We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Save
Review Highlights
No AC

We visited for a birthday party and quickly realized they have no AC. We were sweating through the... read more

Reviewed 20 August 2018
SantoDR
,
Queens
Great Jazz Venue

Wonderful Jazz Venue. Enjoyed the great music of Paul Bailey. We cannot honestly rate the food as... read more

Reviewed 29 April 2018
Taowalker221b
,
Milford, Delaware
Read all 33 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Washington DC
from US$ 35.00
More Info
from US$ 95.00
More Info
from US$ 25.00
More Info
from US$ 99.00
More Info
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
7
15
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
15
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews u street ethiopian dishes injera jazz venue jazz lovers audience culture
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've gone to Twins Jazz a number of times, often with friends. They host a wide variety of jazz and jazz influenced performers – always of extremely good quality.
There are typically two sets per evening. An "early" set which fits in well with dinner afterwards and a "late" set which is a good post-dinner option. I've never ordered dinner there, instead making Twins Jazz a drinks and/or dessert option as part of an evening out.
The venue is up a narrow flight of stairs, something to consider if you have anyone in your group who might find that difficult. They also squeeze a lot of tables into a relatively small and narrow space, maximizing their seating capacity for each set. While this makes for some difficulty in moving around the space when full, it does make for a bohemian-style atmosphere reminiscent of small jazz clubs from the 1940s and 1950s.
There's typically a two-drink minimum per person, so bear this in mind if you have any non-drinkers in your crowd. Table conversation during performances is requested to be minimal, if not non-existent – it's assumed if you're there, you're there for the jazz.
To sum up, I would highly recommend going to Twins Jazz for their primary offering – high quality jazz in an intimate and eclectic setting.

Date of experience: November 2013
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The band was just excellent with New Orleans Jazz style, the quisine is ethopian and it was ok. I loved this place which is on U Street the hip place in DC

Thank siunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We went on a Friday night for the first set. It was a septet and they were crowded on to the tiny stage. We never order food at jazz clubs as it is usually disappointing so we stuck to dessert and drinks. The carrot cake was good and the wine was just fine. Very enjoyable and we would have stayed for the second set but we were too tired from touring monuments. Will go back on a future visit to DC. Easily reachable via Metro.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank SLKspingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Jazz there is good, just about everything else is mediocre. In particular, food is a total disaster. I got a terrible heartburn from their deep fried wings, a first one in many years. Ethiopean flavors don't help, especially when advertised sides are not available. The only positive is a generous pour of wine. So, if you have a choice of jazz venues this is by far not a top one.

Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

First and foremost, the food was great. Ordered the Carbcake and the sea bass, it was excellent. Music was great and service was excellent. Special thanks to Wendy:) located on "U" Street.

Small place, hole in the wall, but great music and food. P.s . There is a cover charge of $10.00 and a minimum of $10.00 on your order. It's worth it.

Thank 6,70,671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews