We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Went there for the weekend 29, 30 and 1 July. Great service, very nice hotel, excellent position, next to White House. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,034)
There are newer reviews for Willard InterContinental Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,361 - 2,365 of 3,034 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Once I had my 3rd room, it was fine.

I was first given a room on the 12th floor. The window was a smallish porthole that did not close properly. The room vibrated noticeably because of some equipment on the roof, and you could hear the equipment noise. The toilet kept refilling every few minutes because it was leaking, the door latch was attached only to the top pin.

So I changed to another room on the 12th floor. This was better but not great. Still darkish, and the windows were missing their latches to lock them shut.

The 3rd room, on the 10th floor, was finally fine--once the toilet had been fixed (it was also leaking).

In principle, for a hotel in this category, the above describes a one-star performance. What saved the day is the staff, who were exceedingly friendly and responsive. In the end, the Internet charges were waived as an apology.

Speaking of Internet charges: Charging for something so basic is really an anachronism. Worse, each wireless device is charged separately, so if you have a laptop and and iPhone, you pay twice. (Obviously not relevant if you are from the US and have a wireless plan, but for foreigners like me who would have to use expensive data roaming, wireless access is important.)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 12th floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mugwump888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Willard for our anniversary this past June for the first time. We were very pleased with the hotel from its beautiful lobby to the impeccably kept room. The staff were kind from the front desk to the bellman. We were also able to have a cocktail in the Round Robin Bar to have a Mint Julip ( I believe this is where the drink was created). The hotel is located in a beautiful area in DC and very close to the White House. Next to the Willard is the W hotel where we were able to enjoy a few appetizers on the rooftop deck overlooking the White House. You must however call ahead a make a reservation there if you want to sit down at a table. We did this a few days in advance. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSwanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel location, service, personality and manners of the staff and the lobby and public areas were fantastic. The room itself was just a little tired a painting on the wall missing and lampshade worn. This would not stop me from returning. We were VERY happy. The historic knowledge of the staff members and willingness to help make our stay was A#1

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Took the family to DC for July 4th week. Turns out it was worst weather ever and not great timing to sight see at all!!
However, the lone bright spot other than our White House tour was The Willard. You couldn't get a better location anywhere. We could walk to just about anywhere easily. Concierges were great. Every recommendation was just as we requested. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly as well. Only unusual things to note (not bad but items to keep in mind) were there is no restaurant. It's room service or walk thru lobby directly into cafe parc. We didn't have an issue with this as they had a great breakfast buffet and it's almost in the hotel since its connected. If there are any issues I think they should fix and we really didn't like was the Internet and tv in the room. With kids, they want to play on their iPads while in the room hanging out. Hotel charges $12 a day for WiFi in room per device. They can't differentiate by device so three devices costs $36 a day to use. Not practical with a few kids and Internet savvy adults. Yes, they Internet downstairs where you can pay by the minute but like that's better? Lastly, there are very few free tv channels in the room. If your like watching the same 10 channels great, but if not you have to pay for more channels (note parents that Disney channel isn't free!). All in all, a great hotel and amazing location with intriguing history with just a few needed tweaks.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank lovemycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,199 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
3,043 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,896 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 15,462 - ₹ 49,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing