We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Washington
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The room was comfy and clean, and the restaurant served very good food. My only complaint: paying for wifi. Why?

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quiet and look out on the atrium. My understanding is that the views from the outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryld524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,672
    1,450
    601
    264
    165
See reviews for
979
736
184
1,768
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverton, Wyoming
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our time at this hotel. Convenient to walk down to the mall or to take the subway down to the mall. Good restaurants on site and in the immediate area. Nice place for conferences.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank scm59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Oh the Grand Hyatt… I really wanted to like it, I really did. It looked so pretty from the outside, but inside not so much. I had to travel once again to DC for work and their aloof staff messed up my reservation. When I told them I confirmed the previous day for a king size bed, which the person on the phone said they would have it available, they shrugged it off, not at all apologetic and said they were full. Oh and it was birthday too, which I’m sure they knew since they had to check my ID. Nice. The room was clean, yes, but nothing that wowed me enough that I would pay $200+/night. Personally, I don’t think the location is that great. The hotel is located around designer stores, but when you want some food, are there any good restaurants around besides the Starbucks in the lobby and overpriced room service? Nope. The only good thing about this place is that the metro is underground at the hotel, a life saver when DC was pouring cats and dogs one morning and I was able to get to my conference dry. Other than that, DC has so many hotels that are so much nicer and a lot more convenient near the tourist attractions.

If this wasn’t the only hotel available during the week of my conference, I sure would not have bothered!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sakurajme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Washington, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am disappointed that this stay was less than ideal. Please know that we want to accommodate all of our guests needs and we apologize that we were not able to confirm your preferred bed type. Our location is within walking distance from several different sights as well as shopping and dining. Our guests also have the ability to access the metro from the lobby. If you would like to discuss the details of your stay please do not hesitate to contact us.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Really enjoyed our latest stay at the Grand Hyatt in Washington DC over Spring Break. The hotel is very nice, clean, service was also very welcoming. I loved the location the most. We parked our car in the Self Parking lot and never used it for 4 days. You can walk to most sites downtown including White House, Capital etc. The metro station is attached to the hotel so whenever you need you can take the Metro. We used it for many trips.

We did not eat in the hotel so can't offer any information as to the Cafe. We did however use the Starbucks in the hotel for coffee and the deli for breakfast once. In my opinion it's all overpriced so if you just walk a few blocks to your destination we always found an au bon pain or a deli or something where we can grab breakfast or lunch. It's also a few blocks from Chinatown so we enjoyed eating there as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommyof2NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very great and convenient location.

Other than that... nothing else about this hotel really impressed me.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonynhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Washington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Washington

Property: Grand Hyatt Washington
Address: 1000 H St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4520
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#80 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,284 - ₹ 42,380
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Hyatt Washington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 897
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown City Center- with convenient in-lobby Metro Center access - this Washington DC hotel is an ideal spot to explore the Nation's Capitol. Enjoy stylish guestrooms with plush Grand Beds™, indulgent amenities and multiple dining venues. Utilize our full-service business center and 32 outstanding meeting rooms - just steps from Washington Convention Center. Escape to extraordinary elegance at Grand Hyatt Washington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Grand Hyatt Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Grand Hyatt Washington Dc
Hyatt Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing