We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sofitel was a "Capital" experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Sofitel Washington from Friday 05/25/12 to Tuesday 05/29/12. The check in process was speedy a most friendly. We made a special request at was accommodated without fuss or any attempt to collect extra fees. The staff is polite friendly and service was seamless. Our room booked through Expedia was clean and spacious with very nice amenities. The staff will always greet you with a friendly Bonjour or Bonsoir every time they see you... The Sofitel is a bit of Paris in DC! Very charming.

Room Tip: We spent 4 nights at the Sofitel Washington from Friday 05/25/12 to Tuesday 05/29/12. The check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebucfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,857 - 1,861 of 3,219 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is at a very convenient location. Just around the corner by the Mcpherson Metro Station (walk about 2-3 mins). Hotel staff was super friendly, room feels luxurious and quiet. The bar is a little pricey and service is disappointing. But overall the hotel is a great choice and we will stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

- Access (Public Transport)
Metro Station: McPherson Square (lines Orange & Blue), 1 block away
- Location
One block from Treasury and White House. Within walking distance of the Mall
- Room
I had a lovely and spacious corner room. Lighting arrangements not ideal if you need to work. The bathroom was very spacious, too. Negative point: the washbasin had a large crack. Amenities are plentiful and good quality (L’Occitane). Nice touch also: a welcome treat on a plate (cake)
- Service
Very professional (except in the restaurant for breakfast where service was indifferent)
- Value for money
Considering the location and the services, the Sofitel represents excellent value for money. The Restaurant can be a bit pricey. This applies mainly to breakfast which unfortunately is “à la carte” only.

Room Tip: Corner room - spacious and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fby1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Four members of our family stayed at this fantastic hotel for three evenings. We all agreed that every member of the staff at the Sofitel went above and beyond their required duties to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

The hotel is located two blocks away from the White House. Most of the museums and memorials are within walking distance. The term "walking distance" means different things to different people so make sure you bring comfortable walking shoes. Depending upon which museum or memorial you may plan on visiting you can expect to walk a minimum of 2-3 miles, (or more), round trip. We like to walk so it was not a problem for us. Keep in mind that parking is very limited in Washington D.C. so the central location of the Sofitel Hotel is an added bonus if you plan of sightseeing. You will not need a car for most of the attractions if you stay at this hotel. There is a nightly charge for the valet-only parking at the Sofitel. We did need our car to go to the National Zoo and Arlington National Cemetary.

The food and service at the restaurant are very good. Many other restaurant options are located directly across from the hotel and right down the street. A variety of other dining options are a short walk from the hotel. After spending long days at the museums we ate most of our meals at the hotel. There were enough choices on the menu to keep us satisfied. Although breakfast can get pricey the complimentary crossiants were delicious. Our waiter even gave us a box full of them the morning we checked out! We didn't even ask for them he just went and got them for us! Terrific service!

If anyone is interested in bargain shopping there is a fabulous T.J. Maxx store a few blocks from the hotel. I found a lot of great buys. It is a runway store so the merchandise and fashions are more high-end.

We didn't spend much time in our rooms but they were clean and the beds were very comfortable.
The next time we are in Washington D.C., or anywhere else there happens to be a Sofitel Hotel, we will not hesitate to book a room at the Sofitel! (If anyone is interested this is a pet friendly hotel.)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadTrip60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Located in the heart of DC, this hotel is perfectly located for seeing the Capital. A very serviceable hotel - clean and well appointed. The staff was very amenable and eager to please.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NelloDas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,293 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,905 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: ₹ 14,561 - ₹ 46,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing