We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Price, Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomsbury, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Price, Great time”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I was looking for a nice hotel in DC and came upon the Morrison Clark. I was a little concerned about staying in the city, but after calling and talking to Joe, he made me feel comfortable. We got a great deal for the room rate on travelocity. The hotel is lovely and much like a bed and breakfast. Joe really went out of his way to make sure that we were well taken care of and I could not be happier. I loved the fact that the hotel was filled with antiques and prints of historical events. The staff was so helpful in helping us find our way around the city. The room was great and bathroom very roomy. We also had a nice new tv and it was on the mini bar across from the bed. This was a wonderful experience and I would love to go back there again, especially if Joe is still there. I

Room Tip: You do have to pay extra for your car but the staff really goes out of there way to help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    243
    75
    43
    33
See reviews for
74
277
63
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We live in Northern Virginia, and were just taking a one-nite getaway close to home. This hotel was charming, more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. It is an historic property, and the furnishings either are antiques or look like them, but the bathroom was modern. There was wifi access, too. It is located near the DC Convention Center, so it is close to just about everything. We loved it, and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for something different than a chain hotel. We got a great deal, too, on hotels.com.

Room Tip: rooms on courtyard are nice and quiet. We were on 2nd floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovesailtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We were looking for a more "local inn" experience for our first anniversary weekend in DC, and were so pleased with the quality and service at the Morrison-Clark. The hotel is furnished with antiques that appear very well cared-for, which gives it a charming look and feel. The lobby area is small and features a restaurant, sunroom, and of course the front desk. Some guest rooms are interior, while others open onto an interior courtyard. We had a courtyard room and loved it! Opening the room door every morning to the sound of the splashing fountain was refreshing and felt pleasantly old-timey. We were lucky that a wedding took place in the courtyard during our stay, so we got to sneak peeks at the family decorating the space, laughing and generally having a good time. It was sweet and reminded us of our own wedding a year earlier. Like the lobby, the room featured antiques. The bed was ridiculously comfortable - one of the best hotel beds I have slept in, but then we are generally backpackers and might not be used to such novelties as comforters :) We decided to order room service breakfast one day, which neither of us had ever done before in our entire lives, but hey, it was a special occasion. Breakfast was hot, hearty, and tasted great. The bathroom was clean and spacious for a regular hotel room, and included amenities from Bath & Body Works. The hotel was also an easy walk from several restaurants and a pub, most of which we visited. We went nuts :) Be prepared to walk a bit further if you would like to visit the Smithsonian museums/National Mall. We walked everywhere, and it was a great workout at a leisurely pace - but if you are in a hurry or have kids/older folks/someone with limited mobility with you, you will need a cab.

This was a wonderful experience for us and we wish we could have stayed longer. We were married in DC, so I'm sure we will spend other anniversaries there. When we do, the Morrison-Clark will be our hotel.

Room Tip: If you have an interior/courtyard perference, be certain to make that known. We were randomly assig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mundaetraversa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Its nice to stay in a hotel with a bit of history but older hotels can have drawbacks too, and travellers with mobility problems should note that there are steps up to the lift from reception, and steps up to the hotel itself (although staff can make arrangements for you to enter via the garage).

I got a really good price from one of the booking websites. There was a slight hiccup when it seemed that my booking had been incorrectly made, but staff quickly corrected the error. The staff, by the way, are really helpful. Many thanks to Joseph in particular.

For the rooms, I don't know what it is about hotels these days but there is never enough light! It can make the room a bit gloomy for working, although it is fine for just hanging out.

Location-wise, there are no shops and restaurants absolutely next door, but most of what you need is within a few blocks. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from Mount Vernon metro, so would be ideally placed for conferences there.

For the restaurant, the food was good - perhaps a little overpriced by the time you add everything up (breakfast was not included for my booking). As a non-American, I can never quite understand how for room service you pay $3 delivery fee in addition to 20% service charge - I would have thought the service WAS the delivery??? But anyway, the US tipping culture takes a bit of getting used to :-)

In all, most of these are minor quibbles. Overall, its a friendly hotel, great value for money, and I would certainly return again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank senti2comun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights as a couple in a room on the 2nd floor.

Pros:
One of the front desk staff was helpful
Comfortable bed
Good location
Very nice building

Cons:
Our booking was not recognized as a B&B package which caused problems including a waitress chasing us down the corridor
At check in we were given no basic hotel information
Food is very overpriced for quality
If you have a B&B package you are very limited as to what you can have for breakfast
Lighting in the rooms is awful and in the bathroom downright dangerous
Housekeeping service was bad, knocking on rooms at 8am one day and not having cleaned by 4pm the next. Also sheets did not fit the bed and the pillows were lumpy.
Hotel was ridiculously hot and in room air con did not work properly and was too loud to use
Very small and poorly laid out room

In general I much prefer to leave good reviews but was so disappointed by our stay here that I couldn't find enough good to give more than 2 stars.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mptopham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisonClark, Director of Sales at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to for ways to improve our services and we appreciate your comments.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the building history as well as our comfortable beds. However I do apologize for the inconvenience you were caused by the confusion in your booking and the B&B package. We have discussed this with front desk as well as the restaurant to make sure that all packages are coded correctly in the future. The B&B package includes the All American Breakfast which includes eggs, bacon, home fries, toast, coffee and juice. This is listed on the package information when you make your reservation. We do offer other items on the menu that are not part of the B&B package but can be purchased separately.
I also want to apologize for the disturbance by housekeeping. Housekeeping usually does not start cleaning rooms until 8:30 am and completes their shift by 4:30 pm. We will make sure to discuss this issue, but please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your stay.

Sincerely,
Neda Lewis
Director of Sales and Marketing
nlewis@rbpropertiesinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Henley Park Hotel
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
780 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
1,656 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant

Property: Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Address: 1011 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,226 - ₹ 25,641
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from top Washington, DC attractions, the Morrison Clark Historic Inn and Restaurant is an iconic landmark that captures the true essence of the nation's capital. This beautiful Victorian-era mansion features well-appointed accommodations, complimentary Wi-Fi and valet parking. Dine on inspired American cuisine at our luxurious hotel restaurant. From historic charm to modern comforts, this extraordinary property sets a new luxury standard for Washington, DC boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison-Clark Historic Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Morrison Clark Historic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing