We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly a gem.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Washington DC, District of Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Trail7703...
1 review
“Truly a gem.”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Our stay at "A Gem At U Street" was perfectly relaxing after each day of touring DC.
Our host was so, so nice, and very helpful. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to DC. This is truly a gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2018
Denis thank you for staying with us. Please come back and visit us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertoT2...
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was a very pleasant stay with much coopoeration of the owner with guidance for places to go.”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

It was great!!! DC is a great city with a cool attitude and places for hang out, museums, lots of good restaurants and a water front. This place is close to much places and Uber functions at a 100%.

Thanks Tricia!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Roberto thanks for staying with us. We so enjoyed you wife and your company. We look forward your next visit here in DC. Gracias!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergey S
Alpharetta, Georgia
1 review
“Perfect stay for a couple with a little child”
Reviewed 28 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Place is not as small as I expected from the pictures.
Welcoming snacks was a nice touch from the owner!
Location - very good (just couple of stops to the Mall).
Plenty of choice to eat within walking distance. It's actually in a middle of very popular and busy district.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Sergey thanks for staying with us. We are happy to hear you were pleased with your stay. Please come back and visit us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Maria and Frank
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in DC. Thanks for staying at our property. Please come back and visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DayTrip69...
1 review
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a cozy gem in a super cool, historic neighborhood. Ben's Chili Bowl, Lincoln Theatre (part of Black Broadway on U Street), and the African American Civil War Museum are all within walking distance. The host is attentive (I was glad umbrellas were provided). It's not officially a bed and breakfast, but with Trader Joe's around the corner, a full size fridge, and a cooktop, no problem. One can easily travel anywhere in the city (I didn't have a car but walked and took the Metro). However, currently, the escalators at the U Street Metro, 13th Street side, are under repair so there is an annoying slow and tiny elevator. I hope to be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Morgan We are so happy you enjoy your trip. Please come back and visit us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing