We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveller rating
472
379
144
74
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
472
379
144
74
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoma metro stationfree breakfastnoma gallaudetwhite noise machineharris teetertwo blocksnice hotelvalet parkingnice roomyogurtfamily vacationsofa bedsitting areaenjoyed my staymini fridgecapitol hillnational mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's in a terrible location, I didn't feel safe walking around the hotel at all, even though it's pretty close to the Capitol and more importantly subway. the rooms are very dated, our toilet didn't keep water in the tank so I had to fix the flange in the water tank every time. The tub was very old and you could see cast iron under where the paint chipped off. The door to the bathroom wouldn't lock. The couch had huge stains. It smelled old,. I could hear noise from the street even though I was on the 12th floor and definitely all the neighbors.

Employees were nice and helpful. I used vallet parking which is overpriced and you should see the place - it's a fence with barbed wire on top (NOT SAFE).

I would give it 1 star, but I added 1 more for the helpful employees!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guzal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Still under development it seemed. The pool wasn’t open daily. Construction next door. Very loud and hard to sleep. Room service not an option so you have to go to lobby for water or a snack. Not a large eating area so breakfast extremely congested and hard to find seating, very long lines and ends promptly at 10. They announce 10 minutes prior that it will be ending- and it does!!!! Often ran out of plates and utensils during breakfast but we learned where they were and just helped ourselves and got more for everyone. Staff is nice. Room was clean. Lots of sirens that woke us many times in the night. Very hard pillows. We didn’t sleep well at all. We were told by several uber drivers not to leave the hotel at night that the area was not safe.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff is kind and response very quick. Has two entries from different streets. There are free apples in reception. Free coffee and tea in the rooms. There is subway in walking distance. There is nice view from New York avenue. But the breakfast is poor comparable with other countries Hyatt Place hotels and they don't offer cash deposit.

Room Tip: High floor with city view from NY avenue.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andranik1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had trouble with this hotel from the very beginning. Online booking was extremely glitchy. The online system originally booked 2 rooms when we only needed 1. We called the hotel immediately and were told that the reservation was non-refundable. After repeated explanation, we finally convinced the clerk that this was an error. She told us that she would remove the extra room. We assumed it was resolved. Two days before our arrival, our credit card was charged for two rooms. We again called the hotel and after explaining that this was an error, we were told it would be fixed. When we arrived, it was not only NOT fixed, but at this point their system was broken and unable to read our credit cards. The person at the front desk informed us that cards don't usually work when there is no money in the bank. EXCUSE ME? At that point we called the card company who reported that this was an error on the hotel's end as they could not even see evidence that the card was being swiped.

The rooms were clean. The hotel is in a pretty sketchy area--but the price is lower. You'll listen to construction which begins at 7AM. We highly recommend using UBER to come and go rather than the walk to the Metro--especially at night when the entire area is crawling with homeless and mentally ill folks. There is a grocery store, a CVS and a Starbucks all within walking distance. We stocked up the fridge with snacks.

Upon checkout, a very kind and knowledgeable clerk was able to credit back the extra charge and provided us with paper confirmation that she had done so. We don't know why it took so long. But it was finally resolved.

Room Tip: Try to overlook NY Avenue--otherwise, you'll hear construction all day long
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really loud on both sides of the hotel (there are only two). New York Avenue is a highway with constant ambulance and police sirens. The windows of the hotel aren't very thick. The other side now has heavy construction. The hotel even has white noise maker in each room, showing that they know of the problem. Yet, nothing on their website or in an email to expected guests noting the same. Manager really didn't seem to care about my complaint.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank kshaeberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews