We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,047)
Filter reviews
2,047 results
Traveller rating
1,289
590
105
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
590
105
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoggy bottomwhole foodskennedy centergrinderdish restaurantsmall kitchenpotomac suitecoffee beansfull kitchentrader joeslincoln memorialresidential streettree lined streetwatergate complexquiet neighborhoodtwo blocksseparate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 2,047 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the River Inn for the past 5 years whenever we are in DC. Always great service, very friendly, helpful staff. Several staff have been there for years and it’s great to see a familiar face. The rooms are beautiful with large windows, very comfy beds and by far the best pillows in any hotel I’ve stayed at. Extremely convenient to George Washington university, Georgetown and the National Mall.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello Marianne S!

Thank you so much for always choosing to stay with us, that really means the world to our team! We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review and we will all be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again for the great review and for always choosing the River Inn when you are in our Nation's Capital. Have a fantastic summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

The River Inn is special. The location is on a leafy quiet street, yet it's a few steps away from everything. The Kennedy Center and Watergate Complex are less than 10 minutes by foot and Foggy Bottom Metro stop is equally easy to get to. And the proximity to Georgetown and the waterfront are great.

More importantly this is a small hotel with personalized service. The rooms are ample and well maintained. It's not ultra-modern...it's home away from home. I've stayed here many times over the last few years and each stay has been great.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello AnnaLSF!

Thank you so much for making the River Inn your home away from home. We truly appreciate you always choosing to stay with us and we are honored to have earned your recommendation. Our entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. Thanks again for always choosing the River Inn and for taking the time for posting this wonderful review. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Great little hotel. Clean, tidy and well located. Staff excellent and went out of their way to be helpful and flexible. Would definitely recommend. Handy for central Washington and very close to Metro station.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank breninkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello breninkenya!

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this superb review! We are so happy to have earned your recommendation and our entire team truly appreciates your kind words, it really means the world to us. We will all be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you for choosing the River Inn during your time in Washington DC and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to stay if you want a quiet place on a not very busy street that’s convenient to most everything. It’s several blocks to a bike share station and Trader Joe’s, 3 blocks to Whole Foods.

The rooms are comfortable. The king Potomac suite was spacious with a great view. The restaurant serves excellent food. The staff was extremely professional and caring.

I would return here in a minute.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank bluewaterstjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello bluewaterstjohn!

Thank you so much for choosing the River Inn during your time in our Nation's Capital. We are so happy to know that we have earned your recommendation and our entire team will be looking forward to your next visit. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post this wonderful review and are thrilled to know you had such a great experience during your time with us. Thanks again for choosing the River Inn and have a fantastic summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. The room was nice and the bed very comfortable. Front desk staff was very friendly. Avoid Dish restaurant like you would Ebola. The staff is unpleasant and stupid. Orders not filled properly. A very bad experience in a nice hotel.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal G, Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hello Philip S!

Thank you so much for choosing the River Inn during your time in Washington DC. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we appreciate your kind words regarding our front desk staff, it really means the world to us. Our team will be looking forward to your next visit and having another opportunity to exceed all of your expectations. Thanks again for choosing the River Inn and have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews