We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for DC touring”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown Inn West End
Ranked #97 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Initially I was disappointed in how small our "Suite" was but we spent so little time at the hotel, it didn't matter. The hotel is old but well maintained. The air conditioning did not work our first day (94 degrees) on the 8th floor but was fixed the next day. They brought a fan for us. Typical BW breakfast, comfortable bed, fast WIFI and very good concierge service. The hotel is very close to it all...monuments, restaraunts, coffee shops and bars. The metrorail system is 3 blocks away and we mastered it in a few days. It is the best way to move all over the city. We used taxi and touring bus as well. The tour busses shuttle you to and from the hotel to a starting point near the capitol. The streets are busy with city hustle and bustle and there is a hospital nearby so expect sirens from time to time. We stayed 8 days and the front desk is very helpful with all requests for suggested dining and touring. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: New Hampshire Ave side is a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff liddicote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed one night May 2012. Great location, self parking in lot across the street. Our room has 2 double beds and plenty of room. The refrigerator and microwave were a nice added touch. Plenty of toiletries and towels. Dishware provided was a nice touch. And breakfast!- cereal, yogurt, biscuits, gravy, fruit, .... much more than any other Best Western we have visited. Very helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kdbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is your usual BW quality hotel. A little worn, but clean and more than adequate. The king bed was quite comfortable. The room had a small sitting and eating area, and tiny but functional kicthen area. This gives you lots of options to save money on snacks and an occasional sub or pizza in your room. Good metro access. (If you're a senior, go to Metro Center and get a senior metro card which will save you a bunch on transportation)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raggazza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel and upon checking out they charged me 5 times... They emptied out my travel card funds and I spent 3 hours on a train that day trying to arrange the funds being returned to my card as it was my primary source of money whilst travelling. After hours on the phone to them trying to explain what they had done they casually went about putting the error right.... There was no urgency on there behalf even though I explained that I needed the money asap. I was not impressed at all...

Apart from this the rooms and location were good, but if your a light sleeper be prepared to be woken up everytime the 25 year old room's airconditioner compressor kicks in with a thud...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMS350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi B, Guest Relations Manager at Georgetown Inn West End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

We apologize for any inconvenience that may have occured with your billing and we will look into the way the matter was handled. This is not typical of our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We are please you enjoyed the accomodations, outside of this incident. We welcome the chance to prove ourselves to you on your next trip into the DC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights May 2012. We had a room on the 4th floor. Room clean. Double bed & pull out double sofa bed. Once the double sofa is pulled out into a bed the room becomes a bit cramped. Tiny kitchen area with small sink, small fridge & small microwave, small round table, two chairs, with place setting for two people (however no dishwashing liquid (?) I did call reception but they said they didn’t have any. All the girls on reception are very efficient, knowledgeable & helpful with sightseeing around the area. Close to Metro & plenty of places to eat & drink within walking distance. We tried The Thai Place (decent food, a little bit pricey for us but then it’s Washington. Also tried Mei Wah Chinese Restaurant (across the road) which has a picture of Julia Gillard (Australian Prime Minister) on the wall as having dined there. Trader Joe’s is also within walking distance for groceries. Also close enough to walk to the Lincoln memorial, the Whitehouse etc. Tickets for the metro is $2.40 each way. Appears to be off peak on weekends $1.85 each way. All the museums in Washington are free.
Breakfast was the same each day: 4 types of cereal, hard boiled eggs, banana, oranges, (one day had granny smith apples too), 1st day they had the waffle maker, then it disappeared after that (I think it became no longer non-stick), white & brown bread for toasting, 2 types of bagels, English muffin, donuts (not very good), few types of mini muffins, water, tea, coffee, milk, apple & orange juice, cream cheese, mixed jelly (jam). They have two rooms for breakfast so not a problem getting a seat.
They have a coin operated laundry which is also located in the basement with the breakfast room.
They have 2 elevators but not sure if both worked. On checkout around 9am, it took us 20mins to get down from the 4th floor as only 1 elevator was working and it was always full. Tip: hop on anyway even if it’s going up because if you wait for it to be come down then it’ll be full of people coming down from floors above you already.
Taxis in Washington charge $2 per suitcase, but the whole ride is relatively cheap anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scar3crow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
973 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#14 of 142 in Washington DC
571 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,859 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Fog...
#93 of 142 in Washington DC
679 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn West End? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn West End

Address: 1121 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Formerly Best Western Georgetown Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 7,054 - ₹ 23,233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown Inn West End 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown Inn West End all-suites, smoke-free, West End hotel is located a block from the Foggy Bottom Metro station and is six blocks from Georgetown and the White House. The Best Western offers a complimentary continental breakfast and selection of morning newspapers, a fireplace-warmed lobby, and safe-deposit boxes at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgetown Inn West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Georgetown Hotel Washington Dc
Best Western Georgetown Hotel And Suites
Best Western Washington Dc
Washington Dc Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing