We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private DC Segway Tours
Ranked #34 of 147 Tours in Washington DC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private DC Segway Tours allows you to see and experience more without the distraction of a large group. We specialize in small group tours. Your guide will take photographs of you with beautiful Washington DC in the background, so bring your camera or camera phone. Without the distraction of others we are able to glide smoother and more streamline from one site to the next.
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Great time and very knowledgeable. Didn't seem rushed at all. Admittedly, we were slightly nervous about learning how to control the Segway but Corey kept us safe and taught us well. We had an outstanding time and it was an awesome start to our day.

Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2016

We booked with DC Segway, but tour times are very limited, so we booked at a time we weren't 100% comfortable with. Unfortunately, when it came time for our tour, we weren't quite able to make it work and the folks at DC Segs were not at all helpful or understanding. They didn't even say they were sorry; they blamed us and refused to reschedule or refund. Dealing with them was stressful and unpleasant. The entire affair has left me with a sour taste in my mouth, which is sad because they come so highly rated. I'm sure the tours themselves are great, but their management comes across as callous and harsh, so be aware when booking that you can't have any problems with your tour time.

8  Thank kberteaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcsegtours, General Manager at Private DC Segway Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

(1) You made your own reservation 3 weeks in advance for the Cherry Blossom weekend.

(2) 3 hours before the start of the tour you thought it was going to rain and you called us and cancelled your reservation at the last second.

(3) It turned out to be a sunny day all day and you regretted that you cancelled at the last second.

(4) You called back and told us that since the sun lasted all day, you regretted that you cancelled on us.

(5) You then told us that you wanted to make another reservation with us for that weekend and that you were hoping that we could do it for free.

(6) For free? Of course we said no.

(7) You tried to pretend to cry over the phone.

(8) We weren’t phased by your crocodile tears.

(9) When there is a no refund policy, never make a reservation 3 weeks out and then cancel 3 hours before because you think that its going to rain. Furthermore, don’t turn around and expect for the company to do a free tour for you at a later date. Today you were forced to be an adult.

Corey
Lead Trainer / Manager
Private DC Segway Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We had the Monuments and Memorials Tour that departed at 6PM. Originally we wanted to book for the Cherry Blossom Tour but it was sold out. It turned out it was actually the better choice during this season as the streets were not so busy after 6 while we saw another segway tour group struggling to find the way among so many pedestrians the next day during day time. The guide (Iain) taught us how to ride the segway patiently and was very knowledgeable about DC history. The itinerary and schedule were also very friendly with enough time for us to take selfies at those cannot-miss spots. Though you could bring a big camera, a point & shoot one is recommended since I found it not that easy to maneuver the segway using one hand. The overall experience was great. Highly recommended.

1  Thank jujiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Honestly, we could not recommend this tour more highly. Corey and Darnell were punctual (always a plus) and fantastic teachers when it came to learning how to ride the segway.

The tour itself (after approx 20 mins of segway training) was fantastic, and Corey supplemented the history of the monuments and memorials we saw with links and comparisons to Australian history and events as well, a fantastic and unexpected touch for my girlfriend and I who'd travelled from Melbourne, Australia.

The tour ran exactly on time, and we were lucky enough to be the only members of the group so we had extra time at key memorials (especially Lincoln), and Corey even filmed and photographed us on our own devices so we have the memories to share with family back home.

Again, we couldn't recommend this more highly - especially when passing other segway tours with 10-15+ members at a time, those just can't compare to the Private DC Segway Tour's experience.

Thank you again Corey!

Thank Mihali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

Booking the tour with easy. It was great that they were able to accommodate the tour for 5:30 pm. A coworker and I needed a nighttime tour, and Private DC Segway Tours was the only company with the flexibility. It was explained to me that the group sizes are small usually up to 6 individuals.

When meeting with Corey and Darnell, my coworker and I realized we were the only ones in the tour group. We had personalized attention for our training. Corey & Darnell were very patient and made sure we mastered the skills needed to safely go out on the tour. The tour took place when it was dark out. It was amazing to see all the monuments by night. Corey was very knowledgeable about all the history behind the monuments and made the learning fun. It was a Great Experience!!!

1  Thank MariR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Private DC Segway Tours also viewed

 

Been to Private DC Segway Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing