We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Which room matters.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #49 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I am staying for 4 nights in one of the prettiest rooms inside the beltway. I'm looking out 4 windows (that open!), two of them forming the corner of a building, into a beautiful view of light, air, and the DuPont circle neighborhood. The kitchen/dining area is a beautiful nook with a glass table. Air and light everywhere. But my room was "luck of the draw." And lucky I was, getting a corner suite. I'd book here again in a heartbeat, but would select one of the higher end rooms. It's worth it. In peeking in the other rooms, they seem nice as well, but not as spacious.

One annoying detail. I wrote this review and then the wifi went out. Luckily I had saved the text so pasted it back in.

Room Tip: Rooms 03 and 08 seem to be the front of the building corner rooms. Not sure which correspond in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHM008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,513 - 1,517 of 2,149 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

Unfortunately, I was disappointed with my stay at Carlyle. While the Grande Suite we occupied was nicely furnished, there was one particular issue that made for an uncomfortable visit. A few days into our 5-night stay, I noticed that the air conditioning was not turning on even at the coldest stetting. The unit had been working the first two days of our visit. Although the weather was on the cool side, there were a couple of days around 70 degrees and the room became quite warm and stuffy. I reported the issue to the front desk and I was told that the air conditioning was turned off in favor of the heat because the weather had turned cool. The only alternative I was offered was to open my windows. I find it inconceivable that you would not be able to control the temperature of your own room. Furthermore, the room was never cool enough to even require the heat being turned on. With spring in full bloom and having hay fever allergies, keeping the window open was not really a good option...and it rained for two of the days. Upon returning home I received a "how was your stay" email from the "Vice President" of Carlyle hotels. I provided this feedback and after more than a week, never even received an acknowledgement, never mind an apology.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room in case of street noise. Stay someplace else if you want to control your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Foodies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Had a beautiful room on the 8th floor. It was more than a room, was like a kind of apartment.
King size bed, dressing, kitchenette, sofa, desk, round table. Everything very tidy due to the extreme cleanliness standard at this hotel. Very friendly staff always there to help even when it's not really fitting into the time schedule. Excellent breakfast area with a great choice, also excellent chef serving beautiful little dishes at the bar. Thanks to the Moroccon barkeeper and supervisor of the breakfast room, speaking French, Spanish like a machine gun and excellent English. The hotel is in a very quiet area, embassy area, and close to the DuPont circle. If you prepare a little, like I did, you can walk to all the sightseeing, no need to take a subway (although it is close). So I did it all by foot , great walk and also great weather during that special blossom week. To cut it short, a hotel and staff never to forget, the same goes for Washington DC.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Carlyle is a hotel in the Embassies district just a few blocks from Dupont Circle.
The Building is an Art Deco architectural Jewlery!
every piece of the hotel has a Class touch (with the exception of the Room´s signs).
i got a good price because it was in a discount web, otherwise i wouldnt pay the official rate.
the only proble is i booked a taxi for 5am and they didnt call it. so i struggle to get one on the street at that early time

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I really liked staying at this hotel. One of my children lives right around the corner so it was a perfect location for me. I had a very quiet and nice room. I loved the bed. The only recommendation I would make is to add a shower arm in the shower. That would be very helpful. The staff was very nice. I did not eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewilkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,244 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 142 in Washington DC
2,191 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 6,860 - ₹ 29,187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing