We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view and Neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #99 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice view and Neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

The view of the city from the top rooms is really nice. The hotel is clean and service is very good. The room are medium size and the bed is comfortable. My only complains is that the hotel is too big and they have a lot of events and conventions, so it can be noise, and the metro is not that close.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ELMOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton. Glad to hear you found our service, comfort levels, and cleanliness up to your standards. We are one of DC's largest hotels and with our size comes many additional amenities and dining options under one roof. Please return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,011
    1,435
    725
    252
    115
See reviews for
704
717
205
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I'm always a bit leery when I stay in a hotel for the first time, but I was pleasantly surprised by the Washington Hilton. I normally avoid pet friendly hotels because of complaints in reviews about problems with the rooms, however, we brought a small dog with us this trip and despite being placed in what I was told was a "pet" room, I do not have one thing to complain about in that respect. The room was spotless, no indication that there had ever been an animal of any sort there. We let housekeeping know when we were out of the room and we took the dog with us...a common courtesy at the least and required by the hotel we had stayed at previously...and they were so appreciative and kind. The room is not large, but of a common and adequate size typical of downtown hotels in any big city. Be warned that this is a huge hotel, with all the attendant perks and pitfalls. It seemed as if our room was at the end of a nearly infinite hallway, but there were plenty of services such as restaurants and wi-fi available downstairs.

We ate at McClellands, the sports pub in the lobby, and the food was good. There are several other restaurants there, including a "quick mart" type full of great drinks and pastries, etc. But, unless, like my kids on this particular night, you are just too exhausted to go out again, take advantage of the proximity and variety of restaurants in DC, many within walking distance. I can highly recommend Odeon, the Italian restaurant about two blocks down Connecticut Ave.

Unless you are disabled in some way, there is a train station (Dupont Circle), shops, and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. If you enjoy walking, you can also walk to the National Zoo...about a mile away.

Self-parking is $34 a night, not unreasonable for large DC hotels, and the garage is attached to the hotel. Valet available at a higher cost. A bit of trivia...this is the hotel where President Reagan was shot outside the garage. There's a sign marking the event, off hotel property on the sidewalk.

I did not give the hotel a perfect review is because of three small complaints. The bathroom is tiny, a problem for families, but I realise there is nothing the hotel can do about this. In their favour, they used every bit of available space wisely and tucked in a drawer and extra shelving to help, along with another one of those sliding along the wall doors and herein lies the problem. The door has a smoked glass panel and there is a full length mirror hanging in the hallway directly across from the bathroom door, When some one goes in there at night, the light reflects off the mirror and lights up the entire room. Secondly, the beds are WAY TOO firm. I like a firm bed, but I spent four nights in the hotel and was in pain by the time I left. Lastly, I went down to get help from the concierge at 8:30 on a Friday night, only to find out that the concierge had already left. Seriously? The front desk was as helpful as they could be, but this was just odd.

All in all, I'd recommend the hotel and probably stay here again, but the beds would give me pause to consider if I had other options.

Room Tip: Ask if there are different levels of firmness in the beds to avoid an uncomfortable night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleyacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks so much for taking your time to review the Washington Hilton. One of the best things we can hear is that you would return to our hotel on your next trip to DC. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your four nights and enjoyed many of the competitive advantages the Washington Hilton has to offer. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to DC and please do not hesitate to call our guest hotline if we can in any way make you more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights this past week and it was not the best experience. The room was close to the elevator so you could hear it all night. When people got off and were talking in a normal voice, we could hear everything they said. Walls were paper thin and conversations could be heard very clearly. There was lint and trash under the nightstands and carpet had a really bad stain. The safe was not very safe, when you opened the door the whole safe tipped forward and everything would fall out. Staff was friendly and mostly helpful, but for the money it definately was not worth it. Breakfast was Continental with cereal, muffins and fruit, nothing to write home about. Great location close to many restaurants, Metro and the Zoo.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. Glad to hear you enjoyed the comfortable beds, friendly staff and convenient location. That said we strive for 100% satisfaction from all our guests so please reach out to management if you have any challenges on your next trip to DC and we'll happily rectify at once.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
330 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a large conference...

Good: easy access to the Dupont metro station. Plenty of restaurants in the area (recommend Obelisk, Bistrot du Coin, Teaism - but not Odean Italian). Locale seemed very safe. Close to the Adams-Morgan neighborhood with additional restaurants. Coffee in the rooms. Bedding and bath linens were nice. Beds were comfortable. Security safe in the room. Affordable to the masses.

Bad: hotel, although non-smoking, smells like smoke. Walls are thin - you know exactly what your neighbors are doing. Bathroom is on the small side. The housekeeping is shoddy - the room is given a "lick and a promise" and, by past reviews, the promise is never kept. Extra charge for Wi-Fi.

Overall, a good choice for a conference hotel, but I would never choose this site for a getaway with a significant other or a girlfriend getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunriseAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review the Washington Hilton. We strive for 100% satisfaction from all our guests and although you enjoyed many of the hotel's fabulous amenities we do not accept you having any issues with your stay that were preventable. I will point out that all our rooms are newly renovated and as we do offer a few smoking rooms the vast majority of the hotel is non smoking. I'm hopeful that on your next trip to DC you will allow the Washington Hilton to showcase what a premiere hotel we truly are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Conveniently located, clean, and helpful staff. Shops and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaMike3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back the next time you're in DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,146 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Property: Washington Hilton
Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,821 - ₹ 28,227
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Agoda so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing