We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poorly kept hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kingston
1 review
“Very poorly kept hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked a room for 4 nights and left after the first night. When I checked out the clerk did not even ask why we were checking out. I gave her a long list of things that were wrong in our room. No clock, door handle broken, light does not work, warm water only in the shower the hotter you turned the water the less water you got, the air conditioner was as loud as a diesel engine. The clerk did not offer us another room or did not write down the issues in the room to have them fixed. I was amazed this hotel is still around. I asked another guess how her room was she said the same worst room ever. Well in short skip this dump we moved across the street to DoubleTree which is more expensive but well worth it. Red lion is close to the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caanah845, Front Desk Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay experience. We value all feedbacks and will definitely work on providing a better stay for our guests and to seek ways to improve our service as well as our products. We hope you continue to take us into consideration when you plan your return visit to turn around the impression made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    792
    397
    188
    122
See reviews for
1,153
351
62
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a week long stay in Anaheim. Great hotel. Conveniently located. Clost to everything. Rooms spacious. Great pool area for relaxing of a night time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel_Cee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Red Lion while attending a convention and visiting Disneyland. It is conveniently located to both places. The service was good. The room was clean. The fan in the bathroom did not work. It had a safe for valuables. The 3 star rating is for the $40 a day they charge for any fees you might charge to your room! They charged us $200 for our six night stay. The money is refunded if there were no charges. They have a credit card on file when you book the room, it seems like this is enough coverage for incidentals.

Room Tip: Bring an extra $40 per day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beejaymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Check the website's Specials & Packages page for deals before you make your reservation. I paid $79/night (including free parking and free breakfast buffet for 2 adults) using the MAGIC promotion code. I wasn't expecting a great hotel for that price, but was pleasantly surprised! The pictures on the website are an accurate representation of the room -- imagine that!. I mention this because I read reviews about other hotels in the area looking much more run-down than their website photos. Not so at this Red Lion.

Only wish I had known about walking to the Toy Story "Woody" Parking Lot located by the hotel, as the previous reviewer mentioned. Walking to Disneyland isn't bad at all, but it would have been nice to jump on the free "Woody" tram to have less walking at the end of the day! (Note to hotel: Perhaps the hotel check-in staff can mention this to guests when they check in?)

PROS:
- Room was recently renovated, with nice modern decor, large flat screen tv, ipod dock on clock radio, large desk & dresser with lots of desktop space, plenty of outlets for plugging in electronics/etc, lots of counter and shelf space in the bathroom
- Variety of hot breakfast buffet choices are an upgrade from free continental breakfasts you find at most hotels.
- Free wi-fi / internet (many hotels in the area charge extra for it).
- Free toiletries and other items available upon request. Came in handy since I left my toothpaste at home!

CONS
- Breakfast buffet can be BUSY. First morning we went at 8:00 and it was no problem. Breakfast room was clean, plenty of food, and service was efficient. Second morning we went at 9:00 and had to wait about 25 minutes to be seated. There were a lot of empty tables inside, but they had dirty dishes on them, so you couldn't be seated there. They didn't have enough staff on hand to keep things clean and running efficiently. A few hotel guests in the buffet line were hoarding food in to-go boxes, not leaving much food left. Very rude of them, but they probably should either have a hotel staff member overseeing the buffet line at busy times or not let people take the food in to-go boxes.
- A number of TV channels were fuzzy and didn't come in clear, the worst of which was the Red Lion Channel. Don't know if it was just the TV in our room, or if the channels are like that in every room.
- Bathroom toiletries (shampoo & lotion) were half used, and obviously not replaced after previous person checked out. Maid should have been a little more thorough. I would have asked for new ones if I planned to use them.

I will definitely stay here again the next time I visit Disneyland.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirl-SoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lathrop
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel was clean and quiet even though it was full of cheerleaders. Our TV was broken but they fixed it right away. The best thing is the Disney parking is right behind the hotel. You can walk and take the free "Woddy" shuttle to the park. It is much shorter than walking to the park. They also sell Disney entry tickets in the parking lot so you do not have to wait in line at the parke to buy them. IHOP next door not bad also for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treverf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 km away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 km away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
0.3 km away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 km away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#23 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
0.3 km away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,904 - ₹ 23,766
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Good Neighbor Disneyland Resort Hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort is renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities. Enjoy our modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantee that you will enjoy your stay! We are a Disneyland Resort Good Neighbor Anaheim Hotel, one block from Disneyland Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk. Our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort's Rooms are Smart, Sleek, and Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. Featuring the only ELSA technology among hotels in the United States, Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort has translation capabilities that make interactions with international travelers much more efficient. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, Keurig Coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs. We are an are ideal location for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing