We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent stay in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pike Road, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An excellent stay in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at the Carlyle. I've stayed at many hotels in the DC area and this OS my new favorite. The location is great, near neighborhood restaurants and shopping, as well as the DuPont Circle Metro station. I will echo the issues with only A/C or only Heat being available, but we were just fine with opening the window. I highly recommend this property and I'm sure we will be back in the future.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PikeRoadFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
WOW Pike! Your new favorite?! We are so honored! Oh and as far as the A/C... we are officially on A/C! Glad you had a nice time! Hope you had a safe trip back to Alabama. Best - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    585
    145
    43
    37
See reviews for
577
498
119
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I spent 4 fantastic days in D.C. with my son & wife and their 2 beautiful children. I am sure my grandchidren will always remember this trip being very special, as my wife and I will. 3 Generations forming great memories in D.C. The Carlyle Suites at 1731 New Hampshire Av. is the place to stay if your in D.C. People like Vince,Hafiza,Simon, and Bernadette worked hard to make it perfect. I rented 2 rooms and they both were very clean and comfortable. My wife and I had a corner room and had a beautiful view. We alternated each night with either my grandson who is 10 or my granddaughter who is 7 and they thought that was so cool. They allowed my nephew to who lives In D.C. to bring in his black lab so the kids could see the dog Jack. They just recently lost there dog to old age, so that was very special for them.
Taj you are a great bartender and you always got our meals just the way we wanted.
David you went out of your way for us so many times you made us feel at home.
David one cold and rainy night we were just coming in and you held the door open for all 6 of us and said Welcome home. I think that says it all. We will be back.
Don P.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Hi Donald! We are celebrating your review with a team member luncheon! There is a lot to be joyous for with Vince, Hafiza, Simon, Bernadette and David making the grade! Thank you so very kindly! Sounds like you all had a fabulous time! All the best to you and yours, (and Jack too!) MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

The front desk folks went out of their way to get us checked in to a room early; this made a huge difference in getting on with our day. 5+ for everyone that's part of the Carlyle team.

The room was lovely - bed super comfortable (we had a king), nice layout of desk/sitting area and the kitchenette was lovely even though on this trip we didn't use anything but the fridge. This could be a huge asset for quick breakfasts at home, and dinner in if that was in the cards.

If a solid night's sleep is what you are after, one might want to ensure upon check-in that the fan in the room is working. Ours did the first night, and we slept very well, no noise at all. The second night we heard folks in the hallway and more voices outside on the street (we were on the 3rd Floor) several times.

We were visiting family in the area and ate dinner at "Circa at Dupont" which was reasonable, delicious food and fun.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure the fan works in the room. Higher floors might be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Stewsview - From such a seasoned traveler, your review means so much to us here at the Carlyle Suites Hotel! Happy to hear that the Front Desk team went out of there way to accommodate. Hope to see you again on your next visit to our nation's capital! Warm Regards, MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

What a great find! We stayed here for 4 days as we took in the DC sites. We took a train into DC and traveled via metro which worked out great since parking seemed like it would have been a pain. The rooms were nice...we lucked out and had corner rooms which were definitely larger than the others. Tempurpedic mattresses were a great touch and the big shower with grear water pressure was a nice change from the standard tiny tub/shower in most hotels.....We loved being close to all the great restaraunts and galleries at DuPont circle without being on a main drag. The neighborhood was just beautiful. Would definitely recommend highly. WiFi was lame though.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k2adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Nice location. Tiny parking garage for free in the back. Walking distance to yummy restaurants. They either have "heat" or "A/C" on at one time in the hotel. So, if you like to sleep cool, but it is cool outside, they put the heat on.
Their reaction: Open the windows!!! LOL!!!! What an adventure!!
Tip: Book from the hotel directly and you will save. It's a safe area for kids, families, or people traveling alone. The metro is across a couple of streets.

Room Tip: They have large rooms available with two beds and a pull-out couch. The room also had a microwave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedebsterruns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,043 - ₹ 31,352
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing