We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun boutique hotel with great service but a bit far from the subway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
Ranked #42 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This a fun boutique hotel with a modern vibe- the staff is helpful courteous and very eager to please. The rooms are small but clean and modern. A wonderful hotel experience. It is well located (near Logan Circle) but a fifteen minute walk to the nearest subway. Not a problem if you take lyft or uber.

Room Tip: Elevator squeaks so ask to be far away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rozmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Fun and great service, just how we want you to feel! Thank you very much for your review. We cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

Kindest regards,
Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I had a great stay. We are around 5pm on a Friday and our check in was painless. The valet was a little clunky because of the location and traffic but the doormen were very efficient and did a good job. After check-in we enjoy a glass of wine during the complementary wine hour before heading up to our room. Once entering our room our luggage was there waiting for us and the staff surprised us with a special gift for our honeymoon . The room was everything we expect and was as beautiful as advertised. The decor was cozy and elegant.

We ventured down to the Radiator restaurant/bar for happy and dinner. It had a speak easy kind of feel. The atmosphere was great, the bartenders were friendly and attentive. Their happy hour menu was great and the price were outstanding for being located in DC. The food was top notch and I can say that was the best burger I have ever had. The wife and I found ourselves losing track of time while enjoying ourselves relaxing at the bar.

We will definitely be back in the summer to enjoy the rooftop pool and bar which was closed because of the time of the season we visited.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joseph t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Joseph,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for this glowing review :) We are so happy you and your wife had such a wonderful time on your honeymoon with us. You should totally make it an annual thing and come back every year! We look forward to having you again.

Best wishes,
Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Mason & Rook Hotel made a few mistakes while I was a guest there. I'm forgiving of the problems, however, because (1) it's an attractive and well-maintained property--and I liked my room, (2) it's a great location, (3) the staff treated me very well; they're friendly and caring people, and (4) the place just has a good vibe.

I'm going to stay there again when I'm back in DC . . . and you'd likely be happy there too!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for the 5 stars :) while your stay wasn't perfect I am happy we were able to overcome that with the service we provided. I hope next time your stay will be flawless. We look forward to having you again!

Sincerely,
Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Super friendly staff, and a special thanks to the house keeping staff who took very good care of me when I fell ill...

Comfy rooms, huge tv, very nice rooftop terrace... Too bad the pool was closed, but it just meens I have to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Per V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for sharing the love of our staff :) especially housekeeping, they work so hard and definitely get the least recognition, I will share this with the whole team to celebrate a job well done. We hope your future travels brings you back to us soon!

Best wishes,
Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Mason and Rook is a wonderful hotel in the best part of DC - right off of 14th street, you are seconds away from incredible restaurants, bars, coffee shops, and shopping. The Radiator, their first floor bar and restaurant has a great bartender and the rooftop bar has great views of DC and fun drinks! The room itself was huge, had fun decor, and nice bathroom products. We did a "stay-cation" here on NYE and were thrilled with the overall experience.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serendipity789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Serendipity789, this is such a nice review. I'm so honored that we have left such an impression on you even after all this time. I suggest another stay real soon :) thank you for staying with us.

All my best,
Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,741 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,288 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,191 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401 (Formerly Helix Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 9,677 - ₹ 26,468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of D.C.'s dynamic 14th Street neighborhood, Kimpton Mason & Rook, is the city's newest locale for work and play and serves as a perfect starting point to enjoy the District's most popular bars, restaurants and boutiques. The hotel features 178 rooms - some of the largest in the city - including 18 luxurious suites which effortlessly exude the sophistication of a stylish retreat. Adjacent to the hotel is Radiator, a culinary-focused cocktail bar featuring contemporary American small plates with global influences imagined by Executive Chef Jonathan Dearden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing