We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
1 review
“My Home away from Home”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have been staying at the Alameda Hawthorne every week for the past 9 months, and I can tell you that the experience is consistently excellent. The rooms are clean and updated, the beds are very comfortable, there is a separate sitting room with a 2nd TV, and the Microwave and Fridge come in very handy. The service is outstanding, the staff is polite and friendly, and the owner really cares about his guests. The is a hot breakfast daily and a nice complimentary dinner every Wednesday. The rooms have good insulation so you rarely hear the neighbors, and the Heat/AC unit is quiet. I give it my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    254
    75
    18
    10
See reviews for
259
112
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I stayed at the extended stay in Alameda the night before, and check out of that hotel the next moring. I was not happy with the recent renovation of the Extended stay, mold in the bathtub / shower curtain.
I called Government SATO travel and asked them to find a hotel in the local Alameda, CA area that honored the local Government per diem rate. SATO recommended Hawthorn Suites, I cheched in that afternoon and was very happy withe the hotel, and the staff was great, the room was clean, and a great value for the price.

I will stay at this hotel on my next governmnet trip to Oakland, CA.

Room Tip: away from the road, on the parking lot side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlestonsnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornAlamedaCA, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am happy that you were able to find a home in Alameda while you were here on business. As a strong supporter of our military, it always puts a smile on my face to know we were able to help you and provide a service to you during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

we have stayed at this hotel several times. On our most recent stay everthing was ok until I received my bill. They added an additional $100 to our bill. When I called to ask why, I was told that we smoked in our non-smoking room. I told them that we had not smoked and I was told that the cleaning person had reported that there was a smell of smoke in our room. I explained over and over that this was not true and they told me that all could do was to contact my credit card company. We will never stay there again and I will write the $100 off to charity, in the hotel's name.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce_P60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornAlamedaCA, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Guest contacted hotel well over a month after the charge to their card. Hotel inspects rooms before guests check in after the rooms are cleaned, and after a guest checks out before they are cleaned again. Guest was told that both hotel and housekeeping manager inspected room and that both smelled a strong odor that indicated someone smoked in the guest room. Because we are a non smoking hotel, any evidence of smoke is very noticeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This was my first time staying at a Hawthorn Suites so i didn't know what to expect. The room was nice, clean, quiet, furnished with coffee pot, microwave and refrigerator. Only compliants were minor and did not distract from the overall experience. Desk clerk on checkin did not seem to know much about Alameda and what was there (Did not know the Alameda theater was a restored historic theater), Spa room has nothing but a few hooks, the spa and a basket with towels, no chairs, tables or place to put anything, would be nice to have a table or a place to sit. Tile at the top of the spa on the wall side needed cleanig. Upon checkout no one at front desk, two employees walked by and did not say anything, finally I asked one of them on her third trip by, did she know where the desk clerk was, she replied in the bathroom. I was told they were housekeeping staff, not front of the house staff, but it would have been nice if one had said, "someone will be with you in a moment or something"
I was impressed with the breakfast, good selection.
Good hotel just needs a little attention to detail to get 5 stars.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alolewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornAlamedaCA, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I agree that our staff should provide better knowledge of the area for our guests when they stay. I also agree that our staff should acknowledge when a guest needs help, no matter the circumstances. I will be holding two meetings for our housekeeping and front desk staff. I will pass these comments on and reinforce our customer service training and see what I can do to tie up these loose ends for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here over the presidents day weekend, and it would have been perfect had the bay bridge not been closed. Due to the closure it took us quite a bit longer to get to the wharf, but who could have known? The hotel staff was very nice and it is a great value for the money. The rooms are clean. The breakfast was slightly lacking unless you like all microwaveable breakfast items (yes, including the premade eggs). You can make yourself a waffle though, and they did have cereal and toast and yogurt. The area is nice and quiet, and we definitely felt safe. There are several fast food restaurants including a subway right across the street. The free Internet connection is slightly slow but it did work. The rooms aren't huge, but the suite definitely accommodated our family of 5 plus an infant. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawthornAlamedaCA, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you so much for your response. You will be happy to know that we are currently working on the issue with the slower internet. We had an equipment failure and should have everything fixed by the end of this week. I am glad that you felt safe and we hope to see you soon! Especially since there don't seem to be any Bay Bridge closures scheduled any time soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alameda
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oakland Airport-Alameda
2.8 km away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
2.1 km away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.9 km away
Oakland Marriott City Center
2.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda
Address: 1628 Webster St, Alameda, CA 94501-2134 (Formerly Oakland/Alameda Hawthorn Suites LTD.)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Alameda
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alameda
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,807 - ₹ 19,982
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham located in the beautiful city of Alameda, just a mile from downtown Oakland, was newly built in 2003 and renovated in 2011. The hotel offers superior amenities and great customer service in addition to studio suites with a King or two Queen beds, some with sofa sleepers. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet includes eggs, potatoes, meat, pancakes, juices, fruits, yogurt, hot and cold cereal, Starbucks coffee and a variety of teas. Parking and T1 reliable wifi are free and there are several nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Bus and train connections are conveniently located nearby to San Francisco and other destinations and attractions in the Bay Area. Come and stay at our hotel to experience superior hospitality from a dedicated staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Oakland/Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Alameda Hotel Alameda
Hawthorn Suites Alameda
Alameda Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing