We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Washington DC move in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I always try to stay at the Madera in Washington DC because the close proximity to George Washington University and Georgetown. My daughter is a student at GWU and the hotel is accommodating to my needs for her yearly move-in. The staff is very helpful and the rooms are well appointed. The neighborhood is quiet since it's mostly residential.

The hotel is in walking distance to Georgetown and GWU (if you like a slightly longer walk). The Madera has a sister hotel near by that offers a fitness room also available to Madera guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uni246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear uni246, congratulations on your Daughter at GWU. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to keep you at the Madera for at least the next 4 years! See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 842 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

We'll add our kudos to the other reviews. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. We stayed in 309, which is in the back of the hotel. This room has a nice entry space with plenty of storage space, making the room itself clutter-free.

The location was in a great, pretty neighborhood with easy access to the metro and within walking distance to numerous restaurants.

We also thought the staff were wonderful, particularly Michael and Fernando. They greeted us warmly coming and going, but were never overly chatty--a geat balance of hospitality.

We hope this was the first of many trips to D.C., and would love to return to the Madera.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back side, and request a room with the entry space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judybusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Hello Judybusy, what a wonderful vist and review! I agree with you that I also hope there are many more trips to DC and especially the Hotel Madera. The backside of the building is definately great for a nice quiet visit with views of the neighborhood and National Cathedral. But don't forgot the front of the building with the balconies too! Thansk for the review and hoep to see you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was our first time in DC, and this hotel has an excellent location on Dupont Circle, walking distance to Georgetown, a great neighborhood. While all that is good, the service was second to none, Aaron, in particular, but everyone we encountered was pleasant and helpful. We arrived late on a Tuesday night, we got a room on the second floor, probably the last guest to arrive that night. Aaron explained that the room would be nice, quiet, but not much of a view, and it we wanted a better view we could change rooms the second night. We decided to change rooms and received an upgrade for no extra cost. When we booked the room there was an explanation that the parking would be extra and the approximate cost; since we drive in routinely to NYC, we didn't feel as if the cost for parking was outrageous, a little less than parking a car in NYC. We found the accommodations very well appointed and clean. The Firefly restaurant attached to the hotel could stand alone as a restaurant. We prefer smaller boutique hotels and bed and breakfasts over large chains, so this place was perfect for us. When I say we will stay there again when we go to DC, what I really mean is we will go to DC just to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Tammie217, thanks so much for posting a review of your wonderful visit! Aaron Wallace at the Front Desk is a true gem on our Staff and prides himself on giving super warm and genuine service. We can't wait to have you return to the Madera. See you soon, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This hotel looks very nice, but throughout our hallway and in our room tere I a strong stench of urine. It's what I will remember most about the hotel. It's hard to appreciate the luxurious bedding and decor when it all smells like pee. It could be from their pet friendly policy, but if so, there are many great products out there to remove urine and it's smell.

The room itself was fine, odor aside. The bathroom layout was weird, with a tiny shower an toilet in one little room, and the a sink in a room a few feet away.

Also, parking was a pain. They charge $41 a night if you use them, otherwise, it's searching for street parking. They weren't helpful in advise on street parking, and even exaggerated by an hour on parking rules to make it sound like their $41 parking was the only real option.

One final thing. When I travel, I just want coffee. Any time. Either in the room or in the lobby. But here it's only part of the big breakfast they have during a limited time window.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear aBug, I am truly sorry your visit to the Madera was less than stellar. We do take pride in ensuring all our rooms are fresh, clean ,and well appointed. Yes we are a pet friendly hotel, but we should have done a better job of preparing and cleaning your room. I assure you we will not let this happen again. In regards to the parking rate, we offer a very competitive parking rate and the pricing is similar to many other Hotels in the area. We also offer complimentary valet parking for hybrid cars as well. Again, my sincerst apologies but i thank you for the honest feedback. Sincerely, Modi Ahmed General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The staff is always friendly here. The building is small and the rooms can be narrow but the place is nice and provides a good value. If you are an In Touch member, make sure they get your number and you take advantage of the benefits. Firefly, the restaurant, is good, well above average, the only draw back is there is no late-night room service. Oh, and avoid the street rooms - there is a lot of noise on the street in the morninigs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWatDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaderaGM, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Madera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Hello BwatDC, size definately does not matter. We use the smaller size of the Hotel to provide a personal and genuine level of service. Being in the Dupont Circle location, sometimes there is some street noise, but we do have Guests that love that side of the building for the wonderful balcony rooms. Thansk for the review and please visit again, Modi Ahmed General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
1,313 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,322 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
568 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Madera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Madera

Address: 1310 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 7,023 - ₹ 25,836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Madera 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Madera is an intimate, elegant boutique hotel nestled in Washington DC's historic and fashionable Dupont Circle neighborhood. Within walking distance of the White House, Georgetown and the city's monuments and museums, this Kimpton Hotel offers personalized service, luxurious amenities and an atmosphere of refined sophistication. The guestrooms are stylishly tranquil, and the gracious and knowledgeable staff genuinely pampers. Conveniently adjacent is the notable Firefly Bistro featuring contemporary American comfort food and a seasonal menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Madera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc
Hotel Madera Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing