We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not for us”
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

The room with 2 queen beds was small for 2 adults and 2 teens and could use an upgrade. The pool are was nice and the little waterpark area would be perfect if your kids were 4-8 years old. Location, location, location is a top draw for this hotel which is approximately a 3 city block walk to the entrance of WDW. Staff were pleasant. We has asked for extra pillows and there were none to be had. The beds and pillows were average at best.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

7,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,701
    2,594
    806
    234
    84
See reviews for
5,816
475
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed at the Howard Johnson for 9 days with 3 families at the end of March 2012. The staff were very helpful & friendly. We stayed in block 3 facing the water playground. The only fault with the rooms are the ones on the second floor have large windows near the ceiling that have no blinds & let light in from the outside lighting. Also the rooms at either end of the building are smaller than the others because of the cleaners rooms. Found the hotel to be in a great location close to Disney Land & California adventure park. Great if you have young children & want to leave the parks in the afternoon & then return for the shows in the evening. Can watch the fireworks from the front of the hotel. Has a great water playground for the kids but still a little cold when we were there in March. Had a little convience store at the hotel which supplied milk etc so you could purchase cereal & have breakfast in your room. Free WIFI was excellant. Bar fridge was nice & cold.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bourky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed 7 days at this HOJO. May 20th through may 27th. The crowd is light during the week and we noticed the local crowd gets heavy on weekends. It was 80 degrees on a few days during our stay and the water park was open past the posted hours. The water park is awesome. Its well maintained, chlorine kept up to prevent infections, etc. I am a bit of a clean freak and I was very surprised how well the water park is kept.

The rooms are awesome. We paid the extra 20 dollars a night to get a view of Disneyland. This was well worth it. Even though most of May is considered a slow season for Disney and fireworks are only Friday through Sunday during this time we enjoyed seeing the fireworks from our balcony. The walls and floors are a little thin. We have children so they woke us up every morning at 7 am to go to Disneyland but sometimes at midnight or later I could hear children above us running. I went into our vacation knowing this experience is for the kids so it didn't bother me. But I could understand if it would bother someone but it wasn't loud enough to call and complain. Our room had a mini fridge, a microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. This was awesome because we drove to walmart which is 3 miles away and got items for breakfast and water for Disneyland. The microwave, fridge and coffee maker worked well and got plenty of use from us! The room was clean and stocked daily.

The walk to Disneyland is approximately 10-15 minutes with kids and a stroller. We walk slow so we could of done it faster if needed.

Negatives: Some of the staff at the front desk around morning time were a little short and rude. But I understand thats a busy time with them for check outs and check ins so we brushed it off. Parking.... Parking can be a pain because with more of the local crowd at Disneyland and staying at this hotel have vehicles. Some nights we went into Orange County or LA for dinner returning around 11 pm with barely any parking available. I did see hotel personnel checking vehicles to make sure proper parking permits were displayed to try and cut out any illegal parking which is good!

All in all we are pleased with the HOJO and will use it next year. Contact the hotel its self monday through friday 8 PM PST to 6 pm PST and ask for in house reservations. Once your talking to reservations ask for any specials they are running or discounts. I am in the military and got a big discount.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view of Disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank radius480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at the HOJO Anaheim Plaza for 4 nights with our 4.5 & 1.5 year old May 29-June 3. This place was amazing. It was the perfect hotel for families looking for an 'all in one' package. After playing all day at the theme parks, it was so nice to come back to the hotel and let the kids play in Castaway Cove. There is also a garden pool, which was nice to venture over to when Speedy's playground got too busy.
We had a room that had a view of the fireworks.(building1) It was so nice to sit on the balcony and watch after kids went to sleep. (however, we honestly were not prepared at how loud the fireworks were... ) The rooms were clean. The housekeepers were great. Our room had a fridge & microwave. Also, a KEURIG coffee machine, which was an extra bonus to the room. Our air conditioning seemed to not work to top notch. It was quite warm while we were there (29-30 degrees). So, having a cool room to relax in was a huge bonus. We just turned our a/coff during day, and cranked it on when we got back to room. I suppose we could have contacted the front desk to make them aware of our concern, but... in all honesty, it wasn't worth taking the time to do so.
The mainstreet market store has everything you need. (tip: for adults looking for cold beverages, the 7-11 carries beverages for MUCH less and is only a 10 minute walk down Harbour Blvd. EX: 6 budweiser at HOJO=13.50, 12 budweiser at 7-11=9.99 :) just a friendly tip :) Same goes for milk, chips, snacks etc.
For eating nearby, Mimi's cafe had everything imaginable & was reasonably priced. HUGE portions. We also dined at California Pizza, Bubba Gump Shrimp & Cheesecake Factory @ the Anaheim Gardenwalk which is a 15 minute walk (approx.) I would HIGHLY recommend cheesecake factory. It was unbelievable! Over 40 flavors of cheesecake to choose from, and the portions were LARGE. Very pleased with this restaurant & wished we had one in Canada.
This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the HOJO Anaheim, and I have no doubt that we will return to this hotel the next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 1, 1709. It was a big & cozy room. Fireworks go off at 9:30 every night an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenP4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our family's first trip to Disneyland, and it perfectly met our needs. It was an easy 10 minute walk to Disneyland and coincidentally, we even got to see the fireworks from the parking lot when we arrived (super cool!) The rooms were clean and the two beds were comfy, bathrooms were well stocked, rooms had a mini fridge and TV, pretty standard fare. This hotel doesn't have a restaurant but is very close to Mimi's and you also pass McDonald's on your walk to Disneyland if you're looking for some cheap eats to fill you up before you get there instead of spending $$$$ on all your meals at Disneyland. Parking is free and they have a kids water play area at the hotel, which we didn't get to try because we ran out of time. Highly recommend this hotel, best value within walking distance to Disneyland (we had a Hotels Etc. discount that reduced the price considerably), so good to avoid the hassles of parking and taking the shuttle with a double stroller and we were glad to be able to walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orchid_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.2 km away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#19 of 118 in Anaheim
2,818 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.9 km away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,477 - ₹ 17,131
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing