We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great restaurant however the service needs work...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier

Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier
Reserve with OpenTable
Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 3,181 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 35 - US$ 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Cross street: 24th and 25th
Transit: Foggy Bottom Metro
Description: Since 1999, Chef Wiedmaier infuses his Belgian heritage into Marcel's elegant haute French flagship restaurant. Regularly topping the best-of-lists in the nation's capital, in 2011 and 2012, it was rated the top restaurant for food by Zagat as well as one of the top five restaurants for service.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great restaurant however the service needs work...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I were there to celebrate our both birthdays, now about a week ago. The food was overall good but the service needs work. It was a Saturday and the restaurant was pretty busy but that should not be an excuse to have less than average service, especially when you pay the big $$$$. When the food was served, they forgot about serving the bread, even if it was asked for. The dishes of my wife and I were not served simultaneously and when I asked for another glass of wine I had to wait forever and even remind the waiter. As icing on the cake, they completely forgot about our birthdays, even though I had mentioned this twice when I made the reservation. The food was good but it definitely tastes way less good when you have to deal with all the flaws in service...

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheRoadAgain1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    80
    33
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as good as we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Marcel's has a Zagat rating of 29/30 so we naturally expected a fantastic eating experience. Unfortunately it fell short. The food was good but not exceptional. The time between courses was simply too long. We would wait at least 20 min between our 7 courses. We enjoy a leisurely meal but that was too long. Our server was quite nervous during the entire meal and even spilled some wine. The atmosphere was somewhat frenetic with servers walking very quickly back and forth all night because we were eating in the bar near the kitchen where the food came out. All in all not what we expect for a 29/30. I would give it a 24 or so.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
138 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a great table by the front window. The service was really excellent - both in terms of the knowledge of the servers as well as the overall quality of the experience. The food was very good and the pacing was perfect. A great place for a date or a nice business dinner.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susannTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Overall a great food experience, wine list seemed too pricey so had the wine flight which wasn't par level with the food Sommelier arrived at one course later than the dish and excused to have lame leg or something regardless I found this comment not welcomed also one of the servers "married" two different bottles together in the middle of the dining room and gave the guest the wine to taste he just created that was the first time I saw something like this!
My recommandation would be to bring your own wine and enjoy the great food there!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodsnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
149 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great European dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Super service. Wonderful French wines.
N
Menu was varied and excellent!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JFR502S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Marcel's by Robert Wiedmaier? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing