations and all the positive responses prove they do. The One Bedroom suite is one of our most popular rooms because it is the perfect size for families and provides the perfect amount of privacy. The doors that separate the living room area from the bedroom can make a huge difference.


You have brought up an excellent point about parking. We are one of the few hotels that offer free parking which can save a great amount of money. Each guest is given a parking pass for their vehicles which is valid until midnight the day of their check out date. This can come in handy when guests choose to go to Disney the day they check out.


Thank you for spreading the word about our hotel. The guest communication has increased our popularity drastically, it’s amazing!


"Suite" Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    515
    148
    55
    35
See reviews for
932
101
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this hotel during our visit to Disneyland. While we have traveled to Anaheim numerous times and have stayed at many area hotels, this was by far our best experience. We had rented one of the penthouse suites The room was nicely appointed, very clean, and very comfortable. Since we had our two young grandkids with us, it was nice to have the extra gathering space and a kitchen. The beds were comfortable which is important after a day in the park. Although we had purchased shuttle tickets, we walked to and from the park most of the time. The grounds at the hotel were lovely, the staff was welcoming and the breakfast was hearty and convenient. Next trip to Disneyland, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Laura H,


I feel so honored to read that our hotel was your top choice in the Disney area. I am so glad that you genuinely enjoyed your stay with us. The Penthouse suite is absolutely perfect for families; with a king bed and a bathroom in the upstairs loft, two queens and another restroom downstairs and a full kitchenette, there is plenty of room for everyone. It’s great to see that the recent replacement of all of our mattresses added that extra comfort.


The great part about our location is that you have the option to walk or take the shuttle bus (Anaheim Resort Transit) to Disney. What I recommend to many guests is to try the short 10-15 minute walk to Disney and if you decide you want to take the shuttle back there is a kiosk there where you can purchase the $4 ride back.


Do not hesitate to contact me to get a head start on planning your next trip to Disneyland: krosales@rimhospitality.com


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Nice hotel close to Disney. If you can, I would advise walking to the parks. There is a shuttle that you can take for a nominal fee, however I found walking to be much quicker. The hotel is about 1\2 mile from the park entrance plaza, but the walk is not too bad.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallChange10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear SmallChange10,


Thank you for taking the time to fill out review on our hotel. You have brought up great key points to transportation to the park. Being that we are about a 10-15 minute walk to Disneyland, that would be the most convenient way. However, the ART (Anaheim Resort Transit) Shuttle is perfect after a long day at Disney and is only a small fee of $4 for adults and $1 for children 3-9 years old. There is a Disney representative on property who sells those tickets as well as Disneyland tickets.


If you are like me and are a visual learner, feel free to email me and I can provide an area map so you can get a better picture of our correlation to Disneyland: krosales@rimhospitality.com


"Suite" Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Location location location. It's about 3 (long) blocks from Disneyland. Probably about 12 minutes and definitely walkable for the 4 year old. There is a shuttle that runs about every 20 minutes that costs 4 dollars for adults all day access, kids ride free. Safe even after dark; no one lurking in the shadows or panhandling. Can't understand some of the previous comments about distance. Really, your child is going to be running around all day and standing in 60 minute lines but can't walk 3 blocks in the morning?

Full kitchen including full fridge and microwave and stove is great for families looking to avoid fast food or takeout. Grocery stores nearby include Vons and Target within a 5 block radius. Dishes, utensils, and pots/pans clean. If fast food is necessary, there is a Denny's as well as McDonald's right outside the main gate, Cheescake Factory in the neighborhood as well. Plenty of delivery options in the guest info book. Of course, there is always food within the park, but that's way more expensive (6.25 for a corn dog and fries?). Breakfast is free in the morning and starts at 6 am except for weekends when it's a half-hour later. Hot steam tray including scrambled eggs, potatoes, either pancakes or french toast, sausage or ham or bacon, and oatmeal. Cold side includes toast, cereal, muffins, and fruit. Seating area really busy when there are a bunch of families, but we always had a place to sit (of course this was in February in the off season).

Other quick impressions: shower was hot (yea after a long day in line) and water pressure was adequate. Standard bathroom toiletries in bottles, no dispenser mounted on the wall. The bathroom was clean. Wifi was strong and 802.11g speed. Took a while to log on but then you're on for the next 24 hours. (Generic) username and password given at the front desk on checkin. Units are generally quiet except for running feet (you are in a hotel right outside Disney). Very little road noise except for the buses and we had a unit facing Clementine.

All in all, this is a great value for people looking to avoid the Disney markup for staying in the park.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank huangj02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear huangj02,


Wow! You have made my job a lot easier being that you have provided our TripAdvisor users with so much information in one review. I want to first off thank you for such a detailed review; I see that you are an avid traveler and TripAdvisor user so I am happy your expectations were met.


It’s perfect that you brought up the fact that we are in a safe area because with so many families walking to Disney it is necessary. The great thing about our location is the surrounding places such as The Gardenwalk outdoor mall, restaurants and grocery shopping. You are correct in stating that Vons and Target is just a short mile away however, if you are not looking to do anymore traveling after Disney our grocery shopping service will sure come in handy. Our property is designed like a condo-style apartment so we only have two stories. If you are someone who is sensitive to noise, do not hesitate to contact the hotel or myself directly to request a second story or a unit away from the streets.


You review could not have been more great to read. Thank you for all your time in writing about our hotel. Whenever you come back to the Anaheim Resort area feel free to give me a call to assist with any bookings!


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Disneyland, the free breakfast, free parking, and great reviews. Overall, it was a good experience. We checked in at 1 am on a Friday night and were told that the hotel was all out of the 1 bedroom suites so we were upgraded to a Penthouse which we were very happy about. The suite was spacious, clean, and pretty, but the layout didn’t offer much privacy. The upstairs King bedroom was completely open to the downstairs which caused problems when some of us wanted to go to sleep while others wanted to watch TV. One plus is that the King bedroom had its own bathroom with the sink/vanity area on the outside. A full kitchen, living room, and queen bedroom were downstairs. The queen bedroom was separated by French doors. The downstairs bathroom could only be accessed by going through the bedroom. While this layout was fine for us, I can see it causing problems for larger groups.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious and offered a lot of choices. As other reviews mentioned, the dining area was very crowded on Saturday and Sunday mornings, but we had no problem finding a table and the friendly staff did an excellent job of keeping the food stocked and tables cleaned. The hotel was only a 10 or 15 minute walk from the Disneyland parks so we didn’t bother with the shuttle bus. The hotel is also surrounded by plenty of dining options.
One hint to save money, a cab from LAX is usually around $100 each way. With the free parking at the hotel, renting a car was by far the more economical option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear kkmengland,


Thank you for such an informative review. I am glad you had an good overall experience with us. What a great surprise it must have been to be upgraded to the Penthouse suite. Being that we are busy year round with Disney, upgrades are not always available so it’s great to know you were given one. Our Penthouse suites have a loft area upstairs which, as you stated, is completely open to the downstairs area. The great part about this room is that if one was looking for privacy, the downstairs room with the French doors is separate from the living room and loft area. If guests would like a little bit more privacy, I would recommend the Two Bedroom suite which has two separate bedrooms with doors.


I completely agree with your “hint” on renting a vehicle. Especially if families are looking on doing more than just Disneyland (Universal Studios, Knott’s Berry Farm, and Sea World) it can be very convenient and cost efficient. However, if renting a car isn’t what you prefer, a cheaper way of transportation other than a cab would be Super Shuttle. Super Shuttle charges per person as opposed to a cab which is ran by a meter.


Thank you again for your time in writing this review. I hope we get a chance to accommodate you in the future.


"Suite" Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Sales Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
1.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.7 km away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.9 km away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
0.7 km away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2902
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,004 - ₹ 22,410
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, complimentary parking, wireless internet, business center usage, and more. Our guests have access to purchasing Disneyland park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills available for guest use. Pet Friendly ($100 non refundable pet fee for up to 2 pets per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing