We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cozy neighborhood hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy neighborhood hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

What a great find! We stayed here for 4 days as we took in the DC sites. We took a train into DC and traveled via metro which worked out great since parking seemed like it would have been a pain. The rooms were nice...we lucked out and had corner rooms which were definitely larger than the others. Tempurpedic mattresses were a great touch and the big shower with grear water pressure was a nice change from the standard tiny tub/shower in most hotels.....We loved being close to all the great restaraunts and galleries at DuPont circle without being on a main drag. The neighborhood was just beautiful. Would definitely recommend highly. WiFi was lame though.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k2adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,149
    579
    145
    43
    37
See reviews for
573
495
118
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Nice location. Tiny parking garage for free in the back. Walking distance to yummy restaurants. They either have "heat" or "A/C" on at one time in the hotel. So, if you like to sleep cool, but it is cool outside, they put the heat on.
Their reaction: Open the windows!!! LOL!!!! What an adventure!!
Tip: Book from the hotel directly and you will save. It's a safe area for kids, families, or people traveling alone. The metro is across a couple of streets.

Room Tip: They have large rooms available with two beds and a pull-out couch. The room also had a microwave a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedebsterruns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The manager, David, is exceptional in customer service and inspiring the staff to do the same. He is a welcome respite from the anonymity of business travel.

The location is convenient, just a few quiet blocks off of Dupont Circle but an easy walk to the Metro.

I found the room very comfortable and the bed fantastic. In short, the hotel far exceeded my expectations, especially on short notice. I look froward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My first trip to Washington and a big part of a very enjoyable visit was the choice of Carlyle Suites. This is not a "luxury" hotel but it delivers 5 star value in every department:
Perfect location in the beatiful Dupont District,
spacious rooms, nice beds and the kitchenette is great (with Safeway next door),
big tv and free internet, really nice soaps and bathroom,
and not the least, incredibly helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshires, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have organized a trip of international graduate students to Washington each March for the past 4 years. We have stayed at the Carlyle Suites each year and had a great experience each time. The rooms are large enough for us to comfortably house the students 3 to a room. The kitchenettes in the rooms are nice to have - some of the students even do some cooking so they don't need to eat out for every meal. The buffet breakfast is very nice, and very convenient when I need to get a group of 30+ out the door each morning.

I love getting free passes to the Washington Sports Club (although I don't think any of the students ever take advantage of this, I try to go every morning!)

The hotel is very conveniently located - although it's just a few minutes walk to the metro at Dupont Circle, I find that it's often easiest to walk everywhere.

It's great getting free WiFi in the rooms (some other hotels I contacted are still charging $15+/day for WiFi).

The staff has been incredibly nice to us - JoAnn, the group sales manager - has been super helpful, the front desk staff have been great about getting our group checked in quickly and efficiently, and in four years of stays we have not had a single problem or complaint.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelsjunkmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan
The Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,534 - ₹ 28,717
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing