We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HI Washington DC Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for a hostel!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed as part of a group of 8 after spending 3 months working at a summer camp. Information, facilities and location was all very good! Rooms were clean, bathrooms and showers were clean also. And we had free breakfast and also one might signed up for free dinner too! This was fantastic! Would highly recommend for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauramish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Lauramish: Sounds like you and your friends had a fantastic time at HI-DC! And you were able to join us for one of our free dinners. Super! Thanks for the review...you made my day! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    295
    97
    29
    20
See reviews for
25
58
323
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hostel is located about 6 blocks from the white house and about 15 mins from the national mall making it good value for money. My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights. Staff were polite but did little to make us feel welcome (I had to ask for maps and where local sites where etc). The 4 bed dorm was fine with comfy beds and even duvets. Sadly the hotel allowed somebody to check in at 4am on the first night. This woke me up and i didnt get back to sleep. The bathrooms were icily cold although the showers were hot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Kieran 1987: Looks like you had a nice stay, even if there were a few challenges. Location is one of the things that draws people to us, but people return for the experience and, as you wrote, the value. The person who checked you in definitely made a mistake by not giving you one of our free maps. They're full-color and custom-made by us to have all of the best features of downtown and the local neighborhood labeled. It's interesting that you should mention this, as our leadership team met today and discussed reviewing with the team the critical topics to tell every person at check-in (e.g., local area, quiet hours, free breakfast hours, etc.). Unfortunately, there's not much we can do about late check-ins. It happens in a shared environment. Thank you for all of your comments! They really do help to make us better. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Hostel is well located within the city; a bit of an amble will take you to the Mall and the plethora of state museums and national icons.

An enthusiastic food hall attendant made breakfast a fun affair, introducing you to your fellow eaters basically bullying you into socialisation. Your basic spread of bread, bagels, cereal and apples is available.

The Hostel is your standard hostel; comfortable bunks, decent showers and free Wi-Fi available in the lobby and a reasonable priced computer zone with printer.

I found the front desk staff helpful with any questions I had and they were open 24hrs which is always a bonus.

I'll warn you bout the slow as a turtle lift, by the time you've called it and it's arrived you could have walked up and down the stairs a number of times; but you know what it's like when you've just arrived, tired, sore and laden with luggage, you'll chose to wait!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Pete M: Your review of some of our key features is spot-on. Thanks for telling Trip Advisor readers about what we offer. And your critique is completely fair about Suzie. Yes, our elevator is very slow. This accurate comment is as true as it is lamentable. For those who have read many of our reviews, the short version of the response is that it's wicked expensive to put in a new one. I want so badly to be able to tell everyone how we're getting a new one next week, but it's just not in the cards. Thanks to all for your understanding on this point. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I really liked this hostel, it was clean, everyone was friendly and it was quiet. I think it was in a good location too.
The free walking tour of Georgetown was great, and there were loads more tours on offer.
We used the wifi downstairs loads, so it was really convenient. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmsyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
emmsyLB: Clean...friendly...good location...fun activities with great Volunteers...free wi-fi. Yup! That's us! Please do come again very soon! Thanks for the lovely note! ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Reception staff were nice, maintenance staff not so much.. I was staying in an all girl dorm. On the first morning at 7:45 maintenance staff entered the room. Now I have no problem with them being two men because I had no plans on staying in an all female dorm but other women in the room may have felt differently. Firstly they didn't knock, Secondly they were quite rude when asked who they were be replying " It's ok, I'm maintenance"... No it is not ok! We had no way of knowing if this is true or not and it's 7:45 in the morning..I was sleeping. When I went down stairs to complain, reception said it was a misunderstanding/ miscommunication between them and the maintenance staff and that they were told the room was meant to be empty. Now if this was the case, the Maintenance staff upon entering the room and finding that it wasn't empty should have apologised and left, instead of continuing with their work.
The elevator was extremely slow and if I had of been any higher than the 3rd floor I would have complained of that too.
The breakfast however was good with a lot of variety.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmacdonald18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark-GM, General Manager at HI Washington DC Hostel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
bmacdonald18: I'm sorry that your experience with us was just OK. We definitely strive for much better. I agree with you that the way the Maintenance Team handled the situation when entering your room should have been more professional and polite. You are also correct that Suzie, our elevator, is quite slow. But she does work, and we're happy to have her. ~ Mark Schneider, HI-DC General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
1,498 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
914 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
671 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Washington DC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Washington DC Hostel

Property: HI Washington DC Hostel
Address: 1009 11th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,527 - ₹ 8,682
Hotel Class:2 star — HI Washington DC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at HI DC is like visiting your friends in the nation's living room! As a non-profit organization dedicated to cultural understanding through travel, we're excited to warmly welcome everyone. Our dorm-style and private rooms bring together budget travelers from around the world in a safe, clean, and fun environment. We have a long list of FREE amenities and an unbeatable location - just 8 blocks to The White House and The National Mall (home to world-famous monuments, museums, and galleries), 4 blocks to China Town, and 3 blocks to the Metro. We're Gold Level Certified by Trip Advisor's Green Leaders Program, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your HI Washington DC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostelling International - Washington, Dc Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing