We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
0
2
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
0
2
3
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2015

We were originally supposed to stay here five nights, but when we checked in and saw our rooms, we didn't even stay one night. I've been all over Alaska, and this is just substandard - especially at the prices they are charging. The rooms are tiny, the bedding looks like it hasn't been washed, and the main area smells strongly of dog urine. Awful.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 November 2012

What can I say ... it is a place to stay. It has hot and running water (well actually not when they ran out during my stay; the water comes by water truck). It has an OK breakfast. But years ago it seemed to be in much better condition and I don't remember it being run-down. My room in the main building was OK ... except that it had a big fist whole in the very thin hollow core door. Maybe the best thing is talking to the other guests at breakfast. Oh yes ... the internet is very good and I love the water-front location.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AK_Steve_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed here after completing a 40 day Canoe Trip on the Kuskokwim River.

We stayed in a large apartment unit with a complete well equiped kitchen, private bathroom, two bed rooms and a great view of the Kuskokwim River. There were three TV's with cable in the unit.

The unit was very clean (considering this is the Alaska bush) , the furnishings were not great, the beds were saggy, and the couch was in really bad shape. Many of the walls were open for repairs to pipes (typical for Alaska Bush)

The cost per night was around $ 174 per night, probably the least expensive in Bethel, expensive but to be expected in Bush Alaska.

The hotel is non smoking and non drinking. We were there over a Saturday and Sunday night, and it was very quiet.

They did not provide breakfast because the Co-Owner who does the cooking was in the lower 48 for medical reasons. There is a very large supermarked about a three minute walk from the hotel so we saved a lot of money by doing our own cooking rather than dining at the very expensive local restuarants. Most of the restuarants in town are Chinese or combination Chinese, American, Italian, Japanese. As is typical in the Alaska Bush, they are mostly owned by Koreans, unfourtunately none have Korean food.

The Hotel is well located on the River, with a boat/canoe landing a short walk (2 minutes) from the hotel. It is a short walk to several restuarants.

George, the co-owner, met us at the canoe landing with his pickup truck to help us get our expedition gear to the hotel, and the last day we were given a ride to the post office and air port (the airport is about 5 miles out side of town).

If we visit Bethel again we would stay at Bentley's.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 April 2007

Bentley's Porter House is a B&B in Bethel AK. It seems to have a crowd of regulars who come back periodically for some work-related visit, so it was a good place to hang around the breakfast table and chat with people from Alaska and from elsewhere. And breakfast was pretty good.

In the early evening, people also were willing to socialize. And then everything quieted down fast.

The rooms themselves were small and not particularly comfortable, but I would stay there again because of the atmosphere.

4  Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 February 2004

Bentley's is the largest "Bed and Breakfast" in Bethel although it is more of a mix between hotel and B&B. It consists of one large main building and several outter buildings, most of which are along the river and have spectacular views. Rooms are homey and their are traditional crafts and decorations throughout the main building. Each room has cable television and common areas also have large screen TVs with VCRs. There is a guest kitchen complete with cookware and refrigerator/freezer storeage space. Staff is extemely friendly and cleaning crew is top notch. Guest have shared bathrooms and hot homemade breakfast is provided with cost of the room. Management does not tollerate any drinking or partying, which helps to maintain the safe home-like feel of the establishment. Staff is very helpful with regards to directions, dining, and any other questions travelers may have about Bethel itself. Bentley's is a long time well established business and is a favorite for many local dignitaries and long time itinerant workers.

13  Thank Nomad17022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews