We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic and Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Historic and Beautiful”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Willard for our anniversary this past June for the first time. We were very pleased with the hotel from its beautiful lobby to the impeccably kept room. The staff were kind from the front desk to the bellman. We were also able to have a cocktail in the Round Robin Bar to have a Mint Julip ( I believe this is where the drink was created). The hotel is located in a beautiful area in DC and very close to the White House. Next to the Willard is the W hotel where we were able to enjoy a few appetizers on the rooftop deck overlooking the White House. You must however call ahead a make a reservation there if you want to sit down at a table. We did this a few days in advance. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSwanns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,804
    600
    154
    61
    39
See reviews for
752
794
105
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel location, service, personality and manners of the staff and the lobby and public areas were fantastic. The room itself was just a little tired a painting on the wall missing and lampshade worn. This would not stop me from returning. We were VERY happy. The historic knowledge of the staff members and willingness to help make our stay was A#1

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012 via mobile

Took the family to DC for July 4th week. Turns out it was worst weather ever and not great timing to sight see at all!!
However, the lone bright spot other than our White House tour was The Willard. You couldn't get a better location anywhere. We could walk to just about anywhere easily. Concierges were great. Every recommendation was just as we requested. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly as well. Only unusual things to note (not bad but items to keep in mind) were there is no restaurant. It's room service or walk thru lobby directly into cafe parc. We didn't have an issue with this as they had a great breakfast buffet and it's almost in the hotel since its connected. If there are any issues I think they should fix and we really didn't like was the Internet and tv in the room. With kids, they want to play on their iPads while in the room hanging out. Hotel charges $12 a day for WiFi in room per device. They can't differentiate by device so three devices costs $36 a day to use. Not practical with a few kids and Internet savvy adults. Yes, they Internet downstairs where you can pay by the minute but like that's better? Lastly, there are very few free tv channels in the room. If your like watching the same 10 channels great, but if not you have to pay for more channels (note parents that Disney channel isn't free!). All in all, a great hotel and amazing location with intriguing history with just a few needed tweaks.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lovemycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My two sons, husband and I had the incredible opportunity to stay at the Willard Hotel for three nights over the Fourth of July holiday. It was perfect. For us, this was a luxury beyond what we could regularly afford but were awarded gift certificates to enable our stay. It didn't matter that we weren't heads of state or celebrities...we were made to feel as if we were. From the personal greetings every time we entered or exited the hotel...to the wake-up calls (and follow-up wake up calls -- like a human snooze button!!!)....from the gorgeous rooms to the delectable room service dishes....from the stunning lobby to the gracious front desk service....from the personable and meticulous housekeeping staff to the delicious mint chocolates on the pillow.....from the quick and delicious breakfast buffet to the proximity of ANYTHING and EVERYTHING in Washington, DC....this hotel was absolutely first rate. Be prepared to pay for the great service -- parking alone comes in at $42/night and lots of money left our pockets for tips -- but we wouldn't have traded this experience for the world. It was magical. We felt like royalty. And my young sons had the absolute time of their lives. We all did. Thank you to the kind, gracious front desk people, to the Concierge and Bell Captain, to the waiters and all of the employees that made us feel so special. I will have to start saving so we can return again!!! If you have the opportunity to stay here don't ever pass it up!!! INCREDIBLE!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacilav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent two nights at the Williard -- This hotel tops the Hay Adams! The location is tops but the service and graciousness of all the staff comes from the heart! Traveled to MT Vernon for the day and when we arrived back to the hotel and valet remembered us and asked if we had a good time - Restaurant sevice at both the restaurant and bar were very good. Our room was very large. We ordered coffee, ( even thou they have complimentary in room service ) it arrived as ordered. There is a charm at the Willard - rich in history and above all a sense of being welcomed!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uupscaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
3,106 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
1,175 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
1,063 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
1,732 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,008 - ₹ 45,667
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing