We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #30 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I chose this hotel because of its high rating on TripAdvisor. The rating is deserved; the hotel is cool, friendly and well- run. The only issues I found were (1) it was a little noisy outside my room (the hallway, not the street) and (2) my new car came back from valet with a small dent on the door. Other than that, the stay at the hotel was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MignonWinston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear MignonWinston,

We are thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time. Thank you so much for the shout out! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,704
    1,059
    289
    106
    41
See reviews for
913
1,576
271
978
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

Having stayed at other Dupont Circle locations previously, we were anxious to try out the Palomar. Location can't be beat as the hotel is a few blocks from the Dupont Metro station with a Starbucks in the same block and a Le Pain Quotidien in the next block-both convenient for breakfast. The hotel lobby is lovely and well-appointed with seating around a fireplace. However, the nightly wine tasting can become extremely crowded/noisy with standing-room only space. Both the white and red wine offerings were of acceptable quality. Our standard room was clean and comfortable but of European size. Room 1011 is positioned in a quiet small hall with room size rather small. There was no comfortable seating, just a desk chair. Night table on one side of the king bed, with honor bar on opposite side of bed. Desk/chair, dresser topped by flat panel TV at foot of bed. Closet beside bed provided the needed storage. We found the bath to be efficient, except there is no fan. Aveda toiletries are a plus. As In Touch members, we had Wifi in the room and a $10 complimentary purchase from the honor bar. In comparison to other Dupont Circle hotels, the Palomar room was the smallest, but other qualities would take us back, especially if rates are comparable.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShowMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear ShowMe,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. Dupont Circle is really a fun a neighborhood. So happy you enjoyed it. Next time you are back in town let me know. I would love to say hello and thank you in person.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Hotel kindly upgraded our room for our trip! The room was HUGE including a Jacuzzi bath and exercise bike in the room. The hotel is also Pet friendly, which makes it a real family friendly hotel. However, the hotel is not over run with pets and children and is definitely a good hotel for anyone looking for a good hotel. Staff is really helpful and the hot chocolate / wine hour in the early evening caters for everyone to relax after a very long day of sight-seeing. This is a wonderful hotel to stay in in Washington, highly recommended.

Room Tip: For us the motion spa room was a great treat! Didn't have to go up to the fitness room to use an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huskysaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Huskysaffa,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for recommending us to the world travelers. We greatly appreciate it.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I enjoyed our stay at the Palomar Hotel very much. The Aveda products in the bathroom was very nice, and the funky animal robes where really fun. Our room had big windows, but I would definitely keep them drawn. The concierge was great in helping us find a nice place for dinner that was close and good, as it was pouring out. The only disappointment was the shower head. It was a bit dribbly without a lot of water pressure, but in the big picture this wasn't a big deal. We didn't have coffee in the room, but I later found out I could of asked for it if we wanted. The coffee in the lobby in the morning was nice, but not very good quality. The wine hour from 5-6 was very nice. It would have been great if you could have ordered a coffee or drink while sitting in the lobby anytime.

Room Tip: As for a corner room, as they are usually a bit bigger. I would also sign up at Klimpton Hotels, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Totentanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Totentanz,

Thank you so much for your feedback and your kind remarks about the concierge service. I will share your review with the staff. I am sorry about the coffee and the water pressure. If you are ever back in town please let me know. I will make sure a coffee maker is placed in the room prior to your arrival and your stay remains flawless. Thank you for your business Totentanz.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I booked through visa world points and paid about $100 more than the direct rate for 2 nights. There are minimal amenities. No hair dryer, no sauna, an expensive charge to use the internet and their computer. Half the time I had to open the heavy glass lobby door the attendant was usually occupied or stood yards from the door, no indoor swimming pool. Dupont circle is a very nice area and 2 stops from union station. The room was too small for the king size bed could not open closets nor draws and pass through and faced an alley. Shortage of dress hangers. There were so many bolsters on the king bed that it cluttered an already small room. There was no seated uphostered chair. The lobby was nice. The continental breakfast was ok but the use of non ceramic fruit bowl was unsanitary. The walls are so thin that you hear self closing room doors and every loud noise from the adjoining rooms.Thank god the guests are not rowdy and are in bed by midnight. The guest are mostly business conventions and are mismatched for a single pleasure trip traveler like me. The lobby concierge were constantly misinformed and had low communication skills i.e. museum tickets, how to get to the museums, weather forecasts.I would ask is what is the weather tomorrow? She would say 54 when in fact it would be cool and rainy. When I checked in a female concierge did not communicate that she had called the baggage handler, and failing to tell me that I should wait by the desk. . As a result I searched for the bags causing alot of anxiety. The manager tries to befriend you when you get frustrated but takes time away. Most guests are very cold and all business.Hotel has very few queen size or double beds for singles. The restaurant is overpriced for the portion and is overstaffed to the point of annoyance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelmanager_9, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Smartmaddy,

Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback. We take honest comments from people like you very seriously. It pains us to hear the not-so good stuff, but it helps us improve. Please let me know when you are back in town. I will make sure your stay is flawless from start to finish. We will not fail you twice.

Best Wishes,
Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,482 - ₹ 35,144
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Expedia so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing