We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,964)
Filter reviews
3,965 results
Traveller rating
2,830
774
212
90
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,830
774
212
90
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe du parc the round robin bar peacock alley white house beautiful hotel washington monument classic hotel beautiful lobby room service perfect location national mall mini bar turn down service room was large an upgrade two blocks smithsonian museums
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 3,965 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Ok. - the Willard is the Willard - -top class rooms, location, location, great bar, good food at the bar or restaurant - great staff - - however, bring back the nuts in the bar ( i will drink more with a few munches!!) and get a SIMPLE in room coffee maker!!

Room tip: We have stayed all over the Willard over the years - never a bad room - this tine room 936, near the back elevator, worked well
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay at the Willard InterContinental. We're thrilled to learn you had another great stay at our historic property. Unfortunately a delay in shipment of our famous bar nuts resulted in the bar going a few days without! Should your travels bring you back to Washington, we will be sure to have plenty of bar nuts for your consumption! No drink at the Round Robin Bar is complete without them! Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,

Simon Chapman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

The Willard sells itself as a storied establishment that has and continues to cater for visiting dignitaries and their like. Although the hotel itself is old, ongoing refurbishments are working to its benefit to a large extent. The decorations and furnishings in the common areas and room look updated and are functional - but it still feels (and smells) old. Check-in was a pleasant and efficient process but I was directed to a room on the top floor that had a small circular aperture the hotel would like me to imagine as a window (nahhhh, this does not work for me - at least for the rate charged ~$500). But the room was nicely adorned with the expected offerings one expects from the chain. The work desk was provided with ample outlets for charging the myriad of electronics in my possession and the room, although accorded a single, small circular porthole, was relatively bright. Wifi was free and the signal was robust and reliable. Bathroom had a walk-in rain shower but the water pressure was poor ( kinda defeats the purpose of having a rain shower). I rather they not tease their clients with a rain shower if that is not their intent to satisfy our expectations (regular shower head will suffice). Breakfast and lunch at the Cafe du Parc were excellent; service was first class as were the food. Conference room (for meeting) was functional and the staff attentive to needs. Overall, a nice hotel that is conveniently located, offers great service and food and yes, storied (but I am at a loss as to how this contributes to my experience). It is also expensive - hence the 4 stars ranking - primarily for value.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Seng100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at the Willard InterContinental. While we're pleased to learn you found our hotel to be charming and nice, we're disappointed to learn that your experience in our newly renovated guest room did not meet your expectations. Should we have known of your dissatisfaction during your stay, our staff would have worked to rectify the situation and relocate you to a room that better suited your preferences. Should your travels bring you back to The Willard (and we sure hope they do!), please let me know so I can personally ensure we have opportunity to make amends for your recent experience.

Regards,

Simon Chapman
Hotel Manager
Simon.Chapman@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

This was my first stay with this property along with my family, it was an awesome experience my family loved it. Location is also a plus along with extra comfort you like when you are away from home..

Room tip: They do what they are committed to do, definitely visit again.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Shaan1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for 5-star. We're thrilled to learn you and you family loved your first stay with us and that it was an awesome experience. This is music to our ears! Should your travels bring you back to DC, we hope to welcome you again for another great stay.

Regards,

Simon Chapman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Mother’s Day brunch was a disaster. Despite only 10% of the patio full because of rain earlier in the day, the service was horrendous and not at all up to par with what one would expect at such a fine restaurant. Our waiter was apparently assigned a large party inside (on the 2nd floor) and our party outside, on the first floor. We saw him less than a Haley’s Comet sighting. The service moderately improved after we complained and they did take my entree off the bill but only after I told them it was cold (mussels and fries). It’s not fun to have to complain once, let alone twice during what is supposed to be a special occasion. We expected better from the Hotel Willard.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank caldaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, EAM Food & Beverage at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent dining experience at Cafe du Parc. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your Mother's Day brunch as that is not the service nor dining experience that we known for. I would like the opportunity to speak with you to learn more about your visit and to see how we can make amends for your experience. When you have a moment, please send me an email with the best telephone number in which you can be reached. I look forward to speaking with you.

Regards,

Robert Muehlich
Executive Assistant Manager - Food & Beverage
robert.muehlich@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

What a spectacular hotel. The lobby sets tge tone for yoyr visit, just BEAUTIFUL. Staff was gracious and helpful. Room spacious and bathroom nicely done. Location perfect. Even though it poured rain our visit was bright and memorable thanks to the Willard!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank momof2greatmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Hotel Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you for your review. Hearing you found our historic property to be spectacular brings us great joy! Spring has definitely been a rainy one this year, however we're happy to learn we helped bring a little sunshine to your visit. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

Simon Chapman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews