We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visitors from Philly Nov. 2011”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 36 Washington DC B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Visitors from Philly Nov. 2011”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mt. Vernon Square B&B for a long weekend in Nov. 2011. The property was nice, clean, and had interesting stained glass, wood floors, etc. We stayed in the Cleopatra room on the 3rd floor, which had a king-sized bed and an attached bathroom.
Keith and Lydia were excellent and knowledgable hosts. Breakfast was really good and there were always other engaging guests from other parts of the US to talk with each morning.
I would definitely recommend this B&B and will personally stay here again myself.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erica c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    36
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
103
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Keith and Lydia were fabulous! Lydia drove us to the main office where we purchased our subway tickets. They were so helpful. The subway is three blocks from their home. We walked home from the Washington Mall one day as their B&B was not far from downtown DC. The breakfast's were out of the world. Lydia shared recipes with us and we sent her recipes after we returned home. This was only our second time in a B&B and we were charmed with their home and accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We spend 4 nights in this B&B in late September and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. Lydia and Keith are very friendly, helpful and welcoming, we really felt like at home.
I told Lydia I was looking for the same padded hangers she had in the closet, 10 minutes later I found a bag full of them in our room!
The Cleopatra room it is very comfortable, nice and clean with a beautiful bathroom and a small kitchen.
Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast and Lydia and Keith took time to answer all our questions and gave us informations about the city.
We are telling to all our friends here in Switzerland to visit Washington D.C. and Lydia and Keith, they won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geelong australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

on holiday from australia. fantastic b&b. keith and lydia are awesome hosts and the homemade breakfasts were sooooo delicious. we highly recommend mt vernon b&b, great location in a restidential neighbourhood

Room Tip: new york room was really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskies67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in Washington DC for one night only and Keith and Lydia made our time pleasant and welcoming. On our arrival we were shown to our rooms and offered a wine or beer - a very pleasant surprise and most needed after a long day of travel!

The room was LARGE and very comfortably furnished - Cleopatra from memory. The bed was up to the standard of any I have slept in.

K and L were full of great advice about where to eat and how to get around and what to see! Most helpful when time is very limited. We actually spent a good part of the morning after the tasty breakfast chatting with K and L as they proved to be both interesting and engaging on a variety of subjects and it was lovely to have a conversation with people who obviously enjoy the company of their guests! So different to the hotel/motel experience!

So to finalise, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garylovesbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#67 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,333 reviews
Dupont Circle
Swann House
Swann House
#5 of 36 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast
Address: 400 M St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4606
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Logan Circle/ Shaw , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Washington DC
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,521 - ₹ 23,886
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mt. Vernon Square Bed & Breakfast is an elegant downtown hub for your business or tourist activities three blocks from the Washington, DC Convention Center and a leisurely ten minute walk to the National Mall, Smithsonian Museums and other attractions. Our building's exterior makes a statement and it only gets better when you enter. The extensive wood work, marble floors, 11 ft. ceilings, and stained glass compliment the tasteful décor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mt. Vernon Square Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mt. Vernon Square b&b
Mt. Vernon Square Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing