We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Number 1 thing to do in DC

Amazing tour with Tim as a solo traveler on 10/30. He is very knowledgeable & passionate about... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Romil_Singh
,
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Great tour - informative and fun!

We really enjoyed the Monumental sTOURies. Tim is very knowledgeable and put things into context... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Johan F
Read all 1,476 reviews
  
Reviews (1,476)
Filter reviews
1,447 results
Traveller rating
1,410
30
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,410
30
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tim's tour walking tour great tour monumental stouries met tim retired teacher his knowledge long tour four hours white house hour tour main monuments would highly recommend this tour entire tour free tour interesting stories bring water
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,447 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing tour with Tim as a solo traveler on 10/30. He is very knowledgeable & passionate about these tours. Gave us adequate opportunities for photos & shared a lot of insightful stories with group of 8-9 people. I will do this again in future if Tim is still running it.

All the best Tim for your future & thanks for the M&M's.

2  Thank Romil_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed the Monumental sTOURies. Tim is very knowledgeable and put things into context. No way we could get the same out of it walking on our own or joining a "standard group tour", so highly recommended.
Note that the tour will take 4+ hours so bring comfortable shoes. We visited Arlington afterwards and then our kids (aged 13 and 10) had enough for the day.

1  Thank Johan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I joined Jim on his tour of DC on a rainy and cold day. Even with the terrible weather, we had a great time. Tim is informative and knowledgeable about DC and he has a great personality! This tour lasts about 4 hours and it is well worth it. If you don't mind walking and would like to learn about the history of the monuments this tour should be at the top of your list.

1  Thank Vic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked with Tim on Oct. 18th 2018. It was super fun and informative. The tour did take a few hours so make sure to wear comfortable shoes and have a solid breakfast.
Tim went over lots of things such as white house, ww2 memorial, Vietnam memorial, L?Lincoln memorial and Korean war memorial. Everything he talked about was interesting and I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

The tour is free but you should absolutely tip.

3  Thank zakarianruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Tim’s love of history, teaching, and Washington DC shone through. Starting near the visitor’s entrance of the White House and ending near the Korean War Memorial, Tim shared stories and lesser-known details that made for a first-rate guided tour.
The time passed quickly even though we started at 10am and ended close to 3pm (with a brief, midpoint stop at a National Park restroom and snack bar).
The ages in our group ranged from approximately 7yrs to 75 yrs.
Tim was very accomodating of all questions, and he welcomed information shared by a veteran in our midst.
It was noteworthy and appreciated that Tim maintained an upbeat, nonpartisan tone throughout the tour.
Finally, there really is no charge. Tim mentioned the option of a tip just once at the start of the tour. He clearly loves what he does. Hopefully he was and is rewarded fairly for the generous gift of his time and knowledge.

2  Thank HeidiH-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was so glad we made it to the meeting place. This was such a fun way to tour a part if Washington DC. Tim was fun to listen to. Very engaging. Thumbs up.

1  Thank mtmnslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

The walking tour with Tim is a great way to explore the National Mall. Tim takes sufficient time at every highlight to explain not just the basics, but a lot of wonderful details, which allows you to see the monuments in a new light.
I took this tour nearly 7 years ago and it started me on participating in tip-based walking tours in cities around the world. I'm glad this tour is still as good as I remembered it.
- Simon

3  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

The guide is so passionate about DC, he makes the tour special and very interesting. it takes 4 hours but you don't feel it cause the time flies...

1  Thank ravid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Tim is very good guide. He knows a lot and it was way better to walk in the National mall with him. I really di recommand Tim as your guide in Washington DC.

Thank Iyiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Tim is very knowledgeable of his stuff. He is able to share history in a way that is engaging and relatable. Strongly recommended if you want to know more about the places at THE MALL!

Thank Winston L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews