We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disney family vacation - from Aust”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disney family vacation - from Aust”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

Currently staying at the Howard Johnson, 2nd to 7th Aug 2012.
We had a late check in approx arrival was 10:30pm as we flew in from Maryland Baltimore. Initial greeting was friendly and there is an abundance of travel brochures and destination guides in the foyer.

The complex was always very clean and the gardens well presented, the pool is great and the kids water play area certainly gets a good work out. But there is only one pool. I was informed there was two, incorrectly. So be warned... By the way the spa in the kids wat play area is far to hot, not warm. I do not know the exact temp but I could boil vegetables in there quite easily. So keep a very close eye on the kids if you let them in there. There is a life gurd on duty, they have smart phones, I have noticed.

The room, we stayed in building 5 backing on to the interstate. Anyone that says you can't here the traffic is talking out of their backside. And the fireworks at 9:30 to 9:45 every night you not only here ( very loud ) but you can feel the pressure through your balcony door. They are very, very loud. The rooms all have air conditioning.... BUT... It doesn't matter if the curtains are opened or closed the cool air blows up behind them and keeps the window cool and it takes for ever to cool the room. Best thing is leave it on 24/7 for the best effect. Our room also had a door handle to the balcony that required repairs as it was almost falling off, I made the inquiry and it took two days for someone to look at it and then the front office guys came and fixed it, followed by maintenance staff latter that evening.

Would I stay here again possibly... But I might also look at other hotels closer to Disneyland entrance... It might be close but the closer you can get the better especially with little ones....

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank arkraider35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

7,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,603
    2,539
    780
    224
    81
See reviews for
5,639
464
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel was great for our Disney trip. We were there for 3 nights and were able to walk back a forth a few times each day and it wasn't far at all. We came back each afternoon to take a nap or play in the pool. The pool is great for young kids. Not the most updated rooms, but for the price you pay it is great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coloradogirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed at the Howard Johnson, Anaheim hotel from July 10th to 17th. There were 6 of us in total. Two grandparents, two parents and two boys ages seven and three. We were greeted by very friendly, helpful staff at check in and were off to our two rooms in building one within minutes. We had two rooms facing the Disneyland park and could see the fireworks very clearly from our balconies. As others have said, if you have children that go to bed early or are light sleepers you may want to consider one of the buildings at the back of the property as the fireworks are very loud. The fireworks went off at 9:30.
Our rooms were very nice. We had two very comfortable queen beds with newer linens, flat screen tv, table and chairs,fridge, microwave and a seperate sink area outside of the bathroom. Bathroom had a single sink and there was a tub and shower. We had no problems with water temperature or shower pressure. There was a seperate light switch for lighting just inside the door to the balcony.which I thought was a great safety feature as there is a small step down.
The boys loved the children's water park and arcade room which made for a nice break from Disneyland during the day.There is also a quiet swimming pool. The children's waterpark is well kept, with lots of towels. You need your hotel card to unlock the door which is great. Disneyland is only a short eight to nine minute walk to the gates of Disney pushing a stroller. I know this for sure as I timed it. It was so nice to go to the Parks in the morning and then walk back for a rest or swim when it got really hot. We would have an early dinner and then return to the park for the late afternoon and evening. We never had an issue with tired or cranky children. We also were able to buy a four day park hopper pass for the price of a three day pass from the hotel.
The hotel does not have a restaurant or complimentary breakfast on site but there is a small store that sells breakfast items, fruits,milk, juice and snacks.The store also sells souvineers and other necesities. There is also Mimi's restaurant just across the street that was fantastic! The staff was very friendly and the prices were quite reasonable. We joined the Mimi's club just before we went and they sent us coupons. Don't join too early or your coupons will expire before you leave. They also had other discount promotions while we were there. On the same walk between the Howard Johnson's and Disneyland there is a McDonalds and other restaurants as well.
We found all the staff members to be very friendly and accomodating. They were always very helpful with info regarding the hotel, directions, tours etc. I would highly recommend this hotel for families visiting Disneyland. It would be our first choice on a return visit.

Room Tip: Pick a building one room with a view if you would like to watch the fireworks from your room. Ask w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank horseygramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family and I stayed one nite, Sunday, the next day we were heading to Disney.
My four year old and my 11 year old niece had a blast at the pool, they have a toddler pool that wax heated and my daughter was having a blast, we loved the big bucket of water crashing down on us, they room was clean and the beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our stayed, the service was excellent our room was faced to manahorn at Disney and we got to enjoy the fireworks. I recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgdulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair oaks, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We just got back from a five night stay, and thought it was just sufficient. We booked not realizing that many of the buildings are two story and have no elevators. When we checked in they stood there looking at my husband who is an amputee on crutches and then gave us keys to a room on the second floor of a building with no elevators, which we didn't realize until hoofing there with our luggage. We were assigned to another room in a building with elevators, anne they went on and on about how it was an upgrade, but it was the room type we booked, with a moldy shower. Maybe it was an upgrade because of the pool view, but I'm not sure how the extra noise from the pool right outside our window is a plus.

The free wifi was a joke. The connection was slow and useable. The tv's are horribly outdated, and video checkout didn't work when we went to check out.

The only plus was the pirate themed pool and splash area, which was a lot of fun for my
daughter. It was nice to have a day to relax at the hotel, and just enjoy the pool. For future trips, however we will be booking elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you don't want to carry your bags up the stairs, or if you have trouble with stairs, specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mommymctravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.2 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
1.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.9 km away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,213 - ₹ 17,077
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing