We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient resonable place very close to metro and 15 min walk to linkolin memorial.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
University Inn Washington DC
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient resonable place very close to metro and 15 min walk to linkolin memorial.”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Do not need to spend for taxi to get here. Even with couple of luggage you can walk to the hotel from foggy bottom metro. Can get tha A5 bus to dulles airport from Rosslyn which cost 6 $ (exact change) per person. Taxi will cost 65 $.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarneAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear WarneAu,

We appreciate your recent post on TripAdvisor. As you stated there are many different cost effective ways to get to our hotel from the area airports. Your information on public transportation is very helpful and our front desk team is more than happy to map out how to get to and from airports and other area locations.

Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    524
    129
    32
    28
See reviews for
481
340
96
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My companion is extraordinarily sensitive to cleaning chemicals and perfumes. She can smell things that I am totally unaware of. When we travel we always have to be careful to select hotels that are not only smoke free but who do not use air fresheners, perfumes or strong cleaning chemicals. On the basis of recommendations we selected the George Washington University Inn for a long weekend in Washington. We were very pleased on all counts. A call to the hotel asking that cleaning chemicals not be used was met with cooperation and understanding. When we arrived we found the room to be very clean even with that request and to be remarkably odor free. (The only exception to that was the release of a chemical odor due to sunlight on the light-blocking vinyl curtains.) The room was quite comfortable, with excellent amenities and more than enough closet and drawer space. The staff was, as mentioned above, uniformly friendly and helpful including loaning us an umbrella so we could walk to an event at the Kennedy Center through a driving rainstorm. A minor problem with the air conditioning was taken care of quickly and politely.

The neighborhood (Foggy Bottom) is attractive and feels safe as does the hotel. We enjoyed that it was convenient to the Georgetown area, the Kennedy Center and the K and M street restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitalican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I chose this hotel for a three-day break with my family on the basis of its location close to Foggy Bottom metro and walking distance of the National Mall. It was a good choice. Nice neighbourhood - close to Kennedy Center and a range of shops.

Hotel clean and quiet, room spacious (with fridge and microwave).

Wasn't tempted by the restaurant (looked a bit pricey and we didn't fancy Italian) - nor the bar but I don't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AST100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear AST100,

Thank you for choosing the GWU Inn while on your mini holiday. Our location is one of your best assests next to the staff we have at the Inn. We are a simiple, classic hotel with a lot to offer.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you stay with us again and have a chance to visit the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The GW Inn was always a nice, quiet place to stay. The rooms are large, the service is first class, and the Italian restaurant is reliable for those evenings when you want to "stay in." But the recent development in the area--a Whole Foods and several good restaurants--has made the Inn even more attractive. It is now my first choice for Washington visits. The only drawback is that there is no fitness room.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that some rooms have small kitchens...nice for a longer stay or for a visit with family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safaridada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Safariadada,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. The new development has enhanced the area and has made it a bit more lively.

The one drawback that you mentioned is that we do not have a fitness center. Whereas this is currently true, we are in the process of making the final arrangements for a lobby renovation. Included in this renovation will be the addition of a fitness center. So hopefully when you return to visit us, we will have the center up and running.

Looking forward to you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Vitkin, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Recently we stayed at the GWU Inn for a 3 day visit with family to DC. Cherry blossoms filled the air. The weather was balmy for March, and Washington makes one proud to be American.
The Inn made our stay super comfortable in every respect. We had booked a double room for 3 nights and were given a large suite - living room, bedroom with king sized bed, and a kitchenette with everything necessary to prepare a snack or simple meal. The price was lower than anything comparable which I had found on the Internet. Reception was friendly and fast. Our room which faced the main street was quiet and perfect for a good night's sleep. My only suggestion - switch to comforters in duvet covers instead of blankets, which seem somewhat outdated. The hotel's location was perfect for us as we had tickets for the Kennedy center and were able to walk there and back with no difficulty. The metro station is less than a five minute walk.
On our next trip to DC we will definitely want to stay at the GWU Inn once again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammaShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GWUInnGM, Manager at University Inn Washington DC, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Grammashelly,

Thank you for staying at the GWU Inn. We certainly appreciate all of the feedback we get from our guests both positive and negative. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our location as well as the efficiency of the front desk staff. We understand your comments in regards to the comforter. We will bring it to the attention of the decision makers.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,635 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,471 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,798 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Washington DC

Property: University Inn Washington DC
Address: 824 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2303 (Formerly George Washington University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,380 - ₹ 19,402
Hotel Class:3 star — University Inn Washington DC 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Decidedly Distinctive and Charming... The University Inn Washington DC., evokes thoughts of a visit to a country inn in New England. Drive into the Inn and it is like coming home, the environment is warm, welcoming and cozy. This intimate Inn is located in one of DC's most desirable neighborhoods, Foggy Bottom, surrounded by 19th century homes on tree lined streets and serves as a reminder of when time stood still. Enjoy classic tradition blended with individualized comfort and welcoming features including: Spacious rooms and suites- appointed with every comfort imaginable for short leisure visits or extended business stays Convenient location close to exciting Washington, DC attractions and area events. 1,500 Square feet of elegant meeting and event space- ideal for intimate gatherings of up to 50. Special rates for government travel Convenient access to The George Washington University campus events and facilities. We will see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington University Hotel Washington Dc
George Washington University Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing