We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but no coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Ranked #17 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice but no coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Odd spot for walking to most of the sites. No coffee in the room. Good size rooms clean and quiet. Food very good at restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear "William S,"

Many thanks for taking a brief moment to share with us and the TripAdvisor community the review of our hotel following your recent stay.

We do appreciate your commentary and will take your comments to heart to improve upon the overall guest experience.

Safe travels,
Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,053
    414
    148
    84
    40
See reviews for
388
403
74
665
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Newer hotel within walking distance to Smithsonian museums. Extremely clean rooms, great service.

Used the fitness facilities - nice.

Only downfalls is the location is dead at night time. Nothing is open. There is a CVS and Potbelly Sandwich works close by and that's about it.

Didn't try restaurants but heard they are wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear "Rtan73,"

We appreciate your review about the hotel following your recent stay. We do value the positive comments and will share them with the team.

Safe travels,

Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We drove down from New York for 3 nights to attend a conference. Valet was efficient. We checked in at 8pm and our room was ready (not always the case some of you will or have learned - though not at a Mandarin, I'm talking to you W South Beach). We paid a special rate for the conference so the value was indeed excellent, also it was after they upgraded us to a suite too.
Room was so quiet, considering you are neer a train track, airport and highway. We didn't hear a thing and slept like babies. Breakfast was organized by the conference so it's typical banquet food, but good. We had drinks at the Empress lounge that were great and everywhere the staff was wonderful and helpful.

Spent some time at the pool and gym which were well appointed. We did not order room service or had meals in other outlets beside the a snack at the empress lounge (apparently the same menu as room service).

Loved that we were walking distance from the mall and nearby a capital bike pick up station (like Velib in Paris). Starbucks right across the street for those of you who can't live without it (sadly closed on Sundays).

Would stay there again.

Room Tip: room 500 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromNYtoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear "OneStopNYC,"

Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay. We enjoy hearing from all our guests, and especially so when they have enjoyed the hotel and their time in the nearby areas.

We hope to have the pleasure of your company again, in the near future.

Kind regards and safe travels,

Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We chose the Mandarin because of its reputation and its discounted weekend rate compared to the St Regis, Four Seasons, etc. Our overall impression was that they were cutting corners. Calling Guest Services involved a long time on hold. Breakfast service in the restaurant was slow, despite it being almost empty, and a mistake in our order was never corrected despite it being pointed out. There was no evening turndown service in the room. No-one offered to carry our bags when we arrived. They also need to join the 21st century and stop charging for wi-fi! On the positive side, the lady at check-in was friendly (as were other staff), and the bathroom was large and well-equipped.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear "Andrew26_12,"

Many thanks for taking the time to post about your recent stay. While we are sorry it was a less-than-perfect stay, we do appreciate the commentary so that we can improve upon the areas that you've highlighted.

Safe travels,

Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Excellent hotel in Washington DC and up to standards with the Mandarin Oriental brand. Large beautiful room, excellent lobby, and high quality service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drftwdsflm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Washington, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear "Drftwdsflm,"

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience. Comments like yours are greatly appreciated and really do boost our team's dedication to service.

Kind regards and safe travels,

Mandarin Oriental, Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
Address: 1330 Maryland Avenue, SW, Washington DC, DC 20024-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#17 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,073 - ₹ 45,831
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s springtime in the nation’s capital and there’s no better place to celebrate the new blooms and warm weather than Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC. Now featuring dramatically refreshed luxury guestrooms, MO is located just steps from the Tidal Basin and is soon to be surrounded by millions of the famous cherry blossoms. Our honored guests also enjoy very short walks to the National Mall, museums of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington Monument and the White House. Business travelers will appreciate swift transfers between Ronald Reagan National Airport, Union Station, U.S. Capitol and House and Senate Office Buildings. Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group is famous for providing legendary service, excellent dining, arresting design and immersive spas that rejuvenate body and mind. Our hotel presents you with an experience that is uniquely Washington and always mindful of our oriental heritage. We welcome you to become a fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Washington d.c. Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Washington Dc
Mandarin Oriental Washington Dc
Mandarin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing