We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great stay. Great location. Its an older hotel, but has been upkept and the staff is very attentive. Stayed there 20 years ago, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyesq2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    761
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
436
766
153
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ct
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were very pleased to see how close this sedate historic hotel is to GW campus. This is a reasonably priced, old fashioned hotel, nicely updated but traditional. Compared to other DC hotels, the rates were extremely reasonable and the rooms are large, with mini kitchens. We were delighted with our oversized 9th floor suite, with views from the living room, the bedroom quietly set in the back, kitchen and hallway -- all for less money than a small double at other nearby hotels. A great spacious choice for families. I requested and was given a high floor, which is quieter (Pennsylvania avenue is directly below and noisy if you are in the front - -other quiet choices means no view) Founding Farmers restaurant is across the street -- well liked and fun farm to table, you must reserve for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feed back. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Hotel Lombardy exceeded our expectations -- our suite was well appointed, cozy and comfortable. The location is excellent but because it's in the financial district, many nearby restaurants are closed on weekends. The restaurant is pricey for breakfast but the food is excellent and well presented, and it's the best choice in the immediate area. There are some nearby nightclubs that are rather loud at night -- the downside of being in the heart of a major city -- but the front desk staff assured us the music would stop at midnight, and it did.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor is recommended due to city noise. The suites are large, with ample living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks for the great response. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We recently spent 5 days at the Hotel Lombardy. My daughter and I were in Washington DC to celebrate our birthdays and chose the Lombardy because of its historical qualities. We loved our large room and the friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is situated close to two Metro stations so getting around Washington and the surrounding areas was very easy. It was a trip we both enjoyed and the location of the hotel was a big plus!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thanks, Ms Paula B.! We appreciate you giving us feedback on your stay here at the Hotel Lombardy. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your time spent in Washington, DC. We hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netcong, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

So I booked this hotel through a travel agent and was looking for something close to all of the touristy sites in Washington DC. If you like walking, it's great but at least a 20 minute brisk walk to any of the memorials, museums, etc. The Hotel is CLEAN. Our room was quiet. The bathroom was clean but had some mildew around the tub. I'm surprised they let this happen as the rest of the place is spotless. This place is like a hundred years old but has been remodeled. I might add that the one elevator was the smallest one I've ever been on. The bellmen and front desk staff were knowledgeable and friendly. One thing you need to consider is that if you drive, they whack you $43.00 extra for parking, EVERY night you are there. There is NO WHERE else to park in the area overnight so you have to pay this ridiculous fee. I was promised from someone when I called the hotel ahead of time that there was free parking somewhere behind the hotel. This is NOT TRUE. I told the person at the front desk but they told me that there was NO free parking. I WAS NOT happy to say the least. Even though the walks were longer than I would have liked to the tourist areas and the HUGE parking fee, the hotel was nice and quiet, even though someone lied to me at the hotel about the free parking. Sorry, not for me. I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleItalyNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your feed back. We value your opinions and take your comments very seriously, we take pride in providing all of our guest with the highest level of customer service. We apologize for any miscommunication you may have received regarding parking. If by chance you are ever in the DC area again and wish to give us another try please contact me personally to arrange your accommodations.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,728 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,686 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
746 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,204 - ₹ 24,292
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing