We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Number 1 thing to do in DC

Amazing tour with Tim as a solo traveler on 10/30. He is very knowledgeable & passionate about... read more

Reviewed 8 November 2018
Romil_Singh
,
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Great tour - informative and fun!

We really enjoyed the Monumental sTOURies. Tim is very knowledgeable and put things into context... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
Johan F
Read all 1,477 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Washington DC
from US$ 49.00
More Info
from US$ 64.00
More Info
from US$ 65.00
More Info
from US$ 360.50
More Info
Reviews (1,477)
Filter reviews
1,477 results
Traveller rating
1,440
30
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,440
30
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tim's tour walking tour great tour tim stewart monumental stouries retired teacher his knowledge long tour four hours white house hour tour would highly recommend this tour bring water entire tour wear comfortable shoes free tour informative tour
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 1,477 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is THE way to see Washington!!!! Tim is an amazing, super knowledgable guide, that takes you for 5 hours to meet this beautiful city. He is a highly devoted guide and will take you through all the details of the history of the city, so that you really understand the monuments and the memorials as you pass by. Plus you get to know most of the city highlights in a day and get great tips! Its by far one of the best free walking tours we have done (and we have done a LOT of walking tours)! Highly recommended way to visit Washington! Thank you Tim!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

First, Tim is an AMAZING tour guide. He takes the time to do it right and really spends the time with the group to make it a more than just a cookie cutter tour.

He really knows his stuff, and even for like a history aficionado like myself, he still kept the tour moving at a pretty good pace and provided some useful new information too!

He really does work for tips, so pay what you think it’s worth. We paid $25 per person and felt like we definitely got our money’s worth.

Some tips:
*Dress for the weather - the day we walked the tour it was in the mid 30s, which wasn’t that bad, but the WIND is what got us. It really made the day quite challenging. For the youngest in our group, 12, it was really NOT that much fun until after we got past the Lincoln Memorial (about 75% through the tour).

*Be prepared to stand more so than walk. Yes you will walk a fair distance, but if there are any in your group that have trouble standing for a long period of time, plan accordingly. They might have a bit of a harder time with this tour as there are not a lot of places to sit or rest along the way.

*There might not be a lot of time for food or food options available (depending on weather), so you might want to bring some snacks for your group. Also, I would bring water to drink too.

*I would plan at least 6 hours for the tour. You will typically end near the Korean War Memorial, but if you are game, Tim will probably take you to the MLK memorial too which is a short distance away. We did and were glad to see it with him.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank BondVagaBond007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

So happy to have found Tim on Trip Advisor! Our first day in DC couldn't have been better spent. His tour was the highlight of our trip. I highly recommend this tour!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank MDLC2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

By far one of the best walking tours I’ve taken!

My husband and I take walking tours in all cities we go to. We done tours across the globe from California to Fez, Morocco. But this tour just had a great touch. Tim was extremely knowledgeable and shared his information in an understandable, engaging and fun way. I don’t think there was a question he couldn’t answer.

Tim was extremely friendly and truly cares about his tour. It was FREEZING outside but the tour was good enough to make everyone power through. I would have been even happier if we continued even loner and saw more sites. The tour does take long as Tim does give A LOT of information. But that’s such a great thing when you’re learning about the USA!!!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank jenvala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Tim was the consummate gentleman and professional. We were late getting to the meeting spot but he still called us during one of his tour breaks to allow us to join later in the tour. He went above and beyond to ensure we had a great time and his explanation of the history and meaning behind the sights in DC were very informative and entertaining. Tim adds substance to the style of the structures we visited and I’d definitely recommend everyone experience his tour.
The only bummer was not seeing the cherry blossoms in full bloom as a result of the unexpected cold spring but I won’t hold that against Tim!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank HussYourDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews