We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels I've had the pleasure of staying at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 May 2017

From entering the hotel, every staff member was polite and welcoming. We checked in quickly and the room exceeded our expectations. We honestly couldn't find a fault with the room, we were provided high quality toiletries, comfortable bed, massive television and the list goes on.

After exploring Washington and briskly walking 15 minutes back to the hotel, we were delighted to find out that they were offering a free wine hour in the hotel lobby. This was simply delightful; good quality wine, delicious snacks and freshly flavored water for the non-drinkers, all because we were guests at this lovely hotel!

After meeting friends for dinner locally, we decided to sit in the main bar for drinks. The same exceptional customer service was received in the bar. We later had a very comfortable sleep and were devastated we had to leave.

Next time we visit Washington, we will most definitely be returning to this superb hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAM1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you so much! You squeezed in the room, the neighborhood, Social Hour, and Radiator all into one experience. That's the full deal and we love hearing about it! Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2017

I was very impressed with the new Mason & Rook Hotel. The rooms are over-sized and spacious. Great attention to detail, and very nice decor. Loved the spacious bathroom and shower. You can't beat the location, especially with all the new restaurants 14th Street. If you've stayed here when it was Hotel Helix, then you are in for a treat. Kimpton did a great job upgrading this property, and the staff was just as nice.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks so much for the fantastic feedback! I love it when our guests get a chance to take in some of the neighborhood charm. I always say 14th street can't be beat! Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We enjoyed our recent stay. Staff was very attentive. The hotel has been renovated so our room was impressive, especially the bathroom. We enjoyed the daily wine hour at 5:00 pm. Great way to relax before going out to dinner. Be sure to check our the roof top pool. Great views! Lots of restaurants in the area that you can walk to. Also a Whole Foods a block away.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LakeWashburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks so much for this fantastic review! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and even carved out some time to check out the neighborhood a bit. Pool season officially kicks off Memorial Day Weekend. Come see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Really enjoyed my five nights here. In general the hotel seemed to have a cinnamon fragrance to it, with very modern furnishings.
+ Aria at the front desk was exceptionally helpful. Rest of the staff was also great.
+ They let me check in early which I greatly appreciated, and upgraded my room for free (though unfortunately it was on the back side that faces the backs of other buildings).
+ The lamps all had electrical outlets on the base to allow for easy plug in of phone, laptop, etc.

- Keycard failed to work a couple of times, which meant a trip back down to the lobby get new ones. I guess they easily get demagnetized. Shame there isn't a better technology out there.
- Gym is on the small side, for weights there is only free weights, no machines.
- Metro is not so convenient to get to, but the 14th St bus lines are within 100 yards.
- There is a card in the room that lists the small things they have upon request, one of which was sealable plastic bags, but when I called they said they didn't have any. I had some items I needed to seal before checking out and getting my flight, so this was a disappointment.

Overall pluses definitely outweigh the minuses, I'd stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks for the visit and for taking the time to share some feedback! It's so great to read that Auria took good care of you. Sorry about the key cards. It's not something we hear often. But, they can be fickle on occasion. Come see us the next time you're in town. We'd love to have you back.

Sincerely,

Donte Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

This place was excellent. We had a studio room and it was beautiful. The bed was so comfortable. The thing that impressed me the most was the staff. They are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DontePJohnson, General Manager at Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Wow! Thanks so much for this awesome review. It's always great to hear about the team really wrapping its arms around our guests. Come see us again soon. We'd love to have you back.

Sincerely,

Donte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,787 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 141 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,236 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel

Address: 1430 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5401 (Formerly Helix Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 12,789 - ₹ 30,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of D.C.'s dynamic 14th Street neighborhood, Kimpton Mason & Rook, is the city's newest locale for work and play and serves as a perfect starting point to enjoy the District's most popular bars, restaurants and boutiques. The hotel features 178 rooms - some of the largest in the city - including 18 luxurious suites which effortlessly exude the sophistication of a stylish retreat. Adjacent to the hotel is Radiator, a culinary-focused cocktail bar featuring contemporary American small plates with global influences imagined by Executive Chef Jonathan Dearden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing