We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and property!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #24 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay and property!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

While not a resort this Ritz hits all the right notes. From location right next to train station and attached a shoping mall to the club we were impressed. Service up to Ritz standards and well appointed rooms with nice views. Only negative is location of the restaurant is in kind of a cave, however food is very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    241
    90
    36
    25
See reviews for
235
173
44
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We just spent a long weekend at this hotel and it was awesome. We came in to catch a nationals/Yankee game and the ritz was a good choice for us. I decided to upgrade to the club level and it was a great choice. Curtis made the club experience over the top. He really had a way of making us feel soo comfortable.The food presentations were great and the lounge was clean and updated. Our room was nice as well. Everyone we encountered at this hotel was great. I was a little concerned after reading some of these reviews. But as a frequent Ritz member I was confident it would be a good stay. The location is close to some good restaurants and shopping as well. We would visit this hotel again with out a doubt. The experience ranks right up there with many of the other Ritz properties we gave visited .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTM1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I happen to love this location, although one should note that it is always bustling with visiting dignitaries and various functions. The rooms are typical Ritz; food is typical Ritz; staff is... you get the picture.

I am a former Sports Club LA member so didn't have an issue with the gym situation, but I would be (rightfully) peeved by an upcharge to use the gym at a $500+ night hotel. (Incidentally, the gym is terrible. The grumpy members are second only to the seriously grotty locker rooms, where you feel as though MRSA is lurking in every corner.) The spa, also part of Sports Club LA (not the Ritz itself) has some FABULOUS estheticians (hi, Donna!) and some truly bad seeds - you can check out the reviews of Sports Club LA itself for more info.

I always have had good experiences with the staff here, although family members have reported some shortcomings (e.g., rooms given away to "more important" foreign visitors - but this is D.C.! and involuntarily moved over to the Fairmont).

This property does run excellent AAA deals. Bottom line - this is a solid Ritz and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on a company's dime.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellagamba22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I just stayed at this property for two nights for a business related event. The staff was both professional and helpful. I ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the property and the food was great.
I had a problem with the safe in my room which was to fixed by the end of the day. No action had been taken upon my return. One quick call to the front desk and within minutes two staff members were there working on it. They offered a complementary breakfast; but I accepted a beer in the bar instead. A nice handwritten note of apology was delivered to room by the assistant manager

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This was a very lovely property and I had an overall enjoyable stay. I am a Rewards member and was surprised to not have a room available when I arrived at 4:00 pm since check-in is typically at 3:00 and Rewards Members are usually allowed to check in even earlier. We were granted access to the club room but had to order room service to the room as food and beverage service was not available until 5 or 6. We were escorted to our room which was not very large and the closet was tiny. It was a corner room but having stayed at many Ritz Carlton properties I was a little underwhelmed. The staff in the Club Room was VERY attentive and personable. One Staffer overheard that I forgot my razor and had 2 waiting in the room upon our checking in---this is why Ritz Carlton is set apart- this type of Sevice is what you expect and she did not disappoint.


Food and Beverage presentations were nice but doesn't comapre to the Ritz Carlton in Dallas. The spa treatments were nice but it is operated by an LA Fitness Company adjacent to the Hotel.

The room prices are comprable to other Ritz Carltons; however, in the DC market where there is much comptetion in the luxury market I would shop around for the best value for your dollar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank savvytravelernola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Was...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 26,636 - ₹ 59,293
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing