We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food, great atmosphere”

Occidental Grill & Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
Occidental Grill & Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #203 of 3,463 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Cross street: 14th
Transit: Metrocenter 13 & F
Description: Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a great date night amidst a busy business trip week. He had been here before for business and knew I would enjoy both the restaurant and the history of the hotel. The host was incredibly thoughtful in making sure we were seated in a romantic booth in a quiet corner. The food was incredible and the wine list was great although both seemed just slightly overpriced. My only real complaint was that our server seemed rather busy and our service, while acceptable, was impersonal. We will certainly be back for great food and drinks.

Thank kdw20152015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalGrill, Manager at Occidental Grill & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for choosing to dine at Occidental and for your generous review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your husband had a memorable dining experience with us; one of the oldest dining establishments in Washington. We train our staff to strive for excellence by going the extra mile with our guests and will be sure to remind them of the importance of this at every shift. Please accept our apologies for this. We appreciate you taking the time to post this review and hope to welcome you both back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just as NYC's Sardi's is well known for its collection of autographed pictures of theater celebs, this restaurant displays hundreds of signed photos of political and military notables that make for an interesting decor. Our hotel concierge recommended the Occidental for dinner and we were pleased. Located near the White House and next door to the historic Willard Hotel, when making your reservation ask for the front corner booth for a nice view of the Washington Monument beyond the park across the street. Our service was attentive and our food well prepared and tasty. I ordered their house specialty crab cakes and they were excellent with little or no filler. All in all a very pleasant evening. We would return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalGrill, Manager at Occidental Grill & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for choosing to dine at Occidental Grill & Seafood and for such a wonderful review! Nothing pleases us more than to hear that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their dining experience. We have been at the center of Washington for over 110 years now and enjoy being able to share Occidental's history with guests such as yourselves! Our Jumbo Lump Crab Cake has been a signature dish since inception and we are proud to report that we use zero filler. Thank you once again! We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to our nation's capital.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a group of about thirty in a private room. Service was exceptionally good. There were two dinner choices - a filet or what was described as sea bass. The filet was excellent. It was beautiful prepared and very tasty. I say with some people who got the fish. Universally, they didn't think that it was sea bass as indicated. It really looked more like trout. The taste was described as"just okay." I'll stay with my rating, because that represents my view of my experience.

Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This establishment is located next to The Willard and has more history on the walls with past patrons than most can see or read in a single visit. Good for family and kids as well.

Thank richardwU3990HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would really like to make this a 3.5. Food was outstanding and the place was blessedly not loud but service people were unengaged and sloppy. Heck, they did not even give me a pen with which to sign my credit card bill! That was just a microcosm of the service experience, which included getting the meal incorrect and not refilling glasses in a timely way. A very nice spot to be sure. I would try it again but not for a special dinner just yet.

Thank oibboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis G, General Manager at Occidental Grill & Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear valued guest,

It is disheartening to hear of your unpleasant experience at the Occidental. We are committed to giving quality service to all our guests, and in this instance we indeed failed to execute that to the standards we wish you and all our guests to experience. On behalf of the entire management team I would like to extend a sincere apology for your experience. We do value all of our guests and know that the options are limitless in this city, and we do not take our guests patronage for granted. Your feedback will be a valuable teaching tool for our staff as we will strive to make our guest experience the very best it can be. We hope that you will visit us again and that we can redeem your faith in the Occidental Grill.

Sincerely,

Travis Gray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Occidental Grill & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Occidental Grill & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing