We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”
Review of AKA White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AKA White House
Ranked #33 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, especially after I had read a kind of negative review. The hotel was clean, the staff was excellent and extremely helpful. This was my first time traveling alone and I never felt safer. The room was more than i could have imagined and it was hard to leave. It felt like home away from home. I look forward to my next trip to Washington, DC and especially my next stay at the AKA White House. The only negative would be is that they don't clean your tub every day if you are not staying longer than 7 days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmelitel226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are very ecstatic that you decided to give AKA a chance and proved the negative review wrong! In our eyes, there is nothing better than the feeling of comfort and safety. We are glad you enjoyed your stay during your time in the city and look forward to assisting with lodging accommodations upon your return.
The AKA White House Management Team
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 609 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here as a family of 5, and we could not have been happier with our choice. We went to Washington to see the monuments, public buildings, Smithsonians and Arlington, and this extended stay style hotel allowed us to do alll of that in a relaxed way. Strong positives:
* great location - in the 'Golden Triangle' and an way walk to Farragut West metro
* spacious, well appointed rooms with a compact, full kitchen, washer/dryer in the apartment, 2bathrooms, and 3 TVs (it stops a 'my turn argument'!)
* clean and neat, ith comfortable bedding
* pleasant staff

The best thing we found about the AKA White House was its close proximity to the restaurant, The Founding Farmers. This eatery promotes a sustainable use of crops and meat, and its service was fabulous while the meals were delightful. Book early - you will need to!
We used the transfer service to the airport and it was reliable and efficient. Apparently, the AKA White House can be hard to get into when lots of long term guests (3-4 weeks duration) move in, so if you get the opportunity to stay for a short term visit, grab it. The hotel deserves a higher Tripadvisor ranking.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBrisli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKAWhiteHouseGM, Resident Representative at AKA White House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We are happy that you and your family could stay comfortably in our suites. With all of the cities amazing attractions, we were glad that you were able to enjoy your visit by having a spacious place to return to. We are glad you enjoyed your stay during your time in the city and look forward to assisting with lodging accommodations upon your return.
The AKA White House Management Team
888.aka.0210

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

A late review. Stayed March 2008. This place was awesome. Very modern, spacious, nice decor and bright 'n airy. I lived in MD at the time I stayed here. My sis found this place through her World Bank colleagues. I stayed there for about a month when my sister was in town working there (which is literally down the block). The metro stop is a very short walk away. If you are renting a car parking is v. expensive. So much better than staying at a hotel room esp if your work is paying. Free breakfast had coffee, fruits and pastries. I think milk and cereal may have included too but can't remember. The breakfast lounge also had a computer set up with printers.

You will LOVE DC if this is your first trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank meye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Excellent option for business travellers who want long stay VFM.

I took a team of 6 to this hotel! Allonthe advice of TripIt and I was not disappointed. Room for improvement but as they say, everything can be improved.

Rooms missing detailing but offer a sense of freedom and space which other hotels do not and a VFM solution.

Excellent bar, good amenities in the room, and fit for purpose given it's location.... The location is excellent.

Needs to work on detailing and ambience. The bar is fantastic but not worked into it's full potential.

Staffers friendly but not so well informed to advise where to go for leisure, food and site seeing.

These are nitty details, which detract from a great concept in hoteling... Just quite not there but has to be said, it is VFM.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamBMCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We had a brief 4 days in which we could entertain and enjoy our family from Taiwan so took advantage of a two bedroom suite at the AKA. It was everyhting we had hoped it would be an much more. From the wonderful accommodating reception on a cold spring morning where they got us into our suite hours before check in time, to the overall comfort of the suite and friendliness of the staff we could not have been more satisfied.
From the convenience of downtown DC to our famous neighbors we had the most wonderful brief vacation and our family loved the accomodations and we vowed that we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 142 in Washington DC
505 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,293 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA White House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA White House

Address: 1710 H St NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-4699
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 10,808 - ₹ 69,053 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA White House 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located just two blocks from the nation’s most important residential address, as well as in close proximity to many noteworthy business and arts institutions, AKA White House features spacious one and two bedroom residences with king size beds, elegantly designed living rooms, full kitchens, spa-like baths, as well as spectacular penthouse suites with spacious terrace and outdoor dining areas. Superb amenities include a modern lounge area with stunning bar and fireplace and contemporary, comfortable seating with open views onto the streetscape; complimentary wifi; resident cinema; fitness and business center services, and a 24/7 Resident Services Team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your AKA White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka White House Hotel Washington Dc
Aka White Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing