We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,216)
Filter reviews
1,216 results
Traveller rating
505
416
155
81
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
416
155
81
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noma gallaudet noma metro station free breakfast white noise machine harris teeter two blocks nice hotel yogurt nice room valet parking street parking family vacation sitting area mini fridge definitely stay here again capitol hill national mall
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,216 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

It's in a terrible location, I didn't feel safe walking around the hotel at all, even though it's pretty close to the Capitol and more importantly subway. the rooms are very dated, our toilet didn't keep water in the tank so I had to fix the flange in the water tank every time. The tub was very old and you could see cast iron under where the paint chipped off. The door to the bathroom wouldn't lock. The couch had huge stains. It smelled old,. I could hear noise from the street even though I was on the 12th floor and definitely all the neighbors.

Employees were nice and helpful. I used vallet parking which is overpriced and you should see the place - it's a fence with barbed wire on top (NOT SAFE).

I would give it 1 star, but I added 1 more for the helpful employees!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guzal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Guzal H

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the US Capitol area. The staff always strives to provide helpful and friendly service and was pleased to hear you enjoyed the service they provided. The up and coming NOMA neighborhood of Washington DC is very welcoming, friendly and trendy there are new businesses slated to open in the coming months for guests to enjoy. We were disappointed to hear you were not pleased with the room accommodations please contact us at WASZD-Guest.Services.HP.DC.US.Capital@hyatt.com and let us know how we can improve things for future stays. looking forward to the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Still under development it seemed. The pool wasn’t open daily. Construction next door. Very loud and hard to sleep. Room service not an option so you have to go to lobby for water or a snack. Not a large eating area so breakfast extremely congested and hard to find seating, very long lines and ends promptly at 10. They announce 10 minutes prior that it will be ending- and it does!!!! Often ran out of plates and utensils during breakfast but we learned where they were and just helped ourselves and got more for everyone. Staff is nice. Room was clean. Lots of sirens that woke us many times in the night. Very hard pillows. We didn’t sleep well at all. We were told by several uber drivers not to leave the hotel at night that the area was not safe.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience of your stay, We hope to have you back again soon as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The staff is kind and response very quick. Has two entries from different streets. There are free apples in reception. Free coffee and tea in the rooms. There is subway in walking distance. There is nice view from New York avenue. But the breakfast is poor comparable with other countries Hyatt Place hotels and they don't offer cash deposit.

Room Tip: High floor with city view from NY avenue.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andranik1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience with breakfast and look forward to having you back as a guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We had trouble with this hotel from the very beginning. Online booking was extremely glitchy. The online system originally booked 2 rooms when we only needed 1. We called the hotel immediately and were told that the reservation was non-refundable. After repeated explanation, we finally convinced the clerk that this was an error. She told us that she would remove the extra room. We assumed it was resolved. Two days before our arrival, our credit card was charged for two rooms. We again called the hotel and after explaining that this was an error, we were told it would be fixed. When we arrived, it was not only NOT fixed, but at this point their system was broken and unable to read our credit cards. The person at the front desk informed us that cards don't usually work when there is no money in the bank. EXCUSE ME? At that point we called the card company who reported that this was an error on the hotel's end as they could not even see evidence that the card was being swiped.

The rooms were clean. The hotel is in a pretty sketchy area--but the price is lower. You'll listen to construction which begins at 7AM. We highly recommend using UBER to come and go rather than the walk to the Metro--especially at night when the entire area is crawling with homeless and mentally ill folks. There is a grocery store, a CVS and a Starbucks all within walking distance. We stocked up the fridge with snacks.

Upon checkout, a very kind and knowledgeable clerk was able to credit back the extra charge and provided us with paper confirmation that she had done so. We don't know why it took so long. But it was finally resolved.

Room Tip: Try to overlook NY Avenue--otherwise, you'll hear construction all day long
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Drear Elizabeth D

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Washington DC. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and service. The NOMA neighborhood in which we are located is an up and coming lively area. frequented by young professionals and families alike, its a very safe and walkable area. We are disappointed to hear of the trouble you had during check in. We strive to provide excellent service and is sorry that was not your experience. If you would like discuss ways we can improve your experience next time please contact us at WASZD-Guest.Services.HP.DC.US.Capital@hyatt.com. We are glad to know the issue was resolved successfully for you and look forward to the opportunity to host again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Really loud on both sides of the hotel (there are only two). New York Avenue is a highway with constant ambulance and police sirens. The windows of the hotel aren't very thick. The other side now has heavy construction. The hotel even has white noise maker in each room, showing that they know of the problem. Yet, nothing on their website or in an email to expected guests noting the same. Manager really didn't seem to care about my complaint.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank kshaeberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US Capitol, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear kshaeberle

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to the nations Capital. Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay. its disappointing to hear the noise made your stay a less enjoyable one. The hotel is located in the busy, bustling NOMA neighborhood of Washington DC filled businesses. The construction projects are bringing great new things to the area most due for completion in July. We hope we have the opportunity to host you again soon so you may take advantage of the exciting new additions to the neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews