We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Ranked #78 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This hotel is one metro stop from Union Station, and then a block and a half walk.
The area from the metro to the hotel was clean, open and seemed safe.
The hotel staff was friendly and eager to help.
We arrived two hours before check in and were given a room right away.
Our room was very clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed - even a refrigerator and a microwave.
The only odd thing was the bed - it had some kind of dial to change the mattress from firm to soft - but it all felt the same to me.
The indoor pool and sauna were terrific - and plenty of towels to use.
There are a couple of small eating places nearby (ie. Potbelly).
And there is a grocery store (Harris Teeter) next door that has several food bars with ready-to-eat items - such as pizza, fried chicken, chinese food, etc.
I'll definitely stay here on my next visit to DC!

Room Tip: There is a nightclub across the street. Rooms facing the street may be subjected to noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Hello!

It's great to hear you loved our hotel, staff, and our neighborhood. We look forward to providing you with another great experience on your next trip to DC!

Sincerely,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    424
    137
    56
    39
See reviews for
379
215
79
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had a lovely, quiet stay. The room was simple but had nice perks like the sleep number bed and well above par toiletries. We were so tired from running around town that we did not even see the pool, but we did enjoy the flat screen TV and HBO. We arrived several hours before check in and were offended a room right away, which was unexpected based on past experiences with other hotel chains. I like being a bit off the beaten path and this was perfect for us.There was easy cab and train access, so you could be at the museums and sights within 10-15 minues but you don't have to deal with being in the middle of everything for your whole visit. The full grocery store downstairs with lots of hot and cold prepared foods is SO HELPFUL. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room! There is a nightclub across the street but the staff is very accommodating if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Good Morning,

Thank you so much for highly recommending us! I am glad that we were able to check you in early and that your stay turned out great. Hurry back and stay with us again!

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We took our adult children for a family vacation to Washington, DC. The hotel and staff were fantastic, which made our vacation wonderful, because of the location of the hotel, coming back from our daily activities was like coming home, everything at our finger tips. We will miss all of you at the front desk, especially Cedric Barksdale. You were friendly and helpful in every way. Thank you.:)

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the east side of the building, my adult children were in a suite on the same floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Hello!

I am thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel so much and Cedric is very appreciative to be recognized!

Come back very soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Va
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

All in all not a bad stay, however I had contacted the manager about an early check-in (2:00PM) and was told it was taken care of. When we arrived we were told the room was not ready. Then offered a handicap accessible room which I declined. I then mentioned my e-mails with the manager and voila a room was available. Returned one afternoon after 4:30 PM and room had not been serviced. Room was on front side of hotel and noise from the club across the street makes the nights difficult. I realize they cannot control the noise, but they should at least warn the guests so that when things get cranked up after midnight you know what is going on. Pool was small but nice, hot tub jets not very strong and hot tub over chlorinated. As I said not a bad stay but probably would not return do to these situations. To many other options in the DC metro area.

Room Tip: Pray you don't get a room in the front on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenguinBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Good Morning,

I am truly sorry that you experienced challenges with our hotel. Please contact me directly so that I can arrange for a complimentary night and we can properly demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Hospitably,

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Good stuff - the beds (my teenage son declared it the most comfortable bed he'd ever slept in!), the pool/gym, the buffet breakfast, business centre (for internet access/computer use).
Not so good,one quite surly male reception staff person, females great.
and the hotel itself was a little more out-of-the-way than i realised, and the walk back from the metro stop, while short, was a little scary in early evening once all the businesses had closed and streets deserted.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairebear255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich L, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Hello! I am glad that your loved our adjustable beds. I do apologize that you experienced some service challenges and I will be sure to follow-up regarding your concerns.

Come back and stay with us again soon!

Rich Lingenfelter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Hyatt Place Washington, DC / US ...
#73 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol
Address: 1225 1st St NE, Washington DC, DC 20002-4274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#72 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,150 - ₹ 33,709
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Downtown Washington, DC, the new 13-story Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol is in a prime location just one metro rail stop from Union Station - the transportation hub of our nation's capital and home to Amtrak. We are located just one block from the New York Ave/Florida Ave/Gallaudet University red line metro station. Guest rooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/U.S. Capitol showcase a modern décor, which include the cutting-edge Garden Sleep System(R), which features bedding of 100% New Zealand virgin wool, a mattress that adjusts to the contours of your body, and a dial that can adjust the firmness of your mattress. Your guest room at our Capitol Hill hotel also features complimentary high-speed internet access - both wired and wireless, a high-definition LCD television, a Herman Miller ergonomic chair and a modern work desk. For our in-room dining, take advantage of room service from our in-house restaurant, The Garden Grille & Bar, featuring American Cuisine offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC/US Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Washington Dc/Us Capitol Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing