We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #73 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband & I stayed here for 8 nights at the end of June 2012 and had a wonderful stay. From the moment we stepped on to the property -- we were treated as valued guests ....I've never seen service like theirs and it was a pleasure.
A special thank you to Schpat (one of the doormen) and Urselle (housekeeping) and Norbert (CS Mgr) -- they went above and beyond making us feel welcomed.
The room was wonderful and comfy ...we only have one complaint -- the Wireless internet was a royal pain and after a while we just gave up and took our devices to the lobby. They are addressing this issue and I am sure they will get it resolved.
The trip was a birthday gift for us both and they had two wonderfully decorated cupcakes and a bottle of champagne waiting for us the first evening we got back which was very much appreciated.
The turn down service was nice and the complimentary beverage in the morning was a great way to start our day. (Sign up for the Preferred Guest program --it's well worth the time)
All of our requests were cheerfully handled and we will not hesitate to come back (although maybe not while they are having a heat way!!).
The location was perfect for getting around -- the Metro is just a short walk away.
Lots of really nice little places to eat in the area as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for allowing us to share your birthday celebration. We are thrilled that Schpat, Urselle, and Norbert helped to make it a special occasion for you. It would be our good fortune to have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,551 - 5,555 of 7,057 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Check in was very smooth by a very nice chap. We had booked a suite, which was huge. It was our anniversary celebration and on the first night we had a plate of chocolate dipped strawberries and champagne delivered to our room. The next evening we had a plate of cheese/fruit and biscuits sent along with sparkling water, such kind and thoughtful gestures! Thank You! My daughter had milk and cookies sent to the room too on our first night. We are part of the Omni Select programme and had chosen free morning beverages to be delivered at 7.15am, but we were so jet lagged that they kindly bought them to our room at 6am when I called to ask.

The service in this hotel is outstanding. The pool and grounds were gorgeous and our suite was huge and so well maintained. After a day sightseeing, it was lovely to return for a swim and relax in the hammocks.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGMANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for including us as part of your anniversary holiday. We enjoyed making it a memorable celebration and hope for a future opportunity to have you as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed here during our sightseeing Washington DC tour this past week and loved this hotel! Although it was large, it still had a small hotel feel. The service was outstanding! The rooms were comfortable and we absolutely loved the REAL throw on the beds. Plenty of soft towels and real throw rugs in the bathrooms. The bathrooms are small but big enough. Be sure to ask for a room where the bath has a counter top. Our first room did not have one and we had little space to store our toiletries. The elevators are smal but they come fast enough., We did not have long waits. I had read olf complaints about the valet service but we had excellent service. Our car was ready when we asked for them and the personnel was very courteous. The only negative would be the concierges. I really thought they were a bit snooty and acted as though they were above some of the questions. We did have problems with wireless but switched rooms and had no further problems. They get an A plus for the breakfast buffet though. If you can get a package that includes the breakfast everyday, it is well worth it. IT WAS AWESOME! The omelet lady was the best I've seen and I have been everywhere. The salsa for the omelets was the best I've tasted. It was just great! Would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with odd number for a better view. We were disappointed with out view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pittword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Omni Shoreham. We are glad that everything about your stay, especially your breakfast was awesome. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Got a great deal on this hotel, as most of the others in our price range were getting awful reviews.
Lovely hotel - our room was located in a quiet area with nice views over Rock Creek Park, large bed and spacious room, large tv and clean bathroom with good supply of toiletries. Cleanliness kept at a good level and room well maintained during our stay.
Would recommend you visit the website and sign up to the Select Guest programme before your stay. This is free, and by giving your email address you qualify for free wifi, a daily newspaper and a free drink delivered to your room every morning. Also you can qualify for free nights if staying for 10 nights plus within a year.
In our room was a coupon for 20% off in the restaurant but we did not visit. Lots of nice places to eat within walking distance. Also easy walk to the National Zoo (free and well worth a visit) and just a few minutes from the Metro station.
Would love to stay in this hotel again when we next visit DC, but will have to keep an eye out for another great offer, as usually would be out of our price range!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fragglesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We appreciate your kind review of the Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed walking to many of the nearby sites and restaurants. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed here during a meeting in DC for four nights. This is an historic hotel, built in 1930. It has the charm and character of an old hotel, but the room I stayed in was still spacious, light, and comfortable (an issue in some older hotels), with a recently renovated bathroom. The building feels well cared for- so well cared for that it was hard to believe it was really built 80 years ago. The staff were excellent- everyone I interacted with was courteous, helpful, and knowledgeable. By joining the loyalty program, you receive free internet service and free morning coffee or tea delivered to your room at your desired time, which were nice perks. The outstanding service and quality of the hotel at a reasonable price make the value substantially better than most DC hotels. The location is in Adams-Morgan.While the location is less central than some hotels, there is a Metro stop a block away (Red line), taxis can get you into much of central DC in under 10 minutes, and Rock Creek Parkway, with walking/running/biking paths is just below the hotel- I really liked being able to run along the parkway. Plus Adams Morgan has a lot happening. The pool was also excellent- if crowded. I've stayed in a lot of DC hotels, and this will be one of the hotels at the top of my list to return to whenever the location works.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We are delighted to be among your top hotels in DC. It was a pleasure for us to read about your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#106 of 142 in Washington DC
2,594 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 142 in Washington DC
3,255 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 142 in Washington DC
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 5,536 - ₹ 30,544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing