We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #65 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 June 2012

For $72 a night this place cannot be beat. Its a block and 1/2 away from the entrance to Disneyland. Its a bit of a walk if you have very small children. It actually shares a parking lot with Disney's Toy Story lot but there is a wall so you cant walk right over there. Not worth walking in over there. You should walk or pay the $4 a day to take the ART shuttle.

For years we paid much more to stay in the motels directly across from the entrance because it was so easy to go back at lunch and at the end of a long day with young children. Now that my grandson is 10 we are expanding our choices and this is a good one.

We had a rental car. The Red Lion charges $14 a night to park which is a reasonable price compared to the Marriott ($24) and other places. We were staying 7 nights so they reduced the price of parking down to $7 a night. They have packages available that include parking and breakfast. If you can get in on one of those do it.

The rooms are good. Basic hotel ammenities - Microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, safe, flat screen TV, and a clock radio with a dock to charge your iphone. Contrary to other reviews, there IS a fridge. Its in the cabniet under the TV. You wont know its there unless you open the door. I have a habit of opening every door and drawer in hotels rooms to see what's in there so it wasnt too hard for me to find.

It did get a bit noisy at night. We could hear muffled voices in the other rooms and water running when others took a shower. A minor nuisance. Nothing that prevented me from getting a good night sleep.

You can pay extra for a firework view room we didnt. If you want to see the fireworks from the hotel you can go down the hall and look out the window. We prefer seeing the fireworks in the park.

The business center has 3 computers and a printer. Great for printing out your boarding passes.

The wi-fi in the room was free and EXCELLENT. I always bring my mi-fi because frankly a lot of hotels have slow wi-fi. This was not. I was able to upload my pictures nightly to facebook with no slowing at all. It was just as good poolside as it was in the room. You do have to "accept" the policies every day. So if it seems broke, close your browser windows and open them again and you'll get prompted.

The pool is nice and big with lots of seating around. Great for kids. THERE IS NO HOT TUB.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you and your family back in the future for another memorable and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,413 of 2,154 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We checked in at 2am due to our flight being delayed and the rental car line was to the door. The late night shift guy who checked us in was very nice and courteous. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning which was included in our price. It was $71 each night along with the $14 per day parking fee. You really cannot beat that which is $85 each night.Our room was perfect with the microwave and mini fridge. Every night when we came back our room was cleaned with our daughters Winnie the Pooh blanket spread across the children's bed. The housekeeping was very nice in straightening our mess every day.The first night we went downstairs to see the fireworks and thought it started at 9 which it starts at 9:30 so when we went back to our room they actually gave us the upgraded room where we could see the fireworks each night at no extra charge. The only downfall was the TV not working especially Nickelodeon and Disney channels. We stayed 8 days and was barely in the room but we wanted to take the last day and rest for our trip home but the kids couldn't really watch the channels they wanted. I did ask the hotel staff twice about it and they said it was going on throughout the hotel due to some remodeling. At checkout they took the parking fees off the bill so that was a big plus for the inconvenience. We will definitely stay here again. There is a Target right down the street and gas stations on each corner for any extras you might need. Disneyland was only a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Why pay $15-$20 in parking when you can walk don't be lazy it was a very nice walk there. We also visited Knotts Berry Farm which is only 10 minutes away. We flew into LAX which is only 20-25 minutes away due to the Dollar Rental car low prices. We rented a Ford Taurus full size for only $220 for the entire week. We didn't have to fill up until we returned the vehicle. I love California. We visited Long Beach which is by far the prettiest city I've seen. We took the kids to the Aquarium. We also visited Beverly Hills, Santa Monica, and Los Angeles. Make sure to book your reservation on their website for the free breakfast and lower prices. Trying to book on all those websites is a waste of time. I booked our flights,hotel, and rental car separately and it came about $500 cheaper than booking all together on those websites. On your 10th day of staying with Red Lion you get a free day so we will definitely stay again on our next vacation.

Room Tip: The walls are very thin. You can hear some of everything in the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reece J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you and your family back in the future for another enjoyable and memorable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had a great stay at Red Lion Anaheim. Would highly recommend for your Disney vacation stay. Stayed there during Memorial Day week from May 27-June 1st. Got a great rate for $79 plus tax using tripadv promo code- total was about $92 per night- which included the roaring breakfast $10pp and parking usually $15 per night. The ART shuttle picks you up curbside outside of the hotel which is convenient. It is the Route 6.It comes every 20 mins. If you don't want to use the ART the Toy Story Shuttle is next door to the hotel so you can catch that to save money. We used the ART a few times but decided to walk most of the time because the main entrance to Disney is literally about a 15 min. walk. Our room had a mini fridge for storing drinks and leftovers and a microwave. There is a Food4Less about a mile and a half away on Katella which is open 24hrs. convenient to get groceries instead of the 7-11 or ABC market on the corner. We were upgraded to a fireworks room which our kids loved every night at 9:30-and the pool was nice to cool down only thing i would recommend for them is a jacuzzi. Overall great stay and a shout out to Imran the man at front desk. Hope I spelled his name right.

Room Tip: As others have said on reviews try and get an upgrade to the Fireworks room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaneyboy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you and your family back in the future for another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

First time to disneyland arrived at the hotel to no greeting, we stood there listening to i assumed wss the manager having a argument with who could of been a customer over 10 minutes. Finally young lafy walked over asked us if we been helped. no no service. we were a large group planned and booked months in advance. They could not find our reservation so they had to rebook again we stated to our agent we would like together duites due to we were families of young children and handicapped eldor grandmas with us. rooms 3 room same floor many rooms apart. Third family a floor above which made it hard for the children to have time together..we werent told about the breakfast at all. There was enough bathing supplies for a family of 4. The bed spread was dirty. The grandmas room tv did not work and the curtain would not close. to late when we returned to report. reported in the morning about all our concerns we were given box at the front desk with soap lotions coffee shampoo. Just handed to me. not i will get someone to bring you supplies. And noone to fix the issues. my hisband asked if we could have the fire pit turned on at the pool the front desk gentelman looked at my husband and said pardon, my husband asked again added my kids are in the pool can we. have firepits on. Should of see his face. oh he says your canadains. My husband laugh and said yes. Found out that they werent working. 3 days of stay there with 3 families and handicap grandmothers walking back and forth to disneyland..Hotel advertising that it is 1 block away not.. I asked again to the young lady who does no how to give customer service if there was a bus system she said for a fee you can get the art we purchased the tickets and wsited forty minutes for the art to show up in the heat.. standing in front of hotel.. that night we were not told the art system goes by no#and that it doesnt run after 10.. so guess what we are then walking with kids tired adults and handicapped grandmothers at least another 30min walk. We stayed there 7 nights to long. What a great first impression..We have return to disneyland and have seen and felt the experience of there is no place on earth as disneyland..So this. experience has not ruin it for us.. But the grandmas are done spent way to much money on a not a superior stay as they advertise. And our lovely friends who were separated from us. said overall they could not afford to take the chance that they experience this time. They will not be returning. Disneyland and California Adventure is were dreams are made so going there every day put a smile on our. face and made up for our not so great experience at this hotel..

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shatzie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I would like to sincerely apologize for the problem you experienced during your stay with us. Red Lion Hotel thrives on making sure their guest stay is memorable and enjoyable. I will use your feedback as a training tool for our team to assure that this does not happen to any of our future guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in May. Originally I wanted a king room but they were all booked out so took a 2 queen room even though there was just the 2 of us. The second bed was handy for keeping our bags on and made it easy to take things out and could lay clothes out neatly on bed. We had the fireworks view room and I think it was absolutely worth the extra money, we actually had a better view of the fireworks from the room than at the park.
The room was very spacious even with the two beds and there was enough counter space in room and bathroom to keep everything you want.
Breakfast was included in the price and was decent, what you would expect.
We were on the 8th floor and didn’t have any problem with noise, except for the noise from the pool.
All staff we encountered were extremely friendly and very helpful with whatever we needed. They went out of their way to assist. Check in and checkout was very quick and easy.
The location is good as can walk to Disney and lots of eating places. There is an ABC store just across the road and it is much cheaper to buy water from there than the hotel.
Overall this hotel was extremely good value for money and I would recommend.

Room Tip: Highly recomend the Fireworks view rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Suds44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing our hotel as part of your vacation to the Anaheim area. We hope to have you and your family back in the future for another memorable and enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 km away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,220 reviews
0.2 km away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#29 of 118 in Anaheim
1,796 reviews
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.4 km away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3510
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: ₹ 8,861 - ₹ 20,848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Good Neighbor Disneyland Resort Hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort is renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities. Enjoy our modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantee that you will enjoy your stay! We are a Disneyland Resort Good Neighbor Anaheim Hotel, one block from Disneyland Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk. Our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort's Rooms are Smart, Sleek, and Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. Featuring the only ELSA technology among hotels in the United States, Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort has translation capabilities that make interactions with international travelers much more efficient. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, Keurig Coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs. We are an are ideal location for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing