We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Responsive hotel staff, obnoxious CPAC guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Last weekend I stayed at the Omni Shoreham for a professional meeting associated with some work funded by a federal grant. Arriving to my hotel at 11 p.m. I expected to have a short but good nights sleep before my early morning meetings began. Instead I listened to a drunk party of young "interns" in DC for the meeting of the Conservative Political Action Committee (C-PAC) who partied between 4 rooms and the hallway until I called house security at 3 a.m. When I returned to my hotel the next evening again at 11 p.m. the CPAC people were just starting their hotel hallway party for the second night. The Omni staff were very responsive and immediately offered to move us to a room where they did not think there had been parties the night before. We heard that several of the floors had been "overtaken" by CPAC parties, with people shouting, slamming doors, and drinking through the night. There were many tired people at my meetings both days because of this disturbance. The hotel might have considered canceling their reservation and asking them to find another hotel, but I do appreciate their responsiveness. I feel sorry for the other guests that didn't ask to be moved.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor on the north side, where the street noise and arrival and departure of guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and our staff but we do apologize for the disruption from some of our guests. Based on comments such as yours we are already in discussions on how to handle things differently next year including additional security and restrictions. Thank you for your patience and understanding and we hope to have you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,848 - 5,852 of 7,189 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

I stayed one night in Feb for work, and this hotel blew so many others out of the water! The lobby is gorgeous and large; so many places to sit and relax with friends or colleagues. The restaurant is beautiful and service was good. Concierge and front desk staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a real historic feel to it, but it is so large and well-lit, it just feels like a "castle". The room was great: quiet and large, big closet and classic decor. My only negatives are: no coffee/tea maker in the room (but I don't drink coffee, so I didn't care) and the bathroom window was drafty. It was closed, but a draft was coming through somewhere so the bathroom was freezing cold (Feb night air). I just closed the door to the bathroom and the bedroom stayed warm all night. I can't say anything about the comfort of the bed; I'm pregnant so no bed is comfortable for me right now! There's also LOTS of great restaurants on the next block over, in a range of prices for all budgets. I will totally stay here again!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARG608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your complimentary review of The Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

If you are looking for a Morgans Group hotel or W style hotel, this is not it. Its an older hotel which is beautifully decorated inside and the rooms are HUGE! The staff was excellent! We only wished we had stayed more than one nite! The parking is ridiculously priced but I think that is a general DC hotel deal so you cant get away from that. Its right near a cute park that you can drive through...sorry cant remember the name off hand. There is an AMAZING diner / restaurant across the street. We loved the entire experience! Oh one more thing, you really need a car to get around the area from the hotel. That is its only downfall!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michygal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your night at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. If you return, we'd be happy to help you with ways to explore the city without a car. The metro is just steps from the hotel and there is a trolley stop right outside our entrance. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you will be our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

but it does have a spectacular, opulent lobby. Too bad the rooms aren't in the same league. My room was on the small side, and was in need of renovation to bring it out of the 60's.

My wife and I always brew our own french press coffee in our rooms. This hotel could/would not provide her with an electric kettle, so I brought our travel kettle from home.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so I can't say anything about that experience. Also it seemed to be a long cab ride from anywhere we went.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyVancouverCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for your remarks regarding your recent stay at The Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are disappointed to read that you weren't impressed with your recent experience but appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope for a future opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I always stay at the Omni every January when I visit DC for the TRB Annual Meeting. This hotel is much much nicer than the Marriott Wardman Park or the Hilton. The rooms are significantly bigger and much more comfortable. Most rooms have a real nice sitting/work area with a second TV. Being a preferred member, we get free coffee/tea/juice, morning paper and free internet (cant complain at all!). The staff are very polite and helpful. The hotel has a really nice pool and gym. Highly recommend this hotel when travelling for a conference.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Thank you for your recommendation of The Omni Shoreham and for choosing us as your home base each year during TRB. It has been our pleasure to host you and your group over the years and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
2,630 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,321 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 6,636 - ₹ 23,517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. Enjoy a cocktail and light fares by the pool from our seasonal Splash! Bar (open Memorial Day Weekend until the week following Labor Day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing