We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This is a pretty good hotel that gets all of the basics right, but falls down on a lot of details. It manages to never be so bad in any area that it's a huge problem, but there is a lot of room for improvement.

I stayed here for a week with my wife and five year old. We stayed in a 1BR suite. The location of this hotel is very good although as DC tourists this trip we would have been better off with a hotel closer to the Mall--but it was nicely close to the Metro station.

Our room, a suite, was pretty decent. Again, not the smallest we've seen nor the largest. The bathroom and the overall furnishings were in this category as well. The room was always pretty quiet and everything worked fine.

The room service menu is very limited and what is there is not very good. They had only two flavors of ice cream, for instance, both inedible for my five year old. The entrees also were mediocre-bordering-on-bad. We only ordered room service for dinner once because of this.

We ordered the "express breakfast" service several times--because we were often in a hurry and needed to be quick. Here again the food was "okay" but nothing special. I also had to call for the "card" EVERY SINGLE TIME (you'd think they'd get sick of me calling every day).

Speaking of calling every day, our minibar was fully-stocked exactly three times during our seven day stay even though we used it all seven days. This was especially bad since the tap water was not drinkable as it smelled like pool water--so we had to rely on the minibar water which always required another special call to the front desk to deal with. Again, they always managed to deal with the situation, but it was annoying that I had to call all of the time.

Speaking of pool water, this hotel does not seem to have a pool even though it was advertised as having one. No spa, either. This was something I missed after longs days of touring.

Other annoying little things include the Internet service: never very fast, and sometimes it would slow to a crawl.

Overall I'd put this hotel on the low-end of four star, but it makes up for lack of overall luxury and detail by getting the basics right and the staff being quick to undo the constant annoyances.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyXTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Dear JacobJohnson. Thank you for posting comments about your recent visit to The Hotel Palomar. I sincerely apologize that you did not experience the 5 star service and product that we are known for. We pride ourselves in creating a “home away from home” for guests who stay for an extended period and I regret that we did not live up to your expectations. I will certainly look into each point that you detailed in your review so that we can continue to improve. I sincerely thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,824
    1,103
    303
    116
    46
See reviews for
965
1,624
283
1,040
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I've stayed at the Palomar on three different occasions when I was in DC on business. I have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the rooms tastefully decorated and comfortable. The last time I was there I had one of the best nights of sleep I've had in months - that's how comfortable the beds are. I definitely recommend the Palomar Hotel for a trip to Washington, DC.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear docboar: We are so pleased to be your #1 choice while traveling on business to DC and appreciate your loyalty and recognition of our comfortable beds and friendly service. We look forward to being your “home away from home” for many visits to come. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Chose this hotel by reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, as it was the second ranked business hotel in DC., and I am familiar with Kimpton Hotels level of quality.

We were offered many free "extras" by joining the InTouch rewards program offered by Kimpton, and my AAA rate got us a decent discount. I was counting down the days until we were going to arrive.

Upon arrival, the hotel staff told us that we had been upgraded (for a small fee that I agreed to), but our room wouldn't be ready for another 30 mins. However, she offered us each complimentary drinks from the bar, and free late checkout. Already, we were pleased.

The King Spa room was amazing. Huge in size, very clean, and included everything you could think of. The Fuji soak tub for two was definitely the highlight of the room.

Our only complaint was that it was such a short trip. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: choose to upgrade for a small fee
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Charles C, Thank you for the wonderful review about your visit to the Hotel Palomar, DC. I am so pleased to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one, and agree that our staff go out of their way to make our guests feel welcome and at home. Thank you again and we hope you have more time to visit our great city during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were delighted by the little touches the Palomar added to our stay. The wine reception at 5p.m. greeted us upon our arrival...how nice to host for guests each evening. Our room was on the small side but as expected. The room was spotless and modern. Comfy robes and bed...very nice after a day of walking the city. The Breakfast for $1.00 deal we booked online was quite a savings. Our continental breakfast was served to us by the waitstaff...no waiting on line to make your own bagel. Loved the attention to service by the whole restaurant staff. I would recommend this hotel highly. Oh, and the location a few blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro stop can't be beat!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Yaques, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We’re proud of our outstanding service, clean and stylish rooms, and great location. I am pleased that you noticed and enjoyed the small touches and details that make our guests feel at home and keep coming back to the Palomar DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Hotel Palomar has a trendy, urban vibe with music and bright colors infusing the lobby. The staff, from valet and doorman, to reception and check-in, is welcoming and friendly. There’s hustle and bustle in the lobby, with many kids (and pets!) part of the traffic, so not a stuffy hotel! The rooms are generous and modern. The surrounding neighborhood has a variety of architectural styled residences, so it’s beautiful to walk through—on the way to Embassy Row nearby, Georgetown (15 minutes) or the Mall area (25 minutes to the Lincoln Monument). Restaurants and cafes abound in the vicinity as well. For the friendly service, good value and beautiful location, I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPalomar, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear JLS85, Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We’re really proud of the warm and inviting atmosphere we create here at the Palomar, DC and love that you noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,121 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,650 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,253 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,163 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC

Property: Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Address: 2121 P Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,340 - ₹ 30,636
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless sophistication meets contemporary style at the Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC. This luxury boutique hotel provides flawless service and exquisite amenities in engagingly innovative surroundings. Located within Washington's historic Dupont Circle, this Kimpton Hotel and its lively Urbana restaurant are a short walk to Georgetown and the city's largest concentration of private art galleries, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing