We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Georgetown Inn
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Upon arrival, it is immediately apparent that the property is very run down. From the frayed carpet and drain plugs in the elevators, to the dirty breezeway area under which one enters, the first impression is not good.

I booked a room during Cherry blossom week for 279 a night. I first got room 219, and was shocked that such a room would be rented, at any price. The room smelled very strongly of mildew and chemicals. Everything was in disrepair: the light fixture hummed loudly, carpet was stained, old school television had a bullet hole or cigarette burn in the case and a splash of white paint on it, as did the bed frame. Outside the window was a view of a flooded roof top, with either a pump or hvac fan humming loudly. I asked for a new room and got 211. This room was much cleaner and even had a funky style that was pretty sweet. However it still had a smell of mildew and chemicals that was overpowering. It was positively unlivable.

I asked the front desk clerk what was up with the smell, and she said they were doing work on the 2nd floor. I asked her to cancel my stay and she kindly did so. Bottom line, this hotel is not worth consideration until it undergoes a complete renovation. You have been warned.

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank law_talkin_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Although not an excuse, the hotel is under new management and our efforts are focused on making necessary improvements. We welcome the chance to earn back your business and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    173
    82
    34
    28
See reviews for
185
98
27
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed at Georgetown Inn for 5 nights on business. The room was large, warm & clean. Bed large & comfy. Furnature was dated but individual (I have stayed in many hotels where the furnature is non discript) & has character. Bathroom & shower was fine. I was worried at first that the room was near the lift & facing out onto the road but I had no problem with noise all week and the double glazing is good. Down side was no room safe, old tube TV which was a bit fuzzy & limited channals and no bedside light which meant walking across the room to turn off the standing lamp from the plug under the table! All these could be sorted out by the managemnt at very little cost Whilst there was free wi-fi, the computer internet in the business area was very expensive. All in all I would stay there again if I came back to Washington.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vino1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Vino1_10,

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was not a cheap hotel and we had paid for an upgrade !! There was no bedside locker on one side of the bed. The bed had been extended but the sheets and under blanket were not replaced by larger ones and so I spent the night lying on the bare mattress. There were no glasses in the bathroom and no room to put my toilet things out around the hand basin. I had to put them in the press under the sink but the doors had no handles and had spring-loaded hinges and so I ended up breaking my finger nails. There was no safe in the room and the one at the reception desk was faulty and the signing 'in and out' was done with very little grace and no method. The location was really good. The floor had not been hovered before we arrived and was not done during our stay (4 nights ) !!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elinoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear emfreilly,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I recently stayed in Georgetown for one night when picking up from daughter from college. The hotel was great and very accommodating. We got there early and we were able to check in early at 11am. Sthe saffat the hotel were very friendly. The location is perfect, near shops and restaurants. We even were able to was to the tourist attractions in DC, the White House etc. Parking is expensive per night $35. But they let us keep the car the next day as long as we wanted to stay and shop even after check out. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333Travelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear 333Travelmom,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service. We look forward to accommodating you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a family gathering centered at the Georgetown Inn this past weekend and were disappointed on several fronts during our stay. It is a hotel with a great location that has allowed poor management and sloppy maintenance to lower its standards. Many future guests will continue to be disappointed until action is taken. During our three day stay all of us in suites we encountered inoperable faucets,a broken bed, ludicrous room service items and inflexible responses from the front desk when we requested help. We will discourage future visitors to Washington from staying at the Georgetown Inn until improvements are made.

Room Tip: Away from Wisconsin Avenue if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayDallas_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourDCManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear jayDallas_10,

Thank You for taking the time and consideration to let us know about the circumstances surrounding your recent visit to our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconsistencies in service you experienced during your stay. We can offer no excuse, but do want to reassure you that your concerns have been addressed with senior management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Georgetown University Hotel and ...
#117 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Was...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#79 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgetown Inn

Property: The Georgetown Inn
Address: 1310 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20007-3396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#83 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,072 - ₹ 28,301
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Georgetown, Washington DC. Walk to world class shopping, popular restaurants and pubs and local attractions including Georgetown University, M Street and the Waterfront. Full service hotel offering upscale amenities and the Daily Grill Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your The Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing