We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bechamel Lasagna”
Review of Floriana

Floriana
Reserve with OpenTable
Floriana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 3,559 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Q Street
Transit: DC Metro-Red Line-Dupont Circle (Q Street exit)
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable food in a beautiful old Victorian. Excellent, pleasant service. Very nice ambiance, could be romantic. Best lasagna made with bechamel instead of red sauce. The Beet salad was excellent but tiny. The Caprese had okay mozzarella with average tomatoes. The Filet Mignon Tortellini in cream sauce was excellent. The Creme Brûlée was good. All in all a very nice evening in a very nice place with mostly excellent food. Go.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank deborahcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florianarestaurant, Owner at Floriana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi deborahcat, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are happy that you enjoyed your dining experience with Floriana, and we look forward to the next time we'll be able to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 103 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful setting in a former home! Best lasagna outside of Italy and wonderful service. Can't wait to return!

Thank Bailey01Michigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great Italian restaurant close to DuPont Circle. A group of us dined there, enjoy the fresh air outside and enjoy a nice wine suggestion at half price. Each of us had a different meal, lobster with black ink pasta for me, salmon and shrimp and scallops pasta for others. Everyone raved about the meal, the wine and the dessert. There are a few other restaurants in the same corner to choose from. We tried to get into Hanks oyster house and they wouldn't even accept put us on the list until our last party arrived even though the wait was 10 minutes away. They were busy and rude as opposed to Floriana staff. You can dine inside the brownstone or outside as we did. Enjoy!

Thank V5688GEmanuelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florianarestaurant, Owner at Floriana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thank you for your compliments! We are extremely pleased that you received the great service, meals, and experience we strive to deliver for all our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and we look forward to serving you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

The wife and I were in DC for a political convention last week and with a quick online review we decided to do Italian food at Floriana in Georgetown.

The bar in the basement was fun with great conversation. We started dinner off with the Black Gnocchi in lobster cream sauce with shrimp appetizer. For the main courses she had the Scallop & Shrimp Risotto (with wild mushrooms) and I had the Pork Shank with creamy polenta.

The food was outstanding, the meal was reasonably priced and the service was excellent. Some of the best Italian food I’ve had in years. I would highly recommend this restaurant, just call for reservations first.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Matthew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florianarestaurant, Owner at Floriana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Hi Matthew, thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our food. We thank you for your compliments and hope to see you again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Recommended by the Washington Post we made a reservation for dinner and were absolutely satisfied. The ambience in the mansion house of the restaurant is almost like being invited to a private home. We had the octopus for a starter and two different pasta dishes as our main course ending with the tiramisu. I would have appreciated a little more lamb in my lamb gnocchi dish but because the pasta dishes are not intended to be main courses, it is ok. The wine list is impressive, but we chose different wines by the glass out of several offers. Service was friendly and perfect.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Floriana also viewed

 

Been to Floriana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing