We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Hay-Adams

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hay-Adams
Ranked #1 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We choose to stay at the Hay-Adams because of the great trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. We had a lovely quiet room with a small sitting area overlooking the courtyard. The room was beautifully appointed and very clean. The location made it very easy to walk to some of DCs attractions and the Metro is on the next corner. There are several restaurants within easy walking distance.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Hay-Adams and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiShiraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    160
    49
    16
    13
See reviews for
344
399
56
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

JustinBradley celebrated our 10th anniversary with a memorable lunch party at the Top of the Hay! Our offices are located close by so it was an easy stroll and what a perfect Washington, DC experience to enjoy - an unbeatable view of the White House from the glass enclosed room and terrace. Working with the catering team to plan the event was easy - Haydee, the catering manager offerred excellent recommendations. From the reception to the food service - it was gracious and attentive. Having been at the Top of the Hay for larger events, I knew the food was exceptional and it didn't disappoint. Thank you to the Hay Adams for making our day so special.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Our stay at the Hay-Adams was worth every penny. We brought our two children, aged 4 and 9 and the staff couldn't have been nicer, especially in the restaurant. Very friendly and accomodating. We found the room clean and quiet. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dctill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Great location. Incredible service. Unbeatable views! The Hay Adams has it all. We stayed here over the Fourth of July and paid for the package that includes dinner and fireworks from the Top of the Hay. It was pricy, but worth it since – being from AZ - I doubt I’ll ever spend a Fourth in DC again.

We stayed in a White House view room…great views across Lafayette Park to the WH…slightly obscured by trees even from the 7th floor. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are fine, but the level of service is what puts it over the top.

If I were to stay here again, I would not opt for the WH view room…the novelty was really cool, but it wore off after a day or two. I’m glad we did it, but would save the dough and pick another room with more space next time.

Room Tip: The White House view room is nice, but novelty wears off after a day or two. I'm glad we did it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank BurgerManAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Delighted to hear of your experience and pleased that the value of the package met your expectations. I will share your comments about the exceptional service with the entire team, whom I am certain will be encouraged by your kind words. Again, we are pleased and do hope that on a future occasion we can be of service again, whether in a room with a view, or a room not facing the White House.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

ive stayed at the hay adams twice and its now become 'my hotel' when im in d.c. i am already looking forward to another stay in a couple of weeks. the first time i visited was last year, and i had a view of st. johns church. the last time was during the state of the union address in january and the staff upgraded me to a view of the white house. what a special time to be able to see the white house!

the rooms are elegant old-school. i really like their relaxed feel and yet upscale touches. the beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are great. the room sizes are perfect. i really dont like gigantic hotel rooms nor teen tiny. there's enough space for me to work and yet unwind, too.

perhaps the best part of the hotel is the bar in the basement, 'off the record'. this is a great place and on par with the best places anywhere in the world for an evening drink.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UStoEurope111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Hay-Adams, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
What a wonderful review! Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at The Hay-Adams. We are honored to hear that after only two stays with us, you name us ‘your hotel’. It was great to have you as our guests and we hope you will continue to feel at home whenever your visit us.

Sincerely,

Hans Bruland
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
300 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hay-Adams? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hay-Adams

Property: The Hay-Adams
Address: 16th & H Sts. NW, One Lafayette Square, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#2 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#3 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,164 - ₹ 36,456
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hay-Adams 5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington's landmark residence of choice for visitors to our nation's capital. The Hay-Adams, a luxury boutique hotel, is as close as you can get to staying at the White House without a personal invitation from the President. Originally designed in the 1920s as a residential hotel, The Hay-Adams carefully emulates the ambiance of a distinguished private mansion on Lafayette Square. The 145-room boutique hotel in Washington, DC features 21 luxury suites with stunning views of Lafayette Park and the White House. All of our guest rooms exhibit the perfect combination of heritage, luxury, contemporary comfort and technology. Ideally situated in Lafayette Square and steps away from many of Washington D.C.'s famous attractions, The Hay-Adams is the premier destination for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hay-Adams reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hay-Adams Hotel Washington Dc
Hay Adams Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing