We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
47
42
45
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
42
45
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wifi worked well cleaning staff older hotel auburn football game conference room choice hotels location was perfect waffles enjoyed my stay great place to stay campus thomas alabama
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2018

There are only three "pros" that I can give this hotel. Great Location, Nice Staff, and Free Breakfast.

But for about $225 a night, one should expect better. This is a major chain hotel. It sits on the major thoroughfare through town near a major college campus. Every time there's a game, graduation, or major event, they jack the price up. No, they shouldn't be hurting for money! I decided to try this hotel this time because the hotels in Opelika aren't that great. I figured this one must be much better. Surely it was better kept! Let me say, if you're going to stay in a hotel like this, save the money and stay in Opelika. It's 1/2 the price, only about 10 miles further down the road, and other than that - no difference in quality. $5 breakfast at McDonald's is worth the difference. (Please see the photos.)

I don't normally make disparaging ratings just for the fun of it. But after being charged so much for what I was given, it's just way too much for them not to reinvest their profits into giving their customers a better product.

1) The carpet had stains all over it.
2) The outlet nearest the window and front door didn't work. The lamp was useless.
3) The walls were scratched up.
4) The furniture was majorly scratched up and dinged.
5) Behind the toilet was loose tiles and peeling wall paper. Not cleaned.
6) When you turned on the cold water faucet in the tub, it leaked out of the handle.
7) The drain was rusted.
8) The floor of the tub/shower looked liked it had mildew or specks of dirt all in it, but that's just the way it's deteriorated.
9) The double beds were serviceable, but they were just that.
10) The 'free' breakfast was decent, but the breakfast area shows wear and is way past due for an update.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled that it's a better hotel because it's a chain, near campus, and more expensive.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksR3617HJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarioninnauburn, Hotel Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Guest,

We’re pleased that you took the time to make thorough comments about our hotel so that we can respond to your concerns. I apologize that we let you down in so many ways and that you were generally unimpressed with everything else. We try so hard to please, and I’m disappointed we didn’t please you. Everything we do is aimed at improving the guest experience, and we obviously let you down in some ways. When you’re in the area again, we invite you to try us again. We’ll always be here for you if you need us.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Location great for events at stadium but that's about it. Room had an awful smell like they had sprayed some cheap air freshener way much. The room was clean, but not sure how clean it can be with carpet and furniture that looked to be decades old. TV was fine. Pillows and linens fine (although we had brought our own blankets and pillows) Bathroom looked like they tried to upgrade by putting some sort of tile up around the tub/shower. Water pressure was good. Towels were good. The pics are way better the the actuality. We were there A-Day weekend and while I get the whole supply and demand...we paid way over $100...and it felt like at best a $50 room and that's being generous! We have stayed at several properties in Auburn, from the Hampton Inn (fine) to the Grand National (Superb) and this has been our least favorite.

Room Tip: Get Pool side
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank awardtravelchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarioninnauburn, Hotel Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind words about our clean and friendly hotel. I regret that some housekeepingissues detracted so much from your stay. I sincerely apologize for these lapses and encourage you to give us a try again in the future to see how we usually do business. Nothing is more important to us than a safe and pleasant guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Great hotel with great people. The front desk was totally the best! The room was great and it was a very quiet hotel. Great price for the room and the breakfast was great. I will be staying at Clarion the next time I am in Auburn.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarioninnauburn, Hotel Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Clarion Inn University Center.
Great to note that you got finest staff hospitality.
We also note all your comments on the room, amenities and breakfast.
We look forward to see you and welcome you again soon for another fine stay.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Staff was nice and friendly. The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable for the price. The bathroom was in need of major upgrades but was tolerable for price. Conveniently located to everything. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank specialone39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarioninnauburn, Webmaster at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We are also glad that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We hope to welcome your back to our hotel soon!

Kindest Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms have cracked plaster in the walls and ceilings. The furniture is worn and switchcovers were missing from the electrical outlets. The artwork hanging on the walls was broken. On both Friday and Saturday evenings during our stay, loud parties took place in the banquet rooms at the hotel. Upon check-in, we were told quiet time began at 10pm but both these parties lasted past midnight. On Saturday, many party-goers were heard outside the banquet room and vomit was spotted in the stairwell.
Maid service was not completed at our room and when she did come (after I called the front desk to complain) she made only one bed and took all our used towels. She did not replace any towels.The breakfast area was drab with worn cabinets and cracked/missing pieces of floor tiles.
We traveled from a different time zone to play in a volleyball tournament. The loud party music till 1am our time was not appreciated.
I'm not sure how you can get any favorable reviews on this hotel. I will stick to The Hampton Inn in the future.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clarioninnauburn, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites University Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience. It is regrettable that your stay did not turn out as expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance. Please visit again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews