We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,925)
Filter reviews
1,925 results
Traveller rating
1,085
531
206
61
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,085
531
206
61
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthomas circlerooftop poolspiral showerwine hourzentan restaurantfront deskpool closessoaking tubwhite housechocolate covered strawberriesyoga matbottle of champagnelogan circlemini barboutique hotelking suitewater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 1,925 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Had a fantastic stay at The Donovan. We were greeted upon arrival by Kris with a pleasant "We were expecting you" and it got better from there. All of the staff were fantastic, pleasant and professional but also "real" and truly friendly. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I appreciated the fact that a room key was necessary in the elevator to access the lodging floors of the Hotel. Had a great and unique meal at Zentan one night and took the staff recommendation for a wonderful breakfast at Commissary Restaurant near by. Key component of the successful stay was the location. We walked to restaurants, monuments and museums. Even took a night stroll to the White House to unwind after our long day of flights and our late arrival. DC is a walkers dream and the Donovan is perfectly located to take advantage of it all. Thanks For a Pleasant Stay.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the view of the city.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awet S, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Christopher F,

Happy Holidays and thank you for your recent visit to the Kimpton Donovan hotel. We greatly appreciate the kind words and we were delighted to read your stay was enjoyable. Home away from home.

Look forward to your next visit and please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Warmest wishes,

Awet Sium
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

A great place to stay. We had a good deal through a mobile app and it was totally worth it.

The place is pet friendly at no extra cost, the staff is super nice and very caring. I loved it.

Our room (503) was perfect : modern, very clean and the bed was comfortable.

I'll definitely come back and recommend this place !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Remy_Blue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanella V, Front Office Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Thank you for the wonderful review Remy_Blue13

Thank you for staying with us here at The Donovan Hotel and for taking the time to share this amazing review on the hotel and staff and I am so happy to hear that you've enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us soon!

Best,
Shanella

Shanella V
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Just finished an over Thanksgiving weeks stay at the Donovan Hotel in DC. Everyone from the Front desk to the property’s GM were the very best. Thank you DNV team for making a holiday away from home feel like we had close family all around us! A great stay...

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Don O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Awet S, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear DonO,

Happy Holidays and thank you for your recent visit to the Kimpton Donovan hotel. We greatly appreciate the kind words and we were delighted to read your stay was enjoyable. Home away from home.

Look forward to your next visit and please let us know if we can be of any assistance.

Warmest wishes,

Awet Sium
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

This was for an overnight stay. The check in staff were courteous and prompt. They sent a text message just after arriving at the room to ensure things were to our liking. The room was clean and so was the hotel overall. I would recommend trying to perhaps feed a meter for parking as it is $49 for overnight parking in the underground garage. The hotel has a comfortable lounge area with a glassed fireplace.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks Shane!

We love that you enjoyed your stay here. Thanks for all the love, and we hope to see you again the next time you are in town.

All the best,

Matt W.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We were in town as a family over the Thanksgiving holiday and had booked at the Kimpton through a 3rd party site. Despite not having booked through the hotel, we were allowed to check in early (very early!) to one of our 2 rooms. When the hotel realized someone had smoked in our second room and they couldn't adequately get the scent out, we were given a huge upgrade on that room. The room was gorgeous with a soaking tub and amazing views!
The service couldn't have been better -- especially from Chris! -- and every tiny detail was attended to each day. I felt more like family than a hotel guest. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely, but ask for a view of Thomas Circle.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank halfhis0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew W, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thanks halfhisOrange!

We really appreciate the love. It's great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us, and even with a little hiccup, we were able to leave such a great impression. We can't wait to see you all again.

Sincerely,

Matt W.
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews