We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I chose the Mason and Rook Hotel for my first anniversary after visiting several properties in the Dupont are. I love the Kimpton hotel group and have always had good experiences with them. Mason and Rook had exactly the feel that I wanted for our anniversary. It's very sexy and modern (it's one of the newer hotels in the area) and it had a very boutique feel to it. The amenities are also impressive. The rooftop bar is very cool and the hotel loans bikes out to guests to tool around the city. And its location is fantastic. Walking distance to tons of restaurants and bars, yet still on a very quiet tree-lined street. Overall it has a very chic, sexy feel to it.
But that isn't what impressed me most. The manager totally saved my hide. I had booked the hotel and forgotten to double check the date. I know, I'm an idiot. So the night before our reservation (or so I thought) I called to check the reservation and the secret champagne package I ordered to surprise my spouse. They couldn't find a reservation for me for the following day, so I pulled up my confirmation email and to my horror realized that I had booked the hotel for that very night. Huge mistake. It was already 8pm. My heart sank. I'd ruined my first wedding anniversary. I asked if there was any way that I could move the reservation to the next day, and the woman I was speaking to in reservations apologized and stated that since it was a pre-paid non-refundable booking, my only option would be to appeal to the hotel manager, or lose the reservation. She patched me through to the manager who without any hesitation changed my booking to the next day. My anniversary was saved thanks to this wonderful woman.
The stay was perfect. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. The secret champagne package was incredible and a huge hit. We absolutely loved this hotel.
My only advice would be to always book through the hotel's website. I think a big reason why they were so wonderful is because I am a Karma Rewards member and I always book through the hotel itself and not third-party websites.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I'm fairly sure that all of the rooms are good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Wow, thanks for the love! Don't beat yourself up about a little booking snafu. It happens to the best of us. Glad we were able to help you get it sorted out. Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Found this hotel last minute because of issues accommodation issues at another hotel in DC and was extremely happy that I did! friendly staff and very clean rooms! Although I did not have my pets with me, I was delighted to find out that this establishment is pet-friendly! will definitely book here again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank csimm0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. Looking forward to your return with the pooches. We can't wait to meet them. See you soon!

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We found Kimpton 's Mason & Rook to be an exceptional hotel. Kimpton always delivers quality, but they out did themselves here. It is a hip, beautiful place with a great staff and comfortable rooms. We loved our suite!

Room Tip: Higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Oh wow. That's high praise. Thank you so much! Stop by and see us the next time your travels bring you back to DC.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

After spending 3 days in Reston for a professional meeting, decided to go to DC for 2 more days. I reserved at the Mason & Rook because of its good review in the internet. The hotel is very well located in downtown DC, one block away from series of good restaurants. The rooms are excellent, clean and spacious, with a 65" TV. Would defenitly recommend it for short break out in the city.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Talal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to share some feedback. Nothing beats carving out a little time for a weekend in Logan Circle. The TVs are by far my favorite feature of the rooms. They're pretty awesome!

Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Just off 16th Avenue, this boutique hotel offers all you need for either a business or leisure trip. I loved the rooms, the staff, the breakfast, the rooftop pool and rooftop bar with its views and the cocktail hour. I didn't like the fact I couldn't vape on the rooftop and, despite it being 88 degrees, the pool was closed...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Lambo-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thanks for sharing a little love! We appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,787 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,236 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401 (Formerly Helix Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 12,895 - ₹ 29,787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of D.C.'s dynamic 14th Street neighborhood, Kimpton Mason & Rook, is the city's newest locale for work and play and serves as a perfect starting point to enjoy the District's most popular bars, restaurants and boutiques. The hotel features 178 rooms - some of the largest in the city - including 18 luxurious suites which effortlessly exude the sophistication of a stylish retreat. Adjacent to the hotel is Radiator, a culinary-focused cocktail bar featuring contemporary American small plates with global influences imagined by Executive Chef Jonathan Dearden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing