We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Sofitel in Washington D.C. and had the BEST hotel-experience of all time. The ENTIRE (Yes that means EACH and EVERY) staff made us feel welcome and like we were THE special guests that they were waiting for. We would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Washington D.C. that would like to experience ROCK STAR TREATMENT to try this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chatoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,073
    784
    151
    60
    19
See reviews for
658
1,281
185
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canfield,Oh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We called four hours prior to arrival to make some special requests. We asked for placement on a floor sufficiently high enough to see the White House . "No problem", we were told. Because my wife deals with asthma, we requested that all bedding items containing feathers be removed prior to arrival. Upon arrival, approximately 3;30 pm, they told us that they did not have record of our call or special requests. We checked our phone and yes we had called the right number and yes they had answered "Bonjour!". The bedding? We'll get right on it. Two hours later, I went back down to the front desk to check on their progress. We'll get someone up there right away! Twenty-five minutes later, the pillow-top and pillows were removed. ( Talk to someone with asthma about feathers.) Understandably, the bed was hard. We can deal with that. But on day three, I asked if they might have an alternative to feathers in a pillow-top. The manager suggested two layers of blanket under the fitted sheet. Sounded good to me! They assured us that it would be taken care of that day. Nope. Wasn't done. The receptionist was very apologetic and removed one of the breakfast charges from our bill. Thank you, that was thoughtful. My wife is doing well and, Oh!, the room with a view wasn't.

Room Tip: If you call ahead, get the person's name that you speak with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My family and I had a memorable and lovely stay at this smart hotel in Washington DC. For our short visit, we found it to be an excellent location, very close to all the sights. Our room was light and spacious and overlooked 15th street, and was beautiful and well-appointed. The staff were delightful, and Danny made us very welcome. We had breakfast and dinner here, and enjoyed sitting outside for drinks before dinner. A great atmosphere. If ever we were to visit this beautiful city again we would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Our room overlooking 15th street was beautifully light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrssmythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This isn't a bad hotel, but it's not a great one either. The location is good, just a couple blocks from the White House so it's convenient for walking to alot of the downtown sites. The rooms are nice and the bellmen are great. The reason we won't be staying here again, is that we didn't get a good nights sleep here--which to me is the most important factor in choosing a hotel. The bed was way too firm (of course if that's how you like it, then you'll have no problem.) Also, in the room we were in, the bathroom opens up right onto the bed, and the bathroom doors are french-style with glass! So if someone is sleeping and the other person goes into the bathroom, the bedroom fills with light and the every sound from the bathroom because there's also a gap between the two doors! Otherwise the bathrooms are nice. If you were alone, you'd be fine. The other problem was the street noise--but you'll find that problem in most city hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adviceucantrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Recently, I stayed with my family at the Sofitel Lafayette Square for a vacation. The location was excellent, especially for touring the monuments and for access to the National Mall. The White House is literally a 5 minute walk from the front of the hotel. The area around the hotel is safe and there are numerous restaurant options within walking distance (the Old Ebbitt Grill was especially good and reasonably priced). We traveled around the city with our infant son and we never had to take a taxi. We even walked from the hotel to Georgetown, a long but nice excursion.

The staff at the hotel was superior. Service was both efficient and friendly. The room was well maintained and clean. Check-in and checkout were both quick and painless. The front door staff was particularly excellent.

Belonging to a French hotel chain, the Sofitel Lafayette Square did not disappoint in terms of food and beverage service. Room service was outstanding (the French Onion Soup was fantastic) and the hotel restaurant was excellent. With a young child, we took advantage of the hotel’s dining options on numerous occasions and the Sofitel did not disappoint. We did not partake in the hotel bar, but it had a great crowd and energy in the evening. The outdoor seating was a nice amenity.

We had a luxury room which was fairly spacious and well appointed. Clean modern décor with relatively new furnishings. The bathroom was especially nice. We requested a crib when we confirmed our reservation and it was in the room waiting for us when we arrived (a pack-n-play).

The hotel gym was functional and contained all the basics. It was also well maintained.

The views from the hotel’s rooms were unspectacular. Still, this did not detract from our stay. Parking at $40 per night was extremely overpriced and that was disappointing (if you are not going to use the valet service often, there should be a cheaper option). The hotel had a small business center, which I did not use.

The Sofitel Lafayette Square was a solid 4+ Star hotel with an excellent location convenient to the major tourist sites in Washington DC. The French cuisine offered via room service or the Ici Urban Bistro was outstanding. The staff was attentive, efficient and friendly. While predominately a business hotel, it also caters to tourists and was extremely family friendly. Given the price we paid for our room, it was an excellent value.

Next time we visit Washington DC, the Sofitel will be at the top of our list.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_TravelerUSA101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,979 - ₹ 47,709
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing